The 2020 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY DAY, DATE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20, 2020
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 17, 2020
Patriot's Day Monday, April 20, 2020
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day Friday, July 3, 2020*
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2020
Indigenous Peoples Day Monday, October 12, 2020
Veterans Day Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2020
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 27, 2020
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

*For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.  For calendar year 2020, Independence Day (July 4) falls on Saturday and will be observed on Friday, July 3, 2020.

2019 Holiday Schedule

2021 Holiday Schedule