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Maine Sales and Use Tax Symposiums 
 

Sales and Use Tax Symposiums are scheduled as follows. Visit our Web site at 
www.state.me.us/revenue/ (click on Fall 2004 Sales/Use Tax Symposiums) for more 
information.  
 
October 19 Jeff’s Catering www.jeffscatering.com/  
 5 Coffin Ave 
 Bangor, ME 
 
October 27 Augusta Civic Center www.augustaciviccenter.org  
 Civic Center Drive  
 Augusta, ME  
 
November 9 Keeley the Katerer www.keeleythekaterer.com  
 178 Warren Avenue  
  Portland, ME  
 
 

2004 Tax Forms 
 

Form 2333ME is now available on Maine Revenue Services’ web site at 
www.state.me.us/revenue/forms/2004/2333_04.pdf to be used to order 2004 tax forms. A print 
version of Form 2333ME is also available. 
 
 
 

Tax Practitioner Institute 
 

This year’s Tax Practitioner Institute, hosted by the Service Corps of Retired Executives 
Association (SCORE), will be held at three locations in Maine on November 9 (Bangor), 
November 16 (Augusta) and November 18 (Portland). 
 
Federal and state tax specialists will present workshops designed for those interested in keeping 
abreast of federal and state tax laws and regulations.  The Institute provides 8 hours (including 
one hour of ethics) of CPE credits. 
 
Seating will be limited and registrations will be accepted by mail only.  For more information on 
Institute programs and locations and for registration forms, contact SCORE at (207) 622-8509 or 
visit Maine Revenue Services’ Web site at www.sba.gov/me/taxpractitioner.pdf 
 
 



2005 Individual Income Tax Rates 
 

Listed below are the individual income tax rates for tax years beginning in 2005. Rates for tax 
years beginning in 2004 can be found by visiting our Web site at 
www.state.me.us/revenue/forms/2004/RateSched04.pdf. 

 
State of Maine - Individual Income Tax - 2005 Rates 

2005 Cost-of-living adjustment is 1.0628 
 
Note:  The 2005 tax rate schedule dollar bracket amounts are adjusted by multiplying the cost-of-living 
adjustment, 1.0628, by the dollar amounts of the tax rate tables specified in 36 M.R.S.A. § 5111 
subsections 1-B, 2-B and 3-B (see 36 M.R.S.A. § 5403).  The personal exemption amount is not subject 
to the inflation adjustment for tax year 2005. 
 

Do not use these tax rate schedules to determine income tax withholding from wages. 
 

Tax Rate Schedule #1 
For Single Individuals and Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $4,450 2.0% of the taxable income 
 $ 4,450 but less than $  8,850 $ 89 plus 4.5% of excess over  $  4,450 
 $ 8,850 but less than $17,700 $ 287 plus 7.0% of excess over  $  8,850 
 $ 17,700 or more  $ 907 plus 8.5% of excess over  $17,700 
 

Tax Rate Schedule #2 
For Unmarried or Legally Separated Individuals who Qualify as Heads-of-Households 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $6,650 2.0% of the taxable income 
 $ 6,650 but less than $13,250 $ 133 plus 4.5% of excess over  $  6,650 
 $13,250 but less than $26,600 $ 430 plus 7.0% of excess over  $13,250 
 $26,600 or more  $ 1,365 plus 8.5% of excess over  $26,600 
 

Tax Rate Schedule #3 
For Married Individuals and Surviving Spouses Filing Joint Returns 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $8,900 2.0% of the taxable income 
 $ 8,900 but less than $17,700 $ 178 plus 4.5% of excess over  $  8,900 
 $17,700 but less than $35,450 $ 574 plus 7.0% of excess over  $17,700 
 $35,450 or more  $ 1,817 plus 8.5% of excess over  $35,450 
 
Personal Exemption: $2,850 
 
Standard Deduction: Single - $5,000 Married Filing Jointly - $8,300 
 Head-of-Household - $7,300 Married Filing Separate - $4,150 
 
Additional Amount for Age or Blindness: 
 $1,000 if married (whether filing jointly or separately) or a qualified surviving spouse.  The additional 

amount is $2,000 if one spouse is 65 or over and blind, $2,000* if both spouses are 65 or over, $4,000* 
if both spouses are 65 or over and blind, etc. 

  *If married filing separately, these amounts apply only if you can claim an exemption for your spouse. 
 
 $1,250 if unmarried (single or head-of-household).  The additional amount is $2,500 if the individual is 

both 65 or over and blind. 
 
Note:  If taxpayer can be claimed as a dependent on another person's return, the standard deduction is the 
greater of $800 or earned income plus $250 (up to the standard deduction amount).
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
 

Please contact:  Public Communications 
624-9758 

 
Maine Revenue Services 
24 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine  04333-0024 

STATE OF MAINE 
 
John Elias Baldacci, Governor 
 
Rebecca M. Wyke, Commissioner 
Administrative and Financial Services
 
Jerome D. Gerard, Acting Executive 
Director, Maine Revenue Services 

Department 
Taxpayer Service Center 
Appellate 
Central Registration 
Collections & Compliance 
Corporate Tax 
E-file Help Desk 
Economic Research 
Electronic Funds Transfer 
Estate Tax 
Fuel Tax 
Forms Request Line 
Income Tax Assistance 
Insurance Premium Tax 
Payment Plan/Income Tax  
Payment Plan/Other  
Practitioners' Hotline  
Property Tax 
Public Communications 
Sales Tax 
Tax Clearance Letters 
Taxpayer Advocate 
TTY Service 
Withholding Tax 
Tax Violations Hot Line 

Telephone Numbers 
(207) 287-2076  
(207) 287-8549 
(207) 287-2338 
(207) 624-9595 
(207) 624-9670 
(207) 624-9730 
(207) 287-6965 
(207) 287-8276 
(207) 626-8480 
(207) 624-9745 
(207) 624-7894 
(207) 626-8475 
(207) 624-9753 
(207) 621-4300 
(207) 624-9595 
(207) 626-8458 
(207) 287-2011 
(207) 624-9684 
(207) 624-9693 
(207) 624-9628 
(207) 624-9649 
(207) 287-4477 
(207) 626-8475 
(207) 624-9600 

FAX Numbers 
(207) 287-5855 
(207) 287-3294 
(207) 287-3733 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 624-9740 
(207) 287-3618 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6628 
(207) 622-3517 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 624-7729 
(207) 621-4328 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6396 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6628 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 287-3618 
          ------- 
(207) 624-9694 
 

E-mail Addresses 
 
 
division.uctax@maine.gov 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
corporate.tax@maine.gov 
efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
 
efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
income.tax@maine.gov 
fuel.tax@maine.gov 
 
income.tax@maine.gov 
 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
 
prop.tax@maine.gov 
 
sales.tax@maine.gov 
 
taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
 
withholding.tax@maine.gov 
 


