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CONSUMER RIGHTS WHEN YOU
ORDER BY MAIL OR TELEPHONE
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§ 12. 2. Mail Or Telephone Order
Problems

Shopping by mail, telephone, or the internet can be convenient and fun, or it can be frustrating and
disappointing. It can help you escape traffic snarls, elbowing crowds and pushy salespeople, but it can
present other aggravations: delayed deliveries, damaged goods and difficulties in resolving complaints.

Mail order and telemarketing complaints outnumber all other consumer complaints, both statewide
and nationwide. So whether you are ordering weight lifting equipment for Grandma, a grape peeler for
your Aunt Beatrice, or a shoestring tie for Uncle Al, shop carefully. You can resolve most problems if
you use your common sense and know your legal rights. See Chapter 28 of this Guide for an extended
discussion of how to avoid mail order and telemarketing fraud

§ 12.3. You Have The Right To Prompt
Delivery

The Mail or Telephone Merchandise Rule of the Federal Trade Commission' requires mail-order
companies to ship goods within the time specified in their advertisements. If no shipment time is
specified, the merchandise you order must be delivered within 30 days. The FTC rule applies to
merchandise you order by mail or over the telephone (including computers and fax machines)
regardless of whether the company delivers the merchandise by mail or by private carrier such as UPS.
The 30-day period begins with the buyer’s order date and not the date the seller actually charges the
buyer’s credit card account.

The FTC Rule does not apply to magazine subscriptions, except for the first order, photo-printing
services, seeds and nursery products, book and record clubs or C.O.D.

§12. 4. You Have The Right To A Full
Refund For Shipping Delays

The FTC Rule also requires that the company must notify you of any shipping delays and remind
you that you have the right to cancel your order and receive a full refund. It must also provide you with
an easy way of letting it know you want to cancel, such as a pre-addressed postcard or toll-free
telephone number. If you decide to cancel, you must notify the company. Silence on your part
indicates you are willing to wait for the merchandise. The company must refund your money within
seven business days of cancellation. If you made the purchase by credit card, it must adjust your
statement by the next billing period.

§ 12. 5. You Have The Right To Refuse
C.0.D. Orders If They Have Been
Delayed For An Unreasonable
Length Of Time

While the FTC Rule governing mail-order or telephone shipping does not apply to C.O.D. (cash on
delivery) orders, the FTC nevertheless requires merchants to take back C.O.D. items if an unreasonable
amount of time has passed between order and delivery dates. It is difficult to define unreasonable—30
days is probably not unreasonable. Sixty (60) days or more probably is unreasonable.

' 6 C.F.R. 435.
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§ 12. 6. You Have The Right To Keep Any
Unordered Goods You Receive

Both Federal® and Maine law prohibit anyone who sends you merchandise you did not order from
billing you for it or from pressuring you to return it. By law, you may keep the merchandise and
consider it a gift. Of course, if the merchandise is delivered to you by mistake, instead of to the person
named on the address, you cannot keep it. Specifically, Maine law states:

Where unsolicited merchandise is delivered to a person for whom it is
intended, such person has a right to refuse to accept delivery of this
merchandise or he may deem it to be a gift and use it or dispose of it in any
manner without any obligation to the sender.’

Violation of this law is also a violation of the Maine Unfair Trade Practices Act (see Chapter 3 of
this Guide). It is also a violation to deliver products in greater quantities than ordered and to then
charge the consumer for the unordered items.

§12.7. Mail Order Contests

An increasingly common deceptive practice is for an out-of-state “business” to send letters
announcing that the recipient has won an attractive prize but to then require the recipient to send a $10
or more “handling” charge or small down payment in order to receive the prize. Of course, there is no
prize and any money sent in is almost certainly lost. Such schemes are specifically prohibited by the
Maine Transient Sellers Act® and constitute both an unfair trade practice and a Class D crime. The
simplest way to verify the legitimacy of such offers is to find out if the business is registered as a
“transient seller” with the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Central
Licensing Division, 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035 (207-624-8603). If the
business is not a licensed transient seller, do not send any money.

§12.8. Common Sense Tips When
Ordering By Mail Or Telephone

A. Know The Company You Are Dealing With

Check the company’s reputation with the Better Business Bureau and State and local consumer
protection agencies.

B. Check The Company’s Policy on Returns

If the return policy is not stated in the advertisement and/or catalog, call or write the company
and find out what it is before you order.

C. Read The Product Description Carefully

Do not rely on a picture as it may make the product look larger than it is.

2 Section 3009 of the Postal Reorganization Act declares that mailing unordered merchandise is an unfair trade practice.
See 39 U.S.C.S. § 30009.

3 33 M.R.S.A. § 1101.

* 32 M.R.S.A. §§ 4681(7), 4688.
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D. Investigate The Seller’s Claims

If possible, find out if the product will do what the seller says it will before you order.

E. You Get What You Pay For

If a very expensive-looking product is advertised at a very low price, the product you get may
be worth the advertised price but it won’t be worth more. If you order a diamond product for
$3.50, that is what you will get—a diamond worth $3.50; do not expect more.

F. Keep A Copy Of The Original Advertisement Or Catalog

Make sure you have the company’s name, address and telephone number.

G. Keep A Copy Of Your Order Form

Your records should show the price, description and item numbers of the merchandise you
ordered, as well as the total price of the order and whether you paid by check, credit card or
money order. (NOTE: If you order by phone, it is especially important that you keep accurate
records of your order.)

H. Keep Your Canceled Checks And Charge Account Records Or Money
Order Receipts

If a problem develops, you may need these records to show proof of payment. Never send
cash for a mail-order purchase.

I. Check The Advertisement Or Catalog To See If A Specific Shipping Period
Is Given

Remember, the FTC mail-order merchandise rule says the company has to ship the item in the
time period given in the advertisement or catalog; or if no time period is given, shipment must be
made within 30 days. If shipment is not made within the time period specified or 30 days, the
company must send you an option notice which gives you the option of receiving your money
back or allowing the company additional time to deliver the order.

J. Keep On The Lookout For Phony Invoices

Sometimes a deceptive seller will send you a solicitation that looks very much like an invoice
or bill. Don’t pay. Federal law requires such “solicitations” to clearly announce: “THIS IS NOT
A BILL.” See § 29.32 in this Guide for a further discussion of the law in this area.

K. Watch Out For Negative Options

Negative option plans are not necessarily illegal, but the FTC requires’ sellers to disclose plan
terms, including the negative option, minimum purchase requirements, cancellation rights,
postage charges and refusal rights. Maine also requires telemarketers who sell negative options to
provide written notice of the deadline before the consumer can be charged.’ See § 12.15 in this
Guide.

> 16 C. F. R. Part 425.
% 10 MRSA § 1210.
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§ 12. 9.Credit Card Purchases

A. Responsibilities Of Issuers Of Credit Cards

If you pay for your goods and services with your credit card and you then have a dispute with
the merchant because you think the merchant has violated the contract (e.g., did not deliver the
goods you ordered, misled you as to what goods or services would actually be provided, etc.) then
any claims or defenses (other than tort claims) you might have against the merchant can also be
raised against the issuer of your credit card.” However, before you can refuse to pay the issuer of
your credit card, the following requirements must be met:

(1)  You must have made a good faith effort to resolve your dispute with the
merchant. This can be accomplished by writing a letter to the merchant and
keeping a copy of your letter as proof that you attempted to resolve your
dispute.

(2) The amount of initial transaction with the merchant must exceed $50; and

(3) The place where the initial transaction occurred must have been in Maine
(or within a 100 miles of your Maine address).

In general, when a merchant (either in state or out of state) contacts a consumer in the home,
whether in person, by telephone or by mail, the transaction is taking place in the state of Maine.
Therefore, any claims or defenses the consumer may have against the merchant can also be raised
against the credit card issuer. Nevertheless, do not wait more than two billing cycles to dispute the
charges in writing to your credit card issuer.

B. Common Consumer Defenses

Here are some of the most common claims and defenses you can raise against both the
merchant and the issuer of the credit card:

(1) The merchant initiated the sale by contacting the consumer at home and
violated either the Maine Consumer Solicitations Act® or the Maine
Transient Sales Act. ° For example, the Consumer Solicitations Sales Act
requires any seller who calls you at home to provide you with a written
contract that provides a three day cancellation period, before the sale can
become binding.'® Violations of either of these statutes are both an unfair
trade practice and a Class D crime. See Chapter 13 of this Guide.

9-A M.R.S.A. § 8-303(6). These limitations do not apply if the merchant itself issued (or controls) the credit cards you
made the purchase with.

32 M.R.S.A. §§ 4661-4671. The Maine Consumer Solicitation Sales Act applies when a salesman contacts the consumer
in the consumer’s home “by means of and including, but not limited to, a personal visit or a telephone call upon the
consumer... without the consumer soliciting the initial contact.” See 32 M.R.S.A. § 4662. A simple mail solicitation
probably does not fall within this law. However, if the consumer responds to the mailing (e.g., sends in a pre-stamped
postcard) and then the seller phones or visits the consumer, this law may well apply.

32 M.R.S.A. §§ 4681-4690. The Maine Transient Sales Act applies when the seller contacts the consumer in person or by
phone. It can also apply when the seller contacts the consumer by mail and offers “merchandise or money prizes as free
of charge, such as contest prizes or gifts for answering a survey, but who requires the recipient to pay something of value
in order to participate in this offer, including but not limited to, entrance fees, processing fees or handling charges.” 32
M.R.S.A. § 4681(7).

1032 M.R.S.A. § 4662.
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(2) The merchant was responsible for significantly violating the contract. For
example, the merchant never provided the goods or services that were
described to the consumer either in the mail solicitation or the phone
solicitation.

(3) The merchant was responsible for significantly violating the contract. For
example, the merchant never provided the goods or services that were
described to the consumer either in the mail solicitation or the phone
solicitation.

C. Steps To Resolve Your Complaint

Here are the steps you should take if you decide you have a good claim or defense against a
merchant and you made the purchase by credit card:

(1) If the merchant will not cooperate, notify the credit card company in
writing that you are withholding payment for the disputed charge.

(2) In your notification, inform the credit card company of your name, account
number, the item, the reference number, the amount you are refusing to
pay, why you are refusing to pay, and the ways you attempted to resolve
the problem. Pay the rest of the bill as usual. (Remember: be sure to notify
the credit card company within two billing cycles.)

3) Keep in touch with the credit card company and pay the disputed amount if
you still owe it once the problem has been resolved.

4) If still no relief, complain to both the United States Postal Inspector and the
Consumer Division of the Attorney General in the state in which the
business is located. See Chapter 30 of this Guide, §§ 30.4 - 30.5, for the
necessary addresses.

D. Credit Card Billing Errors

Consumers can also challenge “billing errors” made by the issuer of the credit card."
Included in billing errors are:

(1) An inaccurate bill or an incorrect billing for a product or service the
consumer never ordered.

(2) The billing statement that indicates that goods or services were delivered to
the consumer when in fact they were not or delivery was not in accordance
with the agreement the consumer made with the seller.

3) A computational error or other error of an accounting nature.'?

(4) The creditor’s failure to send a periodic statement to the consumer’s last
known address.

If there is an error on your credit card bill you should write to the credit card company on a
separate piece of paper (not on your bill). Do not send the letter to the regular billing address. The
letter should be sent to the credit card company’s listed “billing error” address, stating that an error
has been made. You should include:

""9-A M.R.S.A. § 8-401.
2 9.A M.R.S.A. § 8-401(3).
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(1) your name and address;
(2) the account number; and

3) the nature and the amount of the error.

This notice is effective only if it is received by the company within 60 days of the date the bill
was first sent to you. Note: Your billing rights, and the billing “error” address, should be printed on
the front or back of each credit card statement.'?

If your billing problem is not resolved within 30 days, the company must acknowledge your
complaint and begin an investigation. Within 60 days after that the company must either correct the
item or explain to you in writing why it feels the charge is correct.

You do not have to pay the amount of the bill you dispute while it is being investigated.
However, the portion of the bill not in dispute must be paid as usual. If the investigation proves
that you were wrong and the company is right, you will be expected to pay the charges as well as
any additional finance charges incurred during the delay. See § 26.4 in this Guide for a more
detailed discussion of these rights.

§ 12. 10. How To Complain

If your order does not arrive or is defective or wrong, write to the company. You should always
give the company a fair opportunity to respond.

If you receive an unsatisfactory response, then we would suggest the following actions:

A. Write the company a second, more strongly worded complaint letter. Demand a response
by a certain date (e.g., “Please respond to this letter no later than March 15, 2004.”) Tell
them in this letter you intend to formally complain to both the Attorney General’s
Consumer Division in the State in which the business is located and to the U.S. Postal
Inspector. The addresses for all State Attorney General consumer protection offices and the
Postal Inspector offices can be found in Chapter 31 of this Guide. Make sure you send
copies of this complaint letter to both the Attorney General’s Office and the Postal
Inspector and note at the bottom of your letter that these copies are being sent (e.g., “cc:
U.S. Postal Inspector; Texas Attorney General Consumer Protection Division”).

B. If the company still does not respond by the demand date, send a complaint letter to both
the Attorney General and the Postal Inspector and a copy to the business.

C. You can also try the Direct Marketing Association’s ConsumerLine. Write to:

ConsumerLine

Direct Marketing Association
1111 19" Street, N.W. Suite 1100
Washington, D. C.  20036-3603

Consumers requesting assistance through ConsumerLine should include the complete name and
mailing address of the company involved in the complaint, photocopies (not originals) of your letter of
complaint to the company, any canceled checks, order forms, and other relevant documents, and a
letter summarizing the facts of the complaint. ConsumerLine can act only after you have waited 30
days for the company to respond to your complaint. ConsumerLine will refer the letter to the company
on the consumer’s behalf and ask that the company resolve the matter. The majority of ConsumerLine

9.A M.R.S.A. § 8-401(1).
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complaints are resolved successfully within a 30-day period. The ConsumerLine staff makes every
effort possible to reach a satisfactory resolution for the consumer. When ConsumerLine refers a
complaint to a direct marketer, the consumer receives a postcard with instructions to notify
ConsumerLine if the complaint has not been resolved within 30 days. Upon such notification,
ConsumerLine will refer the complaint to the company again. In some cases, consumer complaints are
referred to The DMA’s Ethics and Consumer Affairs Department for appropriate action.

§ 12. 11. Other Sources Of Help For Failure
To Deliver Or Unsolicited
Merchandise

Other possible remedies for a mail-order company’s failure to deliver would be to contact the
Maine Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division, your Chamber of Commerce, or the Better
Business Bureau. The Direct Mail Marketing Association may also help. This Association is a trade
organization representing mail order companies, which use direct marketing techniques and operates a
clearinghouse for complaints involving their member companies. Write to:

Mail Order Action Line

c/o Direct Mail Marketing Association
6 E. 43" Street

New York, N.Y. 10017

If your problem remains unresolved, you can notify the Federal Trade Commission. See § 31.2 of
this Guide. Write to:

Federal Trade Commission

Room 200,

6" and Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.
Washington, DC 20508

www.ftc.gov

If your problem involves unsolicited merchandise, contact your Regional U.S. Postal Inspector. See
§ 31.5 of this Guide. Billing you for unordered merchandise may constitute mail fraud, an area of law
policed by the Postal Service. Demanding payment for, or return of, unsolicited merchandise is an
illegal unfair business practice, an area of law enforced by the Federal Trade Commission and the
Maine Attorney General.

For further information on telemarketing fraud, see Chapter 13 of this Guide, Consumer Rights
When A Salesperson Contacts You At Home and Chapter 28 of this Guide, How to Avoid Mail Order
And Telephone Fraud.

§ 12. 12. The “Do Not Call” Registry

Here’s how to greatly reduce telemarketing calls to your home. The Federal Trade Commission
now maintains a national “Do Not Call” Registry. Telemarketers must check with this FTC list and if
your name is on it they cannot call you, unless you have an on-going relationship with the company.

You can register your home and mobile phone numbers for free. Your registration will be effective
for 5 years.

You can register your number on the Do Not Call list by calling 1-888-382-1222 (TTY: 1-866-290-
4236) or over the internet at www.donotcall.gov, if you have an active e-mail address. Within 3
months you should receive far fewer telemarketing calls.
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If you have previously signed up for the Maine Do Not Call list, we’ve already sent your
information to the F.T.C. for inclusion on national Do Not Call registry.

§ 12. 13. How To Sue

A violation of any of your rights as described above can be a violation of the Maine Unfair Trade
Practices Act. This Act allows you to sue for damages or the return of your money, plus attorney’s
fees and court costs. See Chapter 3 of this Guide. You can sue in Small Claims Court, if the amount of
the contract is for not more than $4,500, in District Court, or in Superior Court. If you choose to sue in
Small Claims Court, which you may because it is inexpensive and can easily be done without a lawyer,
you may want to request a copy of our Guide to Small Claims Court. See Chapter 27 in this Guide.
Also, the District Court Clerk will answer all your questions.

§ 12.14. Work-At-Home Schemes

Work-at-home schemes are only one of several mail fraud practices facing citizens."* While, of
course, not all companies advertising work-at-home plans are dishonest, enough have been the source
of problems to warrant special caution on your part. Here are some examples:

A. Envelope Stuffing

“Earn $500 to $800 a month. Address envelopes in your own home. Five dollars provides you with
all the information you need to start.” This simple come-on is typical of ones used to separate you
from your money. It sounds good—you are at home or unable to work elsewhere and you have time
on your hands. Even if you don’t make all that is promised it’s still a good deal—certainly worth a
$5.00 investment. So you tell yourself.

In fact, we have never heard of anybody who has ever been paid to stuff envelopes in their homes.
What you are likely to receive for your investment is simply directions that tell you how to place
similar ads in newspapers and thereby perpetuate and continue the illegal scam.

B. Home Business

This type of work-at-home “opportunity” starts much the same way as the envelope-stuffing
scheme. Here you send the money to the company for craft kits, which you assemble at home. The
company promises to buy back the finished product from you at an attractive price.

Regardless of the high quality work done by some consumers, goods are often judged inferior by
the company and returned. You are stuck with the goods and they’ve got your money.

In one case reported by the U.S. Postal Service, a classified ad appeared in many parts of the
United States offering women an opportunity to “Earn $$ sewing baby shoes in your own home.” It
drew more than 200,000 inquiries. Each prospective “cobbler” had to pay a small registration fee and
demonstrate her skills in sewing a pair of wool-felt shoes for infants. In this particular scheme,
virtually every one of the 60,000 job prospects failed to measure up to promoter’s “high standards.”

' Maine also has a Business Opportunity statue (32 M.R.S.A. §§ 4691-4700B) which protects you from unfair schemes to
set you up in a business. See §§ 3.5, 24.3, and 29.12 in this Guide.
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§ 12. 15. Charges After A “Free” Trial
Period

An increasingly common “negative sale option” tactic occurs during a typical telemarketing sale.
The consumer will order a particular good or service and the caller will then offer a free trial of another
product. After the free trial period ends, without the consumer’s express consent, the business will
start billing the consumer for this item. Oftentimes the telephone operator does not disclose that the
consumer will be automatically billed for this item if the consumer does not cancel the sale before the
trial period ends. Make sure that each month you check your credit card bill for bogus charges and
dispute any charges you do not recognize. See § 26.3 in this Guide.

Pursuant to a Maine law that became effective September 21, 2001," such “free trial period” sales
must be confirmed with a written notice mailed to the consumer which provides the consumer with a
complete description of the negative option agreement, the deadline the consumer will start being
charged for the item, and directions as to how the consumer can cancel the sale by either mail or phone
before that deadline arrives.

§ 12. 16. Internet Shopping: Contracts On
The Internet

Shopping over the Internet has become increasingly popular.'® Yet your purchases can be fraught
with uncertainty and the danger of fraud. EchoTech, an Internet site on fraud (www.echotech.com),
offers 15 different warning signs to look for when determining whether an offer that comes over the
Internet is fraudulent:

A.  Hidden name or address.

Uncheckable references.

Too much talk about money, not enough about the deal.
The internet site claims, “This is not a scam.”

Request for your credit card number.

mmoaw

An illegal pyramid scam. That is if you are asked to send money now to five people
who each send it to another five and so on, in return for a “windfall” later (see
Chapter 22 in this Guide, Consumer Rights and Multi-Level Marketing (Pyramid
Schemes)).

G. Spamming. When people who post huge numbers of identical articles on-line are
forcing you to pay the bill.

H.  Too much knowledge about you.

L. LOTS OF CAPITAL LETTERS and punctuation!!! as in offers for BIG $$$$$$ IN
NO TIME AT ALL!!!

Request to pay before you get details of an offer (an “advance fee” scam).

~

K.  Hidden costs. Watch out for ads that shout: “It won’t cost you a penny to get started”
and then quietly charges an “entrance fee”.

310 M.R.S.A. § 1210, Required Disclosures To Consumers.

'® The sources for this section on cyber shopping are the Federal Trade Commission, National Fraud Information Center,
Securities and Exchange Commission, Direct Marketing Association, Inc., and “Launching a Dragnet to Stop On-line
Cons,” The Boston Globe D16 (January 6, 1997).
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L. Promises of a “secret” method available to “only a limited number of people”.
Scammers say this so they can close their business quickly and run away with your
money.

M.  Requests for your password, credit or debit card numbers or bank check numbers.

N.  Unsolicited electronic mail with offers to give or sell you something.

O.  Inappropriate personal questions or request to borrow money.

Because you are ordering electronically, you should print a hard copy of any on-line solicitation
you are considering. You should never assume that people on-line are who they claim to be.
Remember, anyone can set up a website or advertise on-line. Never invest money before obtaining
written financial information concerning the offer. If you ask for information and you are told that
none is available, do not order! Of course, never disclose checking account, credit card numbers or
other personal financial data at any website or on-line service location unless you are sure you know
exactly where the data is going.

The same laws that protect you when you shop by phone or mail apply when you shop in
cyberspace. The Federal Trade Commission’s Mail or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule—the “30-
Day Rule”—now applies to Internet orders as well as phone and mail orders. Under the law, a
company must ship your order within the time stated in its ads. If no time is indicated, the company
must ship within 30 days after receiving your order, or give you the choice of agreeing to a delay or
cancel your order and receive a prompt refund. This Rule applies to the Internet due to its definition of
“telephone”, which refers to any direct or indirect use of the telephone to order merchandise, regardless
of whether or not the telephone is activated by human beings, machines, or both. There is one
exception to the 30-day rule. If a company does not promise a shipping time, and you are applying for
credit to pay for your purchase, the company has 50 days after receiving your order to ship your
merchandise or perform its services.

The Fair Credit Billing Act also applies. This law helps consumers resolve disputes regarding
credit card accounts and applies to all on-line, mail, telephone and retail transactions. The following
disputes are covered:

A.  Charges not made by the consumer or anyone authorized to use the account;

B.  Incorrect charges for which the wrong amount or date is shown,;

C.  Charges for goods and services the consumer did not accept or were not delivered as
agreed;

D.  Computational or similar errors;

Failure to reflect payments or other credits;

F. Not mailing or delivering bills to the consumer’s current address (provided a change
of address was given at least 20 days before the end of the billing period;

G.  Charges for which the consumer requested an explanation or written proof of
purchase.

Act immediately after an incorrect charge appears on an invoice by writing or calling the creditor
and notifying them of the error. This written notice must reach them within 60 days of the first
appearance of the charge on the bill. The letter to the creditor or bank should include: name and
account number, statement of why the bill is incorrect and the dollar amount involved, and documents
supporting your claim, (i.e., copies of the order printout, bill, sales slip, etc.). The consumer need not
pay the disputed amount or any relevant finance charges while the bill is in dispute, but should pay all
other charges not related to that amount. During the dispute period, the creditor cannot report the
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account to a credit agency, or take any action. The account may not be closed or restricted, but the
disputed amount may be applied against the credit limit.

If the customer does not win the dispute, that amount must be paid as well as the finance charges
accumulated during the investigation period. The customer may still write to the creditor within 10
days after receiving the notice and refuse to pay, but collection procedures may begin. However, if the
customer is reported to a credit bureau, it must be noted that the amount is under dispute. Consumers
must be notified of who receives such reports.

If you have concluded your legal rights have been violated by an Internet seller, in which
jurisdiction can you bring a lawsuit? In Maine or the state in which the Internet seller is located? This
is not a simple question but a reasonable approach would be if the Web site actively sells goods or
services (e.g., accepts orders when the consumer provides a credit card number), then the seller can be
sued in a Maine court instead of the seller’s home state.

The National Consumers League’s Internet Fraud Watch has identified the following as the most
common Internet scams:

A.  Web Auctions

Internet Services

General Merchandise

Computer Equipment/Software
Pyramids/Multi-level Marketing Services
Business Opportunities/Franchises
Work-at-Home Plans

Credit Card Issuing

—Zam™mmouaow

Prizes/Sweepstakes
Book Sales

An alternative way to attempt to resolve an Internet fraud claim is to use an on-line dispute
resolution (“ODR”) service. Three sites that facilitate the negotiation of monetary settlement disputes
are:

-

CyberSettle.com, at www.cybersettle.com,

clickNsettle.com, at www.clicknsettle.com, and

A site offering mediation services is:

SquareTrade, at www.squaretrade.com.

A site offering online arbitration is:

Resolution Forum, Inc., at www.resolutionforum.org.
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Finally, one can employ a free modified online jury at:

iCourthouse.com, at www.i-courthouse.com.

Here are some informational web sites you can seek help on:

The Federal Trade Commission: www.ftc.gov;

United States Postal Service: www.usps.com;

Food and Drug Administration: www.fda.gov;
Better Business Bureau (BBB): www.bbb.org;

Internet Advice: www.consumer.gov;

Federal Communications Commission: www.fcc.gov;

Internet Fraud Complaint: www.ifccfbi.gov;

Internet Fraud (department of Justice): www.internetfraud.usdoj.gov/.



