
AFFIDAVIT OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FOR STATE OF MAINE GROUP PLANS 

Definition of Domestic Partnership as defined for coverage under the State of Maine group plans: A 
person of the same or opposite sex as the subscriber, neither of whom is married to another person, who can 
demonstrate shared financial obligations, shared primary residence, and shared responsibility for the welfare of 
the subscriber. 

We, and (domestic partners), after 

being first duly sworn depose and attest to the following: 

■ We are at least 18 years of age and we are mentally competent to contract.

■ Neither of us is legally married to or separated from another person.

■ We share financial obligations and primary residence (same address).

■ We are sole domestic partners, we have been sole domestic partners since (month/day/year), and we
intend to remain sole partners. (Domestic partnership and any supporting documentation must be in effect for 6 months
in order to be considered a "domestic partnership" for insurance coverage under the State of Maine group.)

■ We are not related by blood to a degree of closeness that would prohibit marriage in the State of Maine.

■ Neither of us has covered another individual or has been covered by another individual as a domestic partner or a legal
spouse in a health insurance policy in the preceding 6 months. We understand that domestic partners cannot enroll
together for 6 months following the termination of coverage of a prior domestic partner or legal spouse.

• We are jointly responsible for each other's common welfare as evidenced through a joint deed, joint mortgage, joint
lease, joint credit card or joint bank account, listed as a beneficiary on the employee's retirement/pension plan and/or
powers of attorney authorizing each of us to act on behalf of the other. (At least one of these items must be
provided along with this affidavit and must have been in effect for at least 6 months).

• We understand that a domestic partner enrolled as a dependent ceases to be an eligible member on the first of the
month following the termination of a domestic partnership and that we are required to submit an Application for Change
within 30 days of the termination of a domestic partnership.

We certify under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing is true and correct. We, the undersigned employee and the 
Domestic Partner, understand that the falsification of information contained in the Affidavit may lead to disciplinary 
action up to and including immediate termination of the employee's employment, and may subject us to civil action to 
recover any losses, including reasonable attorney's fees incurred by the State of Maine or by its Plan Administrator for 
the benefits provided under the State of Maine Group Health Plan. 

Employee Signature: Date: Social Security #: _ 

Department Name: _ 

Address: City: Zip: 

Domestic Partner Signature: Date: Social Security#: _ 

Please return form to: 
Employee Health, 

Wellness, & Workers' 
Compensation

61 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0061 

(207) 624-7380 or 1-800-422-4503 
TTY dial Maine Relay 711
www.maine.gov/bhr/oeh Rev: 8/2025


