Practical Nurse Licensure by Examination

State of Maine Licensure Requirements

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect other information that may be requested based on review of an application.

APPLICATION AND FEE

- 1) **Apply online** on the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "apply for a license"* and follow the instructions.
- 2) The non-refundable **application fee** is \$50.00
- 3) Upload a current **photo**. This may not be a driver's license, ID, or passport photo. You may submit a self-portrait without other objects, no filters and no additions.
- 4) Upload a signed and dated **application signature page**. The online process will provide information on where to find this form, or go to Maine State Board of Nursing website and the form is located in the <u>Licensing section</u>.
- 5) Send in **supporting documentation**. All "*yes*" responses to questions in the disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation. All court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago must be submitted. Incidents that occurred greater than 10 years ago may require submission of additional documentation. Additional documentation may be required and will be requested on an individual basis after review of application materials. These forms can be uploaded to your checklist, or:
 - Mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333
 - Emailed to <u>Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>

NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT INFORMATION

- A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for registered professional nurse licensure by examination in the state of Maine.
- If moving to Maine, a legal resident of another compact state is required to provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form <u>when</u> the applicant relocates to Maine. The form can be found on the Maine State Board of Nursing in the <u>Licensing section.</u>
- Maine state law authorizes the Board to request any or all documents that provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including but not limited to:
 - Driver's license
 - Voter registration
 - Vehicle registration
 - Tax forms
 - Validation of residence
- More information regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact can be found on the website for the <u>National Council of State Boards of Nursing</u>.

TRANSCRIPT(S)

Applicants graduating from out-of-state programs must have the school send or e-mail a **final transcript** with degree and date conferred to:

- Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta ME 04333 or
- <u>Exams.PFRNursing@maine.gov</u>

SCHOOL CERTIFICATION

The school must complete the **Certification of School Form** located on the <u>Maine</u> <u>State Board of Nursing website</u> within the <u>Examination</u> section.

- This form must be completed by the nursing program administration, not the registrar or the applicant.
- It must be completed thoroughly, stamped with the school's official seal, and sent by the school.
- This document must be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta ME 04333.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the **fingerprinting** process for a criminal background check upon initial licensure.

- <u>IdentoGO</u> is the exclusive vendor that is responsible for processing your fingerprints.
- Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select "I want to obtain a criminal background check" and follow the instructions.
- The criminal background check results are only valid for 90 days.
- The Maine Board of Nursing cannot accept fingerprint cards or criminal background results mailed by you, or results that were completed for another facility, even if the previous check was completed through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- Please pay careful attention to IdentoGO instructions.

FOREIGN OR CANADIAN APPLICANTS

The applicant is required to have a **transcript review** (CES) by the Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (**CGFNS**), and that information must be submitted to the Maine Board of Nursing by CGFNS or posted for review on the <u>CGFNS</u> website.

Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a Foreign (Country other than the United States) educational facility, and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) licenses to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the CES report.

Additionally, if an applicant's education was taught in any language other than English, the applicant must submit the scores of a TOEFL English language proficiency test. Maine accepts **ONLY** the TOEFL for English language proficiency test.

UNITED STATES (US) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

The applicant must be issued a **US Social Security Number** before the they can be issued licensure by the Maine Board of Nursing.

PEARSON VUE

Pearson VUE is the exclusive company that provides the computer based **NCLEX exam**, which is offered in both domestic and international authorized test centers.

- 1) Go to <u>www.nclex.com</u> to register.
- 2) There is a non-refundable \$200 registration fee.
- Once the Board of Nursing makes the applicant eligible to receive an Authorization to Test, they are able to schedule the NCLEX exam to be administered at any <u>test center.</u>

APPLICANTS WITH NURSING SERVICE IN THE MEDICAL CORPS OF ANY BRANCH OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES

The MAINE NURSE PRACTICE ACT, <u>32 M.R.S. § 2251-A(3)</u>, specifies that an applicant who qualifies on the basis of **U.S. Military service** must have:

- served on active duty in the medical corps of any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and spent an aggregate of at least 12 months rendering bedside patient care
- completed the basic course of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the Armed Forces of the United States in which the applicant served
- was honorably discharged from active duty

TO APPLY FOR LICENSURE:

- 1) Complete the online application for Licensed Practical Nurse by Examination as stated above and follow the instructions.
- 2) Upload the following documents as part of the application process:
 - Official transcripts or official "certificate of release or discharge from active duty" (DD214) showing completion of basic course of instruction in nursing required by the branch of the armed forces.
 - Official DD214 or other military document showing that service in the armed forces has been under honorable conditions, or whose general discharge has been under honorable conditions; and
 - Military performance evaluations while assigned to military hospital verifying 12 months of inpatient bedside patient care (including hospital assigned, specific dates to and from, wards assigned, and duties performed).

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

- Applications are processed in the order they are received.
 - You may check the status of an application by going to the <u>Maine State</u> <u>Board of Nursing website</u>. Select "I want to check the status of an application" and follow the instructions.
- Upon passing the NCLEX and meeting all licensure requirements, a license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the Board.
- After verifying an active Maine state license on the Board website, enrollment with <u>Nursys E-Notify</u> is recommended.
- Maintain current contact information with the Maine Board of Nursing. To update your information, go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u> and select the appropriate option in the "I want to" box.
- Qualifications for Practical Nurse Licensure can be found in the Maine Legislative Statutes.