## **Practical Nurse Licensure by Endorsement/Reciprocity**

State of Maine Licensure Requirements

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect other information that maybe requested based on review of an application.

### Application and Fee

- 1. Apply on-line at <a href="www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> and select I want to apply for a license and follow the directions. The fee is \$ 50.00.
- 2. Upload a current picture (not a copy of a driver's license, ID, or passport)
- 3. Upload a signature page that is manually signed. The on-line process will provide information where to find this form or go to <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> and the form is located in the licensing section.
- 4. Send in supporting documentation. All "yes" responses to questions in the disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation (and court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago).
  - Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333; or
  - Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov
- 5. The non-refundable application fee is \$50.00.

# **Nurse Licensure Compact Information**

- 1. A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for practical nurse license by endorsement in the state of Maine.
- 2. A legal resident of another compact state, moving to Maine would need to provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form when the applicant relocates to Maine. The form can be found at <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> in the licensing section.
- 3. Maine state law authorizes the board to request any or all documents that provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including driver's license, voter registration, car registration, tax forms, and validation of residence.

### Transcript

- 1. Transcripts may be required on a case by case after review of an application. If you are requested to contact your nursing program to submit a transcript it should be mailed or e-mailed to:
  - Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333 or
  - Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov

### Criminal Background Check

Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check on initial licensure. Go to <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.</a> Select "I want to obtain a criminal background check" and follow the instructions. The criminal background check results are only valid for 90 days.

#### Verification of License

- Verification of licensure is required either through NURSYS, if your original license was issued in a NURSYS participating state or directly from the Board in the state that does not participate in NURSYS. The NURSYS e-mail address is <a href="https://www.nursys.com">www.nursys.com</a> (\$30.00 Visa or Master Card)
- 2. Verification of licenses from foreign countries are also required. If an applicant originally was licensed in a foreign country or held a license in another country, the license information needs to be verified.

## Foreign or Canadian Applicants

 The applicant is required to have a transcript review by the Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (CGFNS) <u>www.cgfns.com</u>, and the information must be submitted to the Board office by CGFNS or posted for our review on the CGFNS website.

- 2. TOEFL is required for foreign or Canadian applicants prepared in a program with texts and instruction in a language other than English.
- 3. Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a Foreign (Country other than the United States) educational facility, and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) licenses to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the CES report.

Additionally, if an applicant's education was taught in any language other than English, the applicant must submit the scores of a TOEFL English language proficiency test. Maine accepts **ONLY** the TOEFL for English language proficiency test.

#### **NCLEX-PN**

- 1. The NCLEX-PN is required for all foreign applicants that have not taken this examination in another jurisdiction.
- 2. The NCLEX-PN is required for all Canadians endorsing from Canada to Maine that have not already taken the NCLEX-PN examination.
- 3. The NCLEX-PN may be required for Canadian applicants endorsing into Maine from other states that have never taken the NCLEX, depending on the Maine existing laws at the time the Canadian applicant endorsed into the United States.

## United States (US) Social Security Number

1. The applicant must be issued a US Social Security Number before the applicant can be issued a Practical Nurse License.

## **Important Information**

- Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an application may be checked by going to the following link:
   <u>www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.</u> Select "I want to check the status of an application" and follow the instructions.
- 2. A license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the board.
- 3. After verifying an active Maine state license on the board website, enrollment with Nursys E-Notify is recommended. Select "As a Nurse" to

- complete the registration process.
- 4. Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of Nursing. To update your information, go to <a href="www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> and select the appropriate option in the "I want to" box.