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2017 Maine Income Tax Withholding 
 
Maine Revenue Services (MRS) has received questions from employers regarding the 
calculation of 2017 Maine income tax withholding.  The income threshold at which Maine 
withholding begins, and the amount of withholding for low- and middle-income taxpayers, 
remains the same for both 2016 and 2017, even though the approach used to calculate the 2017 
withholding amount is different from the 2016 approach.  Confusion relating to the calculation 
has resulted in unnecessary increases in Maine income tax withholding for some employees.  
Below is a description of the proper standard deduction calculation approach for 2017.    
 
Prior to 2017, MRS included the standard deduction amount in the withholding tax rate 
schedules, reflecting a 0% bracket.  For 2017, the standard deduction amount was removed from 
the tax rate schedules and must be subtracted from the annualized income amount to which the 
tax rate schedules are applied.  The standard deduction amount is phased out starting at $70,000 
for single filers ($140,000 for married filers) and is fully phased out at $145,000 ($290,000 for 
married). 
 
The standard deduction amount that must be subtracted from annualized income falling below 
the threshold is $8,750 for single filers and $20,350 for married filers.  If the annualized income 
falls in the phase out range, the following equation must be used to calculate the amount of the 
standard deduction to subtract: 
 

Single: 1-((Annualized Income - $70,000) ÷ $75,000) x $8,750 
Married: 1-((Annualized Income - $140,000) ÷ $150,000) x $20,350 

 
MRS changed the approach to institute a more transparent method to calculate the Maine 
withholding in response to taxpayer and software developer feedback.  With certain exceptions, 
the 2017 withholding amounts for low and middle income employees are substantially the same 
as the 2016 withholding amounts.   
 
The 2017 withholding tables and the percentage method instructions can be found online at 
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/with/2017/17_WH_Tab&instructions.pdf.  If you have any 
questions, please contact the Maine withholding tax unit at (207) 626-8475, select option 1 
followed by option 4. 
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
Please contact:  
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 

Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 626-8475 (207) 287-5855 
Central Registration (207) 624-5644 (207) 287-6975 taxregistration@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 624-5625 (207) 287-3618 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel & Special Taxes (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 624-5600 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627  
Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9677 (207) 287-3618 
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 

Fraud Alert 
 
If you believe you are a victim of identity theft or that a breach of personally identifiable information has occurred, 
contact MRS at (207) 626-8475 or email fraudalert.mrs@maine.gov as soon as possible. Timely notification assists 
MRS in preventing fraudulent tax refunds. 
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