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Maine Revenue Services Rulemaking Activity 
 

Amendments to Rule 805, “Composite Filing.”  Rule 805 was adopted in 1987 and most 

recently amended in 2008.  The rule establishes procedures for filing of composite returns of 

income by partnerships, estates, trusts, and S corporations on behalf of partners, beneficiaries, or 

shareholders. 

 

The following changes are being proposed for this Rule.  The definition of “eligible person” is 

reworded to be more precise.  Section 3 and Section 5 are amended to make clear that an eligible 

person cannot join in a composite return and claim a business credit for which an income 

modification or election is required.  Section 2 is amended to strike the mention of a schedule 

that is no longer available.  

 

A copy of Proposed Rule 805 can be found on the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue 

(select Laws & Rules).  Comments are due by July 16, 2012 and should be directed to Nanette 

Ardry. Esq., Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333, (207) 

624-9725, nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov. 

 

Amendments to Rule 901, “Maine Residents Property Tax Program.”  Rule 901, first 

adopted in 1997 and most recently amended in 2008, explains the Maine Resident Property Tax 

Program, also known as “Circuitbreaker.” 

 

The following changes are being proposed for this Rule.  Sections .01(A) and .02(A) are 

amended to reflect recent legislation that allows a claimant to claim property tax on property for 

which ownership was transferred pursuant to an agreement but which allowed the claimant to 

retain possession of the property.  A definition of “dwelling” is added to section .02(A).  Section 

.04 is amended to exclude property taxes abated for infirmity or poverty from definition of 

“property taxes accrued” in response to recent legislation and to add a section on parts of larger 

units to reflect existing statutory language.  Language related to exclusions from rent in section 

.05 is revised and first time claimants with rent above $9,000 annually must provide proof of rent 

in response to recent legislation requiring rulemaking. 

 

A copy of Proposed Rule 901 can be found on the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue 

(select Laws & Rules). Comments are due by July 16, 2012 and should be directed to Nanette 

Ardry. Esq., Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333, (207) 

624-9725, nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov. 
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Maine Revenue Services Criminal Tax Cases 
 

On March 2, 2012, Thomas Balzano appeared in Portland Court and pled guilty to six (6) counts 

of Failure to Pay Maine Income Tax for the periods 2004-2009, and two (2) counts of Failure to 

Make and File Maine Income Tax for the years 2004 & 2007.  After a short sentencing hearing, 

the Judge sentenced Mr. Balzano to 120 days in jail, with all but four (4) days suspended.  Mr. 

Balzano was ordered to pay restitution in the amount of $48,484 ($110,465 was the total value 

attributed to this case; however, Mr. Balzano made multiple payments towards his restitution 

before court imposed restitution).  The restitution is a stand-alone order and is both part of the 

judgment, as well as a condition of his administrative release (Mr. Balzano was ordered to serve 

a one-year period of administrative release.)   Mr. Balzano is also required to timely file all 

future returns and timely pay all future taxes. 

 

On March 20, 2012, Kathy Kimball from Sumner, Maine appeared for trial in South Paris 

District Court and pursuant to a plea agreement, pled guilty to six (6) counts of Failure to Make 

and File/Failure to Pay Maine Income Tax for tax years 2004-2009.    After a short sentencing 

hearing, the Judge sentenced Ms. Kimball to 180 days in jail, with all but 21 days suspended. 

She was ordered to pay restitution in the amount of $40,169; this is a stand-alone order and is 

both part of the judgment, as well as a condition of her administrative release.  (Ms. Kimball was 

ordered to serve a one-year period of administrative release.)  The other terms of her 

administrative release require monthly restitution payments. Ms. Kimball has also been ordered 

to timely file and pay all future income taxes. 

 

On April 27, 2012, Randall Weisz from Steep Falls, Maine appeared in Portland Court for 

sentencing after pleading no contest on 3/23/12 to ten (10) Counts of Failure to File/Pay Maine 

Income Tax for the years 2005-2010.  Mr. Weisz was sentenced to 180 days in jail with all but 

14 days suspended and one year of administrative release.  Special conditions of his 

administrative release include paying restitution in the amount of $8,950 (and a separate 

judgment for the same amount) and to pay and file all future income taxes timely. 
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Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 

Taxpayer Service Center (207) 287-2076 (207) 287-5855 

Appellate (207) 624-9854 (207) 287-3618 

Audit (207) 822-0450 (207) 822-0453 

Central Registration (207) 621-5129 (207) 287-3733 division.uctax@maine.gov 

Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 

Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 

E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 

Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 287-8276 (207) 287-6975 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 

Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 

Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 

Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  

Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 

Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 

NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 

Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 

Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 

Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 

Property Tax (207) 287-2013 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 

Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  

Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 

Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  

Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 

Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 

Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 

Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 

This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 

practitioners and the general public informed of 

developments, problems, questions and matters of 

general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 

procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 

designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 

are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 

regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 

Please contact: Public Communications (207) 626-8478 
Maine Revenue Services 

PO Box 1060 

Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 
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