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The 118th Maine Legidature adjourned on April Sth.
Hereisasummary of selected tax-related law changes:

1. Homestead Exemption. The annual budget hill
enacted by the Legidature and signed by Governor King
(Legidative Document 1950; Public Law 643) contained
significant tax relief for Maine homeowners; residents of
this state who have owned a primary residence in this
state for the preceding 12 months are entitled to a
property tax exemption of up to $7,000 of the value of
their home. The program is administered on the local
level. Thisexemption isin addition to any other
property tax exemption, such as the veteran exemption.
Note: the homestead exemption does not apply to renters
(some of whom are able to take advantage of the Maine
Residents Property Tax Program, known as the "circuit
breaker program).

2. Income tax personal exemption. P.L. 643 aso
increases the personal exemption amount in the
individual income tax law. For income tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998 but before January
1, 1999, a Maine resident is allowed $2,400 for each
exemption to which the individual is entitled for federa
income tax purposes. For income tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 1999, the exemption amount is
$2,750.

3. "Anti-browsing." The Legidature enacted a provision
proposed by Executive Director Brian Mahany that
makes it unlawful for any employee of Maine Revenue
Services to inspect or examine atax return, or any
information obtained from atax return, for any purpose
other than the performance of officia duties. This
mirrors asimilar law enacted at the federal level last year
as part of the Taxpayer Browsing Protection Act of
1997.

4. Health benefit credit. L.D. 1931 (P.L. 775) enacts
Title 36 M.R.S.A. "5219-0O, which provides an income
tax credit for certain small businesses that provide

comprehensive health benefits for employees and their
dependents. The credit applies to tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 1999.

5. ETIF. L.D. 1923 (P.L. 766) makes severa changes
to the Employment Tax Increment Financing ("ETIF")
statute. Most significantly, a higher reimbursement
percentage (75% of withholding taxes) is now provided
to employers located in areas with extremely high
unemployment rates (those with labor market
unemployment rates greater than 12 times the state
unemployment rate).

6. Fuel tax statutes. Several changes were made by
L.D. 1748 (P.L. 738) to Maine's fuel excise tax laws.
First, fuel that has been color-dyed pursuant to federa
regulations will now be exempt from the fuel tax (though
not from the sales and use tax). Secondly, specific
allowances are provided for stock losses or "shrinkage"
of both gasoline (maximum of 2 of 1%) and special fuel
(maximum of 3 of 1%), provided that satisfactory
documentation of the loss is provided to the state.
Finaly, fuel terminals will for the first time be required
to submit reports to Maine Revenue Services detailing
purchases and sales of fuel.

7. "High-tech credit." Severa changes were made to the
"high-tech" income tax credit enacted in the spring of
1997:

e Only persons engaged "primarily” in high-tech
activities qualify for the credit.

e Section 5219-M, sub-"1, &B has been amended to
provide that the "investment credit base” of
eligible equipment must be adjusted for
depreciation as of the date the equipment was first
placed in service in Maine.

e Subsections 2 and 3 of the credit have been
repealed; anew sub-"1-A enacted, which states
how the credit applies to both purchasers and
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lessorg/leassees of dligible equipment. Basicaly,
a person that leases and uses eligible equipment
may claim a credit in the amount of lease
payments made on the equipment in each tax year,
except that if the equipment is depreciable for
federal income tax purposes, the credit is based on
the investment credit base. A lessor may claim a
credit in the amount of the investment base, net of
any lease payments received for the equipment in
the taxable year, provided that the state is
presented with satisfactory evidence that the lessee
has waived its right to claim the credit.

e Finadly, sub-"6 has been amended to provide that
the combined return rules outlined in that
subsection apply in carryforward years.

8. Financia institution franchise tax. Maine's financial
institution franchise tax (Title 36 M.R.S.A. "5206 et
seg.) was amended to clarify that al financial
ingtitutions, including pass-through entities, must file
franchise tax returns. Income derived from an ownership
interest in afinancial institution is not picked up by the
individual or corporate incometax. These changes apply
retroactively to tax years beginning on or after January
1, 1997.

9. "Hay tax." A new sales tax exemption was enacted
for sales of hay and of organic bedding materials for
farm animals.

10. BETR. Reimbursement under the Business
Equipment Tax Reimbursement ("BETR") program is
now prohibited for natural gas pipelines and for property
used to produce or transmit energy primarily for sale.
Reimbursement to a congeneration facility is generaly
limited to proportion of the energy used directly by an
associated manufacturing facility. (L.D. 2297, P.L. 729).

11. Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit Program. This
credit has been expanded in several ways. (L.D. 2196,
P.L.782; L.D. 2088, P.L. 774). Seethelegidation or
contact Finance Authority of Maine (FAME).

12. Miscellaneous changes:

e TRAC leases: Title 10 M.R.S.A., section 1305
has been amended to provide that so-called
"TRAC" leases may be sales for purposes of Title
36.

e EFT pendlty: Title36 M.R.S.A., section 187-B,

subsection 5-A was enacted to provide that any
person that is required to remit taxes by electronic
funds transfer and failsto do soisliable for a
penalty of the lesser of 5% of the tax due or
$5,000. Note: No EFT requirement isin place at
thistime. Maine Revenue Services anticipates
that arule requiring certain taxpayers to file and
pay by EFT will be promulgated later this year,
with an effective date of January 1, 1999.

Watercraft sold to nonresidents: Title 36
M.R.S.A. 1760 sub-* 25 was amended to clarify
that the sale in Maine of awatercraft to a
nonresident does not incur asales or use tax if the
watercraft is merely temporarily stored in this
dtate after its purchase, even if it is so stored for
more than 30 days.

Estimated tax payments: Title 36 M.R.SA.,
5228, sub-"2 was amended to increase the
threshold for payment of estimated income tax
from $500 to $1,000 in order to match the federal
threshold. Note: the federal threshold affects
individuals only; this state change affects both
corporate and individual taxpayers. Also, this
change is not effective until tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 1999.

Limitation of salestax exemption for federa
government instrumentalities: Title 36 M.R.S.A.,
1760, sub-*"2 has been amended to provide that
certain Farm Credit corporations organized under
federal law do not qualify for sales tax exemption.

"Clean fuels' legidation: Public Law 791 was
enacted to create a partial sales tax exemption for
that portion of the price of a"clean fuel vehicle"
that exceeds the price of an otherwise identical
vehicle powered by gasoline. The bill aso allows
an income tax credit equal to a percentage of
expenditures paid for the development of
infrastructure relating to the sale of clean fuels
(compressed or liquefied natural gas, hydrogen,
electricity, etc.). The credit may not exceed the
tax liability for income that is earned by the
taxpayer from the sale of clean fuels sold for use
in motor vehicles. Both the income tax credit and
the sales tax exemption become effective on
January 1, 1999 and expire at the end of 2005.
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POLICY CHANGE FOR NONRESIDENTS

Bureau policy regarding deferred compensation received
by a nonresident Maine taxpayer has changed. Deferred
compensation received by a nonresident in the form of an
annuity is now exempt from Maine income tax. Rule
806 will be changed to stipulate that deferred
compensation received by a nonresident after termination
of employment in Maine is exempt from Maine income
tax. This change is being made to conform to federal
law regarding state taxation of retirement income
received by anonresident. The change is effective
immediately and is retroactive to tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 1996.

RULE 803

Maine Revenue Servicesis proposing several changes to
Rule 803, which governs withholding of Maine income
tax from wages and other payments. Theruleisbeing
amended to make the following changes:

1. To react to achangein federal withholding
allowances. The IRS changed the Federal Form
W-4 effective January 1, 1998 to allow employees
to claim withholding alowances for the new child
credit allowed in US income tax law. Since Maine
withholding is currently based on the number of
allowances claimed for federal withholding and
since Maine does not alow a similar credit, an
employee claiming withholding allowances for the
new credit could experience under withholding for
Maine. Thisamendment requires the employer to
reduce the number of allowances used to compute
Maine withholding by the number the employeeis
claiming for the new federal child credit.

2. Torequire the employer to keep a copy of the
Persona Allowances Worksheet for the Federal
Form W-4 in the employer's payrall files as
support for the number of alowances used to
compute the Maine withholding.

3. Toadd aprovison for the "Personal Withholding
Exemption Variance Certificate” to be obtained
from the Executive Director of Maine Revenue
Services by an employee who wishesto claim a
number of Maine withholding allowances that
exceeds the number of federal withholding
allowances the employee claims.

4. To change referencesto "State Tax Assessor” to
"Executive Director" or "director".

5. To make various non-substantive editorial
changes.

ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER

Maine Revenue Servicesis proposing to issue anew rule
regarding electronic funds transfer (EFT). Rule 102
would cover eectronic collection of taxes pursuant to
authorizing legidation found at 36 M.R.S.A. "193.
Major components of the rule are:

A. Definitions of specific electronic funds transfer
terminology and available el ectronic funds transfer
methods;

B. Mandates stated in "193 and guidelines for
voluntary EFT participation;

C. Technica information;

D. Procedura information;

E. Guiddinesto consider regarding abatement of
penalties; and

F. Information on problem resolution.

Theruleisintended to benefit taxpayers in a number of
ways, foremost by reducing tax filing requirements
whenever possible. Additionally, Maine Revenue
Servicesis able to serve taxpayers by providing efficient
and convenient eectronic payment mechanisms. An
added benefit of electronic funds transfers is an audit
trail that allows Maine Revenue Services to research
electronic payments quickly and easily. The Rule defines
specific guidelines to consider regarding abatement of
penalties for failure to pay if the taxpayer can
demonstrate a good faith effort to make an EFT payment
and satisfy an underpayment in atimely manner in both
the ACH Debit and Credit method programs.

Maine Revenue Services and the state benefit by
increased funds going directly from taxpayer bank
accounts to state depository accounts due to mandates
contained in the Rule. Manua payment processing is
significantly reduced due to an automated EFT
processing system that directly transfer payment-related
data to taxpayer accounts and provides revenue figures.
Once again, because of avery good audit trail, Maine
Revenue Services is able to expedite problem resolution
concerning EFT payments by providing problem
resolution guidelinesin the Rule.
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The state will examine payment histories during a remit funds by EFT. For answersto questions regarding
"lookback period” in order to determine which taxpayers  the proposed rule, call Paula Cole at (207) 287-8276.
have tax liabilities substantial enough to be required to
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MAINE REVENUE SERVICES http://janus.state.me.us/revenue

...Order tax formsthrough the WebPage?...YES!

SUGGESTIONSFOR TAX ALERT?

Please contact:

Maine Revenue Services
Public Communications Dir ector

24 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0024

TAX QUESTIONS? PLEASE CONTACT US:

STATE OF MAINE

Angus S. King, Governor

Janet E. Waldron, Commissioner

Administrative and Financial
Services

Brian H. Mahany, Executive Director

Maine Revenue Services
Central Registration
Collections & Compliance
Corporate Tax

Electronic Funds Transfer
Estate Tax

Excise Tax

Forms Request Line
Income Tax Assistance
Paym't Plans/Income Tax
Payment Plans/ Other
Practitioners Hotline
Property Tax

Sales Tax

Taxpayer Advocate

TTY Service
Withholding Tax

(207)287-2076
(207)287-2338
(207)287-3301
(207)287-3301
(207)287-8276
(207)626-8480
(207)287-3851
(207)624-7894
(207)626-8475
(207)621-4300
(207)287-3301
(207)626-8458
(207)287-2011
(207)287-2336
(207)287-4562
(207)287-4477
(207)626-8475

FAX (207) 287-4028
FAX (207) 287-3733
FAX (207) 287-6627
FAX (207) 287-6627
FAX (207) 287-6396
FAX (207) 287-4028
FAX (207) 287-6628
FAX (207) 622-3517
FAX (207) 287-4028
FAX (207) 621-4328
FAX (207) 287-4028
FAX (207) 287-4028
FAX (207) 287-6396
FAX (207) 287-6628
FAX (207) 287-6627

FAX (207) 287-4028
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