
                MAINE TAX ALERT 
A Publication of Maine Revenue Services for Tax Professionals

Volume 11, No. 2 August 2001

Public Communications Tel: (207) 287-6838

Individual Income Tax Legislative Summary

Quality Child Care Credits. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-Q. Quality child care means care provided at a child care site
that meets minimum licensing standards; is accredited by an independent, nationally recognized program approved
by DHS, Office of Head Start and Child Care; utilizes recognized quality indicators for child care services approved
by DHS, Office of Head Start and Child Care; includes provisions for client and parent input, a review of the
provider’s policies, procedures and program records, and an on-site program review. See definition in L.D. 617,
Part NNN, Section 6, pg. 286 [§ 5219-Q, sub-§ 1]. The following Quality Child Care Credits apply to tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2001 See L.D. 617; P.L. 1999, c. 401, Pt. NNN.

Note: All items below apply to individuals; items “A” and “C” also apply to corporations and franchise taxes.

A. Employer-assisted Day Care Credit. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5217. The allowable credit under this section doubles if
the day care provided constitutes quality child care. See L.D. 617; P.L. 1999, c. 401, Pt. NNN.

B. Individual credit for child care expenses. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5218. The allowable credit under this section
doubles if the child care expenses paid were for quality child care. The credit is refundable up to $500. See L.D.
617; P.L. 1999, c. 401, Pt. NNN.

C. Quality Child Care Investment Credit. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-Q. Corporate taxpayers making certified
investments in quality child care services qualify for a credit equal to 30% of up to $30,000 in eligible
expenditures. Individual taxpayers that make certified investments and expend at least $10,000 during the tax
year qualify for a credit equal to $1,000 each year for 10 years, plus $10,000 at the end of the 10-year period.
The credit is nonrefundable. Any unused credit amount may be carried forward until exhausted. The Maine
Department of Human Services, Office of Head Start and Child Care must certify eligible investments. See L.D.
617; P.L. 1999, c. 401, Pt. NNN. See also L.D. 2524; P.L. 1999, c. 708.

Quality Child Care Credit provisions. The requirement that the State Controller transfer funds from the Fund for
a Healthy Maine to the General Fund to cover lost revenue due to the quality child care credit provisions is repealed.
Also repealed is the requirement for the State Treasurer to certify to the Legislature that sufficient funds are
available in the Fund for a Healthy Maine to fund all allocations and authorized transfers relative to the quality child
care credit provisions. Effective June 4, 2001. See L.D. 300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. D, p. 206.

Individual income tax rate schedules. 36 M.R.S.A. §§ 5111, 5402 & 5403. The manner of adjusting the
individual income tax rate schedules has been changed. The rate schedules for tax years beginning in 2001 and
2002 are established by statute. The rate schedules for 2001 are the same as those in effect for 2000. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the rate schedules will be adjusted for the full value of the cost-of-living
adjustment; under prior law, the schedules were adjusted for inflation only if the rate of inflation exceeded 3.5%.
Also, the annual adjustment determined each September will now apply to tax years beginning in the subsequent
calendar year; previously, the adjusted schedules applied retroactively to tax years beginning in the same calendar
year in which the adjustments were made. See L.D. 2510, P.L. 1999, c. 731, Pt T.

High-technology Credit: High-technology activity. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M. The definition of high-technology
activity is changed to eliminate the following: 1) electronic communications services; 2) support access to



electronic media; 3) data and associated communications support; and 4) advanced telecommunications capability.
The definition is, however, amended to include advanced telecommunications services. Applies to tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2001. See L.D. 300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. M, pp. 244-245.

High-technology Credit: Eligible equipment. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M. Eligible equipment must now be used
primarily in high-technology activity in order to qualify for the credit. Additionally, if eligible equipment is used in
wire line telecommunications, it must be capable of transmitting data at 200 kilobits or more per second in at least
one direction. If eligible equipment is used in wireless telecommunications, it must be capable of transmitting data
at 42 kilobits or more per second in at least one direction. Eligible equipment includes computer equipment,
electronics components and accessories, communications equipment, and computer software placed into service in
Maine. Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001. See L.D. 300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. M, p. 245.

High-technology Credit: Limitation. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001,
the credit, including carryover amounts, may not be used to reduce the taxpayer’s net tax liability after all other
credits (except the Family Development Account Contribution Credit and the Super Credit for substantially
increased research and development) by more than $100,000 in any one year. In addition, the credit may not reduce
the tax liability below that of the previous year after all other credits and may not reduce the tax liability of the
current year to below zero. See L.D. 300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. M, p. 246.

High-technology Credit: Carryover. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M. Generally, unused credit amounts may be carried
forward for up to five taxable years. However, unused credits for tax years ending prior to January 1, 2001 may be
carried forward for up to ten taxable years if the unused credit amount relates to equipment meeting the definition
for eligible equipment in effect for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001. The amount carried forward in
accordance with this rule that may be used in any one tax year is limited to $100,000. However, if the taxpayer’s
investment credit base for the taxable year is less than $100,000, the amount of the carryforward that may be used in
any one tax year is $100,000 plus the difference between $100,000 and the taxpayer’s investment credit base for the
taxable year, but not more than $200,000. The total credit claimed, however, may not reduce the tax liability below
that of the previous year after all other credits and may not reduce the tax liability of the current year to below zero.
Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001. See L.D. 300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. M, p. 247.

Sawmill Biomass Credit. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-T. This credit is repealed, retroactive to August 11, 2000. See L.D.
300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. O, §§ O-1 & O-6, pp. 248-249.

Pension benefits income deduction: Military pensions. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5122(2)(M). Military pension benefits are
now fully deductible up to $6,000. Military pension benefits include benefits received as a result of service in the
active or reserve components of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast Guard. Other employer-sponsored
pension benefits are deductible up to $6,000 less any social security or railroad retirement benefits received during
the taxable year. Individuals receiving both a military pension and other eligible pension benefit may claim a total
pension deduction of not more than $6,000. Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001. See L.D.
300; P.L. 2001, c. 358, Pt. CC, pp. 269-270.

Pension benefits income deduction: Primary recipient. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5122(2)(M). The law clarifies that only
the primary recipient of eligible pension benefits qualifies for the pension deduction. Applies to tax years beginning
on or after January 1, 2001. See L.D. 1613; P.L. 2001, c. 396, § 34.

Seller-sponsored loans. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5122(2)(A). Taxpayers may no longer subtract interest received from
seller-sponsored loans. A seller-sponsored loan is a loan made by a seller of agricultural land to a person who
continues to use the land for commercial agricultural purposes. Effective September 20, 2001. See L.D. 803; P.L.
2001, c. 177.

1984 income addition offset. 36 M.R.S.A. §§ 5122(2)(D) and 5200-A(2)(E). The deduction that allowed taxpayers
to recover a 1984 income addition related to federal deductions for certain depreciable property is repealed. The
negative modification was available for tax years 1985-87 only. Effective September 20, 2001. See LD #803; P.L.
2001, c. 177.
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Holocaust victims’ settlements. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5122(2)(O). Settlement payments received by Holocaust victims
are exempt from Maine individual income tax to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income. A Holocaust
victim is an individual who died, lost property, or was a victim of persecution between January 1, 1929 and
December 31, 1945 in Nazi Germany or in any European country allied with or occupied by Nazi Germany. A
Holocaust victim includes the spouse or descendent of a Holocaust victim. The exemption applies only to the first
taxpayer (the Holocaust victim or the spouse or descendent of the Holocaust victim) receiving a Holocaust victim
settlement payment. A settlement payment eligible for the exemption includes: 1) payment as a result of the
taxpayer’s status as a Holocaust victim; 2) payment as a result of the settlement of a Holocaust-related claim; or 3)
interest on any settlement payment accumulated through the date of payment. Applies to tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2001. See L.D. 855; P.L. 2001, c. 439, Pt KK, pp. 164-165.

Seed Capital Tax Credit. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-B. Temporary changes recently made to the credit are made
permanent. These changes include: 1) increasing the percentage of invested cash eligible for a credit certificate
from 30% to 40%; 2) authorizing the Finance Authority of Maine (“FAME”) to issue advance credit certificates up
to 20% of cash investments in, or unconditionally committed to, private venture capital funds; 3) capping the
aggregate investment in any one business from any one private venture capital fund at $1,000,000; 4) capping at
$200,000 the aggregate investment made by any one investor in any one business that is eligible for a tax credit
certificate; 5) increasing the gross sales limit of eligible businesses from $2,000,000 to $3,000,000 for purposes of
investments that are eligible for a tax credit certificate; 6) clarifying that investments from a private venture capital
fund by a principal owner and the principal owner’s spouse and relatives do not qualify for a credit certificate on the
investments in that business; 7) limiting the credit to investment amounts representing not more than 50% ownership
in an eligible business; and 8) clarifying that the owners of flow-through entities (partnerships, S corporations,
LLCs, nontaxable trusts, etc.) are considered the investors for investments made by the flow-through entity in
private venture capital funds. Three additional changes are made: 1) the aggregate amount available for the credit is
increased to $12,000,000 ($8,000,000 through calendar year 2001; $10,000,000 through calendar year 2002;
$11,000,000 through calendar year 2003; and $12,000,000 thereafter); 2) the timing for claiming the credit is
lengthened from 50% in each of two years to 15% for each of the first six years (beginning with the year the credit
certificate is issued) and 10% in year seven; and 3) FAME is required to report to the legislature in January 2002 and
2003 regarding the dollar value, number of certificates awarded, and location of businesses receiving eligible
investments. Applies to tax credit certificates issued on or after September 20, 2001 and to eligible investments
made on or after that date. See L.D. 1298; P.L. 2001, c. 446.

Credit for dependent health benefits paid. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-O. The law clarifies that employers with fewer
than five employees qualify for the dependent health benefits credit. Previously, only employers with fewer than
five low-income employees qualified for the credit. The credit is based on the benefits paid for low-income
employees. See L.D. 1613; P.L. 2001, c. 396, § 39.

The next issue of the Tax Alert will have detailed explanation of the changes in the Business Equipment Tax
Reimbursement Program (BETR). For other legislative changes please go to our website and click on the icon for
tax law changes for the 1st regular session of the 120th Legislature.

E-Mail Replaces USPS Mail

In an effort to expedite the distribution and reduce the overhead cost of the Tax Alert and other
informational releases Maine Revenue Service is focusing on the use of e-mail. We will be asking that
you sign up at our web site for automatic notification of the posting of the Tax Alert and other
informational releases. We expect that at year-end we will discontinue mailing out the Tax Alert. We
would like to thank you for your cooperation and solicit any suggestions that you may have concerning
how we may better serve your State of Maine tax information needs.
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MAINE REVENUE SERVICES: http://www.state.me.us/revenue
…..Order tax forms through the Web site……..

Suggestions for the Tax Alert?
Please contact: Public Communications

Department

Taxpayer Service Center
Central Registration
Collections & Compliance
Corporate Tax
Electronic Funds Transfer
Estate Tax
Fuel Tax
Forms Request Line
Income Tax Assistance
Insurance Premium Tax
Paym't Plan/Income Tax
Payment Plan/Other
Practitioners' Hotline
Property Tax
Public Communications
Sales Tax
Taxpayer Advocate
TTY Service
Withholding Tax

Telephone Numbers

(207) 287-2076
(207) 287-2338
(207) 624-9595
(207) 624-9670
(207) 287-8276
(207) 626-8480
(207) 624-9745
(207) 624-7894
(207) 626-8475
(207) 624-9582
(207) 621-4300
(207) 624-9595
(207) 626-8458
(207) 287-2011
(207) 287-6838
(207) 287-2336
(207) 624-9649
(207) 287-4477
(207) 626-8475

FAX Numbers

(207) 287-5855
(207) 287-3733
(207) 287-6627
(207) 287-6627
(207) 287-6965
(207) 624-9694
(207) 287-6628
(207) 622-3517
(207) 624-9694
(207) 624-9694
(207) 621-4328
(207) 287-6627
(207) 624-9694
(207) 287-6396
(207) 287-3618
(207) 287-6628
(207) 624-9694

-------
(207) 624-9694

E-mail Addresses

tax_compliance@state.me.us
corporate_tax@state.me.us
electronic_funds_transfer@state.me.us
income_estate_tax@state.me.us
sales_tax@state.me.us

income_estate_tax@state.me.us

property_tax@state.me.us

sales_tax@state.me.us
abandoned_property@state.me

withholding_tax@state.me.us
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general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and
procedure. The articles in this newsletter are not
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or regulations.
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