

AFFIDAVIT OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FOR STATE OF MAINE GROUP PLANS



Definition of Domestic Partnership as defined for coverage under the State of Maine group plans: A person of the same or opposite sex as the subscriber, neither of whom is married to another person, who can demonstrate shared financial obligations, shared primary residence, and shared responsibility for the welfare of the subscriber.		
We,and		(domestic partners), after
being first duly sworn depose and attest to the follo	owing:	
 We are at least 18 years of age and we are mentally 	competent to contract.	
 Neither of us is legally married to or separated from 	another person.	
■ We share financial obligations and primary residence	e (same address).	
We are sole domestic partners, we have been sole d intend to remain sole partners. (Domestic partnersh in order to be considered a "domestic partnership" f	ip and any supporting d	ocumentation must be in effect for 6 months
■ We are not related by blood to a degree of closenes	s that would prohibit ma	arriage in the State of Maine.
Neither of us has covered another individual or has been covered by another individual as a domestic partner or a legal spouse in a health insurance policy in the preceding 6 months. We understand that domestic partners cannot enroll together for 6 months following the termination of coverage of a prior domestic partner or legal spouse.		
 We are jointly responsible for each other's common welfare as evidenced through a joint deed, joint mortgage, joint lease, joint credit card or joint bank account, listed as a beneficiary on the employee's retirement/pension plan and/or powers of attorney authorizing each of us to act on behalf of the other. (At least one of these items must be provided along with this affidavit and must have been in effect for at least 6 months). 		
 We understand that a domestic partner enrolled as a dependent ceases to be an eligible member on the first of the month following the termination of a domestic partnership and that we are required to submit an Application for Change within 30 days of the termination of a domestic partnership. 		
We certify under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing Domestic Partner, understand that the falsification of action up to and including immediate termination of the recover any losses, including reasonable attorney's fethe benefits provided under the State of Maine Group	information contained ne employee's employnees incurred by the Stat	in the Affidavit may lead to disciplinary nent, and may subject us to civil action to
Employee Signature:	_Date:	_Social Security #:
Department Name:		
Address:	_City:	Zip:

Please return form to:

Date:____Social Security#:_

Domestic Partner Signature:

Employee, Wellness, & Workers' Compensation 61 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0061

(207) 624-7380 or 1-800-422-4503 TTY dial Maine Relay 711 www.maine.gov/bhr/oeh

Rev: 4/2025