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Special Hotline Established for Former Harmon-Baert Clients 
 
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) has established a telephone Hotline for the benefit of 
former clients of Harmon-Baert Associates, Inc., the Saco payroll processor that is the 
subject of a pending investigation by the Internal Revenue Service and the U.S. Attorney’s 
office.  The MRS Hotline is 207- 624-9793.   Any former Harmon-Baert client may call this 
number to inquire as to their state tax account status.  
 
Any business found to have a state payroll tax liability as a result of the actions or inactions 
of the now-closed Saco firm will not be required to pay interest or penalties.   Furthermore, 
the State will work with affected taxpayers as needed on a case-by-case basis to establish 
workable payment plans. 
 
Every effort will be made to verify the accuracy of all filed returns, as additional information 
becomes available from the U.S. Attorney’s Office. 
 
 
 

2003 Maine Income Tax Forms 
 

Due to several federal legislative proposals that, if passed, would have affected the 2003 
Maine tax forms, the printing of income tax forms has been delayed.  On December 1, 2003, 
shortly after Congress adjourned, camera-ready copies of all Maine income tax forms were 
sent to printing vendors.  As a result of the delay, delivery of Maine income tax forms is now 
expected to be mid to late January, approximately the same time forms were delivered last 
year.    
 
All three FASTFILE programs are expected to be available for use on January 20, 2004.  
Also on that date, all income tax forms will be available on the Maine Revenue Services 
Web site for downloading. PIN postcards are scheduled to be mailed by January 9, 2004.   
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Use Tax for Individuals 

 
How does an individual report Maine use tax? 

 
Most Maine use tax liability can be reported by individuals on Maine individual income tax 
returns, generally due April 15th of each year.  
 
However, effective September 13, 2003, a recent law change now requires individuals who 
purchase an item on which the Maine sales tax has not been paid, which costs more than 
$5,000, to report the Maine use tax due on that purchase by the 15th of the month following 
the purchase.  A new Maine use tax return has been developed for individuals to report the 
Maine use tax liability on these items and, if the individual so chooses, on items that cost less 
than $5,000.  The new form, with any required payment, must be mailed to Maine Revenue 
Services by the due date.  The new form and the Maine use tax brochure are available at all 
Maine municipal offices and at www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/homepage.html. 
 
 

________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

MAINE E-FILE 
 
A CONVENIENT, QUICK AND ACCURATE WAY 

TO FILE MANY INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 
RETURNS 

 
For more information visit our Web site at: 

www.maine.gov/revenue 
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
 
Please contact:  Public Communications

624-9758 
 
Maine Revenue Services 
24 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine  04333-0024 

STATE OF MAINE 
 
John Elias Baldacci, Governor 
 
Rebecca M. Wyke, Commissioner 
Administrative and Financial Services
 
Jerome D. Gerard, Acting Executive 
Director, Maine Revenue Services 

Department 
Taxpayer Service Center 
Central Registration 
Collections & Compliance 
Corporate Tax 
E-file Help Desk 
Economic Research 
Electronic Funds Transfer 
Estate Tax 
Fuel Tax 
Forms Request Line 
Income Tax Assistance 
Insurance Premium Tax 
Payment Plan/Income Tax  
Payment Plan/Other  
Practitioners' Hotline  
Property Tax 
Public Communications 
Sales Tax 
Taxpayer Advocate 
TTY Service 
Withholding Tax 
Tax Violations Hot Line 

Telephone Numbers 
(207) 287-2076  
(207) 287-2338 
(207) 624-9595 
(207) 624-9670 
(207) 624-9730 
(207) 287-6965 
(207) 287-8276 
(207) 626-8480 
(207) 624-9745 
(207) 624-7894 
(207) 626-8475 
(207) 624-9582 
(207) 621-4300 
(207) 624-9595 
(207) 626-8458 
(207) 287-2011 
(207) 624-9684 
(207) 624-9693 
(207) 624-9649 
(207) 287-4477 
(207) 626-8475 
(207) 624-9600 

FAX Numbers 
(207) 287-5855 
(207) 287-3733 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 624-9740 
(207) 287-3618 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6628 
(207) 622-3517 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 621-4328 
(207) 287-6627 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6396 
(207) 624-9694 
(207) 287-6628 
(207) 287-3618 
          ------- 
(207) 624-9694 
 

E-mail Addresses 
 
division.uctax@maine.gov 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
corporate.tax@maine.gov 
efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
 
efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
income.tax@maine.gov 
fuel.tax@maine.gov 
 
income.tax@maine.gov 
 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
compliance.tax@maine.gov 
 
prop.tax@maine.gov 
 
sales.tax@maine.gov 
taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
 
withholding.tax@maine.gov 
 


