
Registered Professional Nurse Licensure by Examination 

State of Maine Licensure Requirements 

 
 

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not 

reflect other information that may be requested based on review of an application. 

 
APPLICATION AND FEE 

1) Apply online on the Maine State Board of Nursing website. Select I want to 

“apply for a license” and follow the instructions. 

2) The non-refundable application fee is $75.00 

3) Upload a current photo. This may not be a driver’s license, ID, or passport 

photo. You may submit a self-portrait without other objects, no filters, and no 

additions. 

4) Upload a signed and dated application signature page. The online process will 

provide information on where to find this form, or go to Maine State Board of 

Nursing website and the form is located in the Licensing section. 

5) Send in supporting documentation. All “yes” responses to questions in the 

disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation. All court 

documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago must be 

submitted. Incidents that occurred greater than 10 years ago may require 

submission of additional documentation. Additional documentation may be 

required and will be requested on an individual basis after review of application 

materials. These forms can be uploaded to your checklist or: 

• Mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 

• Emailed to Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov 
 

 

NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT INFORMATION 
❖ A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for registered professional 

nurse licensure by examination in the state of Maine. 
❖ If moving to Maine, a legal resident of another compact state is required to 

provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form when the applicant relocates to 

Maine. The form can be found on the Maine State Board of Nursing in the 

Licensing section. 

❖ Maine state law authorizes the Board to request any or all documents that 

provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including but not limited to: 

• Driver’s license 

• Voter registration 

• Vehicle registration 

• Tax forms 

• Validation of residence 

❖ More information regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact can be found on the 

website for the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. 

https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/licensing/index.html
mailto:Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/licensing/index.html
https://www.ncsbn.org/compacts.page


TRANSCRIPT(S) 

Applicants graduating from out-of-state programs must have the school send or e-mail a 
final transcript with degree and date conferred to: 

• Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta ME 04333 or 

• Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov 
 

 

SCHOOL CERTIFICATION 
The school must complete the Certification of School Form located on the Maine 
State Board of Nursing website within the Examination section. 

• This form must be completed by the nursing program administration, not the 
registrar or the applicant. 

• It must be completed thoroughly, stamped with the school’s official seal, and sent 
by the school. 

• This document must be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, 
Augusta ME 04333. 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 
Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to 
complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check upon initial 
licensure. 

• IdentoGO is the exclusive vendor that is responsible for processing your 
fingerprints. There is a fee associated. 

• Go to the Maine State Board of Nursing website. Select “I want to obtain a 
criminal background check” and follow the instructions. 

• The criminal background check results are only valid for 90 days. 

• The Maine Board of Nursing cannot accept fingerprint cards or criminal 

background results mailed by you, or results that were completed for another 

facility, even if the previous check was completed through the Department of 

Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

• Please pay careful attention to IdentoGO instructions. 

 
FOREIGN OR CANADIAN APPLICANTS 
The applicant is required to have a transcript review (CES) by the Commission of 
Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (CGFNS), and that information must be 
submitted to the Maine Board of Nursing by CGFNS or posted for review on the CGFNS 
website. 

 

Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a Foreign (Country other 
than the United States) educational facility, and who are seeking licensure in Maine from 
the Maine Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) licenses 
to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the CES report. 

 
Additionally, if an applicant’s education was taught in any language other than English, 
the applicant must submit the scores of a TOEFL English language proficiency test. 
Maine accepts ONLY the TOEFL for English language proficiency test. 

mailto:Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/licensing/examination.html
https://me.ibtfingerprint.com/
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.cgfns.org/
https://www.cgfns.org/


UNITED STATES (US) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
The applicant must be issued a US Social Security Number before the they can be 
issued licensure by the Maine Board of Nursing. 

 
Pearson VUE 
Pearson VUE is the exclusive company that provides the computer based NCLEX 
exam, which is offered in both domestic and international authorized test centers. 

1) Go to www.nclex.com to register. 
2) There is a non-refundable $200 registration fee. 
3) Once the Board of Nursing makes the applicant eligible to receive an 

Authorization to Test, they are able to schedule the NCLEX exam to be 
administered at any test center. 

 

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
❖ Applications are processed in the order they are received. 

• You may check the status of an application by going to the Maine State 
Board of Nursing website 

• Select “I want to check the status of an application” and follow the 
instructions. 

❖ Upon passing the NCLEX and meeting all licensure requirements, a license will 
be emailed to the current email address on file with the Board. 

❖ After verifying an active Maine state license on the Board website, enrollment 
with Nursys E-Notify is recommended. 

❖ Maintain current contact information with the Maine Board of Nursing. To 
update your information, go to the Maine State Board of Nursing website and 
select the appropriate option in the “I want to” box. 

❖ Qualifications for Registered Professional Nurse Licensure can be found in the 
Maine Legislative Statutes. 

http://www.nclex.com/
https://wsr.pearsonvue.com/testtaker/registration/SelectTestCenterProximity/NCLEXTESTING?conversationId=244994
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://www.nursys.com/EN/ENDefault.aspx
https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing/
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec2201.html

