
 

 1

MAINE TAX ALERT 
A Publication of Maine Revenue Services for Tax Professionals 

 
  Volume 21, No. 3 May, 2011 
  

Public Communications Tel: (207) 626-8478 
 

Overview of the 2011 Filing Season 
 

As another 2010 1040 tax season is nearing closure, the Revenue Processing Center has 
completed processing all 1040 forms by May 6th that were received before April 21st.   This was 
accomplished while bringing online a new imaging and data capture system, which provides 
enhanced imaging and automated data recognition technologies with same day deposit of funds.   
 
MRS has seen improved processing overall, which is directly related to the increased adoption 
rate of electronically filed individual income tax returns and the new imaging system. The 
following are the more significant improvements: 
 

• Unlike previous tax years, amended returns and other tax returns were processed during 
the height of the 1040 tax season. 

• Although there was an increase of more than 30% in the number of 1040 payment 
vouchers received and processed in April this year, all were processed quickly and are 
current to date. 

• This was the first year that MRS did not operate a second shift to support the tax season.  
In comparison, ten years ago a total of more than 16,000 hours were worked in the 
second shift.  

 
In addition, the follow reflects the increased activity in electronic filing and payments.  
 

• With over 89% of this year’s returns now filed and processed, 74% were electronically 
filed.  Last year at this time, 65% had been filed electronically. 

• The number of refunds directly deposited to taxpayers’ checking and savings accounts is 
also trending to new highs.  67% of all taxpayers to date have requested an electronic 
refund.   

• Taxpayers who electronically file their returns are also seeing a faster turnaround on their 
refund checks averaging just 4 days. 

• MRS now provides electronic filing, payment and refund services for ALL the major 
taxes it administers.  75% of the revenue MRS processes is received through electronic 
payments.  These services have helped MRS to gain outstanding efficiencies. 
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Maine Revenue Services Tax Law Changes 
Supplemental Budget 

 
On February 8, 2011, the Maine Legislature enacted and the Governor signed the Supplemental 
Budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2011.  For a copy of the law, see PL 2011, c. 1 (LD 
100) at www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_125th/chapters/PUBLIC1.asp.   
 
The legislation contains a number of procedural and administrative changes affecting tax returns 
and refunds.  The changes are effective July 1, 2011.  Maine Revenue Services is now in the 
process of updating its systems, notices and instructions to reflect the following changes. 
 
Non-filer tax assessments - more time to provide information (see Part BB, § 1 of the law).  
A person who has failed to file a required tax return with Maine Revenue Services now has 60 
days after notification to provide tax information necessary for the proper calculation of the 
Maine tax liability.  An additional 60 days to provide the information is available upon written 
request prior to the expiration of the original 60-day period.  Under prior Maine law, taxpayers 
had 30 days to provide the requested information, with an additional 90 days upon written 
request. 
 
Setoff of Maine tax refunds against other state agency debt – additional time to request a 
hearing (see Part BB, § 2).  Maine law allows a taxpayer’s Maine income tax refund to be setoff 
against the taxpayer’s debt owed to another state agency.  Under prior law, a taxpayer had 30 
days after receipt of notice of the setoff to request a hearing.  The new law allows taxpayers 60 
days after receipt of notice to request a hearing. 
 
Additional time to file amended returns (see Part CC).  In cases where the taxpayer’s Maine 
tax liability is affected, the new law increases the time period required for filing an amended 
Maine income tax return, service provider tax return or estate tax return from 90 days to 180 
days.  An amended Maine income tax return must be filed within 180 days of the date of a final 
determination of a change or correction or the filing of a federal amended return.  The term final 
determination, as it relates to the filing of an amended Maine income tax return, means the date 
on which the earliest of the following events occurs with respect to a federal taxable year: 
 

− the taxpayer has made payment of an additional income tax liability resulting from a 
federal audit, the taxpayer has not filed a petition for redetermination or claim for refund 
for the portions of the audit for which the payment was made and the time for filing a 
petition for redetermination or refund claim has expired; 

− the taxpayer receives a refund from the U.S. Treasury that resulted from a federal audit; 
− the taxpayer signs an Internal Revenue Service (IRS) form consenting to a deficiency or 

accepting an over assessment; 
− the taxpayer’s time for filing a petition for redetermination with the U.S. Tax Court 

expires; 
− the taxpayer and the IRS enter into a closing agreement; and 
− a decision from the U.S. Tax Court, a district court, a federal court of appeals, U.S. Court 

of Federal Claims or the U.S. Supreme Court becomes final. 
 
Additional time for requesting a credit or refund (see Part DD).  Under prior Maine law, for 
most Maine taxes, a taxpayer generally had 3 years from the time a return was filed or 2 years 
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from the time the tax was paid, whichever period expired later, to request a credit or refund of 
overpaid taxes.  The new law allows 3 years from the time the return was filed or 3 years from 
the time the tax was paid to request a credit or refund of overpaid taxes. 
 
Interest on tax refunds (see Part EE).  Under prior Maine law, with respect to requests for 
income and estate tax refunds made on or after the original due date of a return, Maine Revenue 
Services did not have to pay interest on those refunds if the refund was issued within 90 days of 
the original return due date or date of refund request or amended return, whichever occurred 
later.  Under the new law, MRS must pay interest if the refund is not issued within 60 days of the 
original return due date or date of refund request or amended return.  If interest applies, it is 
calculated from the original return due date or date of refund request or amended return, 
whichever occurs later. 
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Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 287-2076 (207) 287-5855 
Appellate (207) 624-9854 (207) 287-3618 
Central Registration (207) 621-5129 (207) 287-3733 division.uctax@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
Economic Research (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 287-8276 (207) 287-6975 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-7729 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 287-2013 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600

This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
Please contact: Public Communications (207) 626-8478 
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 


