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AFFIDAVIT OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP FOR STATE OF MAINE GROUP PLANS
Definition of Domestic Partnership as defined for coverage under the State of Maine group plans: A person of the same or opposite sex as the subscriber, neither of whom is married to another person, who can demonstrate shared financial obligations, shared primary residence, and shared responsibility for the welfare of the subscriber.
We, ________________________________ and _______________________________ (domestic partners), after being first duly sworn depose and attest to the following:
· We are at least 18 years of age and we are mentally competent to contract.

· Neither of us is legally married to or separated from another person.

· We are sole domestic partners, we have been sole domestic partners since ______________ (month/day/year), and we intend to remain sole partners.  (Domestic partnership and any supporting documentation must be in effect for 6 months in order to be considered a “domestic partnership” for insurance coverage under the State of Maine group.)
· We are not related by blood to a degree of closeness that would prohibit marriage in the State of Maine.

· Neither of us has covered another individual or has been covered by another individual as a domestic partner or a legal spouse in a health insurance policy in the preceding 6 months.  We understand that domestic partners cannot enroll together for 6 months following the termination of coverage of a prior domestic partner or legal spouse.

· We are jointly responsible for each other’s common welfare as evidenced through a joint deed, joint mortgage, joint lease, joint credit card or joint bank account, listed as a beneficiary on the employee’s retirement/pension plan and/or powers of attorney authorizing each of us to act on behalf of the other.  (At least one of these items must be provided along with this affidavit and must have been in effect for at least 6 months).
· We understand that a domestic partner enrolled as a dependent ceases to be an eligible member on the first of the month following the termination of a domestic partnership and that we are required to submit an Application for Change within 30 days of the termination of a domestic partnership.

We certify under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing is true and correct.  We, the undersigned employee and the Domestic Partner, understand that the falsification of information contained in the Affidavit may lead to disciplinary action up to and including immediate termination of the employee’s employment, and may subject us to civil action to recover any losses, including reasonable attorney’s fees incurred by the Maine State Employees Group Health Plan or by its Plan Administrator for the benefits provided under the Maine State Employees Group Health Plan. 

Employee Signature: __________________________  Date:_____________ Social Security #: _____________
Department Name: ___________________________

Address:
  _______________________________City:_____________________ Zip:  ______________

Domestic Partner Signature: _____________________________ Date: ___________
Social Security #: _____________

For Employer Use Only 

Approved for the Maine State Employee Group Health Plan

By:  _______    Date:  __________
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STATE OF MAINE

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES

Bureau of Human Resources

Division of Employee Health and Benefits

220 Capitol St., 114 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0114

TO:

State of Maine Employee

FROM:
Tanya L. Plante, Health Benefits Administrator

DATE:
May 2010

SUBJECT:
IRS Reporting Requirements for Domestic Partner Health Insurance Coverage Effective 7/1/10

==================================================================

Based on IRS regulations the premium paid by the State of Maine for your domestic partner’s health coverage is income and taxable wages to you, the employee.  Therefore, you will have the value of the additional state paid portion of the premium added to your taxable income every two weeks.  This will result in income tax withholdings being made for that additional amount each bi-weekly pay period.  Below you will find the taxable benefit amount for each plan type.  Please refer to the level of State paid premium you currently receive towards your own premium.

· Family plan (employee, domestic partner and domestic partner's child(ren): 

100% = $331.62
95% = $330.79
90% = $329.96
85% = $329.13

· Family plan (employee, domestic partner and biological/adopted child(ren) of the employee):  

All Levels = $184.14


· Two person plan (employee and domestic partner):  

100% = $244.94
95% = $244.11
90% = $243.28
85% = $242.45

Any questions relating to tax reporting should be directed to the Office of the State Controller at 626-8420.  Any questions relating to benefits or changes to benefits should be directed to Employee Health and Benefits at 287-6780 or 800-422-4503. 
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