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Form 2333ME 
Increased Fees for Printed Forms 

 
Due to rising printing, postage and labor costs, Maine Revenue Services is forced to increase 
fees charged for 2008/2009 printed forms available using Form 2333ME.  Prices for forms have 
not been adjusted for many years.  Additionally, MRS will discontinue the practice of providing 
a set of free forms on Form 2333ME.   The fees are used to offset printing, shipping and 
handling costs. 
 
Downloadable forms continue to be available for free at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms. 
 
 

Form 2848ME – Power of Attorney and 
Declaration of Representative 

 
Form 2848ME - Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative has been revised.  The 
April 2008 revision of this form is posted to the Maine Revenue Services web site and is 
available for download at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/general/generalforms.htm.  Please 
discard any printed copies of older versions of this form you may have and use the April 2008 
revision for all future filings. 
 
 

2008 Tax Law Changes 
 
A summary of the 2008 Maine tax law changes is now available on the Maine Revenue Services 
web site at www.maine.gov/revenue. View this link to see the latest changes, including Sales 
Tax, Property Tax, Estate Tax and Income legislation. 
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Maine Residents Property Tax and Rent Refund 
“Circuit Breaker” Program  

 
The Maine Residents Property Tax and Rent Refund “Circuit Breaker” Program began on 
August 1, 2008. Applications for refunds of property tax assessed or rent paid during 2007 will 
be accepted through June 1, 2009. The General portion of the program provides refunds of up to 
$2,000 to persons of any age whose household income for 2007 was not more than $60,000 for 
single-member households and not more than $80,000 for those who lived with a spouse or 
dependent(s). To qualify for a refund, the 2007 property tax must be more than 4 percent of 
household income or the rent paid must be more than 20 percent of household income.  
 
Senior program refunds are available to applicants who were at least 62 in 2007 (55 or over if 
disabled). In addition, for persons living alone, the household income for 2007 cannot be more 
than $13,600; for a single person living with a dependent, or a married person who lived with a 
spouse, the 2007 household income cannot be more than $16,800.  
 
Applicants who qualify for both the Senior and General refunds will receive the larger of the 
two.  
 
Beginning August 1, 2008, applications may be filed by computer using I-file at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/netfile/TNRIfile.htm (see page 10 of the booklet). Applications may 
also be filed by mail.  
 
Application booklets will be mailed to individuals who submitted applications for last year's 
program, and to Municipal Offices, Area Agencies on Aging, Community Action Agencies, Pine 
Tree Legal offices, Bureau of Elder and Adult Services, DHHS District Offices, Health Clinics, 
Career Centers, Public Libraries and Adult Education locations. Booklets may be downloaded at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/tnr/tnr.htm and can also be ordered by calling the Maine 
Revenue Services forms line at (207) 624-7894. 
 
 

Business Equipment Tax Reimbursement Program  
 
The application period for the Business Equipment Tax Reimbursement program (BETR) began 
August 1, 2008.  The program reimburses local property taxes paid on most qualified business 
property. Qualified business property must have been first placed in service in Maine after April 
1, 1995. An annual application must be filed between August 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008 for 
eligible property taxes paid during calendar year 2007.  
 
BETR application booklets will be mailed to businesses that have previously applied for 
reimbursement and to most municipal offices. Downloadable versions of the forms and 
instructions will also be available on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms. Other 
businesses wanting to take advantage of the program can order the application booklet by calling 
the forms line at (207) 624-7894. 
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Forest Products 
Limited Time Exemption Certificate and 

Rebate on Parts and Supplies 
 

A person engaged directly and primarily (more than 50% of the time) in the harvest-related 
transport of forest products (as defined below) is eligible to apply for a sales tax exemption 
certificate for the purchase of parts and supplies used in the repair and maintenance of motor 
vehicles and trailers that are directly and primarily used in transporting forest products from the 
forest land harvest site to the initial destination involving production or use. This certificate only 
applies to purchases made on or after April 1, 2008 but before October 1, 2008.  
 
“Forest products” are defined as logs, pulpwood, bolt wood, wood chips, stud wood, poles, 
pilings, biomass or fuel wood or other products commonly known as forest products, but does 
not include Christmas trees, maple syrup, nursery products used for ornamental purposes, 
wreaths, bough material, cones, or other seed crops. 
 
For those purchasers who are engaged primarily in the harvest-related transport of forest 
products and have already paid sales tax on qualifying parts and supplies between April 1, 2008 
and September 30, 2008, a sales tax refund is available.  A refund application must be filed 
within 36 months of the date of the qualifying purchase. For more information on the exemption 
certificate and the refund provision, call (207) 624-9693 or visit our web site at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/. 
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Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 287-2076 (207) 287-5855 
Appellate (207) 624-9854 (207) 287-3294 
Central Registration (207) 621-5129 (207) 287-3733 division.uctax@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
Economic Research (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 624-9740 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 287-8276 (207) 287-6975 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894 (207) 622-3517 
Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-7729 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 287-2013 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600

This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 

Please contact: Public Communications (207) 626-8478 
Maine Revenue Services 
24 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine  04333-0024 

STATE OF MAINE 
 
John Elias Baldacci, Governor 
 
Rebecca M. Wyke, Commissioner 
Administrative and Financial Services 
 
Jerome D. Gerard, Acting Executive 
Director, Maine Revenue Services 


