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1996 TAX RATES AND EXEMPTION AMOUNTS
State of Maine - Individual Income T ax
1996 I nflation Factor is.992

Note: SincetheInflation Factor islessthan 1.000, no adjustments have been madein the tax rate schedule dollar
bracket amount and the personal exemption amount (seeN3&RSA Sec.5403)

Do not use these tax rate schedules to determine income tax withholding from wages.

Tax Rate Schedule #1
For Single Individuals and Married Persons Filing Separ ate Returns

If thetaxableincomeis: Thetax is:

Lessthan $4,150 2.0% of thetaxableincome
$ 4,150 but lessthan $8,250 $ 83 plus 4.5% of excessover $ 4,150
$ 8,250 but lessthan $16,500 $ 268 plus 7.0% of excessover $ 8,250
$ 16,500 or more $ 846 plus 8.5% of excess over $16,500

Tax Rate Schedule #2
For Unmarried or Legally Separated I ndividuals who Qualify as Heads-of-Households

If thetaxableincomeis: Thetax is:

Lessthan $6,200 2.0% of thetaxableincome
$ 6,200 but lessthan 92,400 $ 124 plus 4.5% of excessover $ 6,200
$ 12,400 but lessthan £4,750 $ 403 plus 7.0% of excessover $ 12,400
$ 24,750 or more $ 1,268 plus 8.5% of excessover $ 24,750

Tax Rate Schedule #3
For Married Individuals and Surviving Spouses Filing Joint Returns

If thetaxableincomeis: Thetax is:

Lessthan $8,250 2.0% of thetaxableincome
$ 8,250 but lessthan 96,500 $ 165 plus 4.5% of excessover $ 8,250
$ 16,500 but lessthan $3,000 $ 536 plus 7.0% of excessover $ 16,500
$ 33,000 or more $ 1,691 plus 8.5% of excessover $ 33,000

Personal Exemption Amount:  $2,100
Standard Deduction:  Single - $4,000 Married Filing Jointly - $6,700
Head-of-Household - $5,900  Married Filing Separate - $3,350
Additional Amount for Age or Blindness:
Married (whether filingjointly or separately) or a qualified surviving spouse$ 800

One spouse 65 or overand blind $ 1,600
Both spouses 65 or over $ 1,600
Both spouses 65 or overand blind $ 3,200
Not Married (whether single or head-of-household) $1,000
Individual 65 or overand blind $ 2,000

Note: If taxpayer can be claimed as a dependent on another person'sreturn, the standard deduction isthe
greater of $650 or earned income up to the standard deduction amount.



FORMS ORDERING

You will seethat the annual order form for Maine tax formsisincluded in thisissue. Thisyear, in addition to tax
forms, we are offering two reference publications. The Reference Guide to Maine Sales and Use Tax was written
by Peter Beaulieu, Director of the Sales and Excise Tax Divison and his staff for the 1996 Sales and Use Tax
Seminars. We are pleased to make this available for purchase for accountants and taxpayers who were unable to
attend the seminars. The Mainetax code, 36 MRSA, is available unbound and 3-hole punched, ready for a 8 1/2" x
10" binder.

AMENDED RULE:NON-RESIDENTINCOME TAX

Maine individual income tax Rule 806 provides income tax guidance for nonresidents of Maine asto types of income
subject to taxation, deduction of losses, apportionment of incometo Maine. The rule also specifies the return form
to be used and clarifies the determination of taxable income for spouses filing as single individuals and the
determination of tax creditsfor spousesfiling as single individuals.

The rule is being amended to clarify several points and to incorporate changes required by changes in federal tax
law. For non-residents with Maine sourced income, other than those operating a business, thereisnow a threshold
provison. Under thisnew section of the rule, the non-resident performing personal servicein Maineis not taxed in
Maine unless working in Maine for more than 20 days or earning more than $6,000 in Maine gross income. The
definition of personal service income is explained as including taxable benefits such as annual and sick leave.
Unemployment compensation received by a nonresident that is derived from employment in Maineis Maine sourced
income. A new section has been added to clarify apportionment of income or lossto Maine, including business losses
and examples of personal service income approportioned by number of work days. Recently enacted federal law
required that we add to income not subject to Maine income tax, deferred compensation paid in the form of an
annuity. Previously, deferred compensation was taxableto M aine under some cir cumstances.

Thisrule change and the following new rule are making their way through the required rule making process. Soon,
you will be able to refer to the Bureau's webpage at http://www.state me.usitaxation for copies of this and other
rules.

NEW RULE: TAX AND RENT PROGRAM

For the first time, there is a proposed rule providing guidance on dligibility for the tax and rent refund program:
Rule No. 901, Maine Residents Property Tax Program. The rule interprets and expands upon the statutory
definitions and provides sample stuations to illustrate how the law and the rule are applied to applicants for the
program. The definitions of claimant, homestead, household, property taxes accrued, income and rent constituting
property taxes accrued are likely to be a help to practitioners who are assisting their clients in applying for the
program. Theruleisnow in the required notice sage. At the end of the required rule making process, Rule 901
will be posted on the Bureau'webpage. It will also be available on paper.

COMBINED UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AND WITHHOLDING TAX FORM Effective January 1, 1997
From August 20 through August 28, the Maine Bureau of Taxation and the Maine Department of Labor presented
seminars in different parts of the state to introduce the combined form for reporting of Maine state income tax
withholding and unemployment insurance contributions. The meetings in Augusta, Portland, Orono and Presque
Ide were well attended with over 100 participants in mogt locations. The new filing and payment procedure is
intended to reduce the compliance burden on employers and make it easier to do businessin Maine.

The seminars have provided both Taxation and Labor with valuable suggestions for changes in the proposed
combined form. The audience at all of the seminars showed a great deal of interest in magnetic media filing
opportunities both for employeelistsand for tleenbinedform.



One concern that we must answer here is the following: All Fourth Quarter '96 filings in January follow past law.
The new law covers tax withheld and contributions as of January 1, 1997 and filings associated with that tax and
those contributions.

PORT OF ENTRY USE TAX AUDITS

The Bureau of Taxation is continuing to enhance use tax enforcement efforts through the use of U.S. Customs port
of entry data. Each U.S. resdent or U.S. family files a declaration with U.S. Customs at the port of entry when
returning from another country. The Bureau of Taxation has for many years received data from U.S. Customs
from the customs declar ations collected at many ports of entry.

Maine residents purchasing goods outside of Maine for use in Maine may be liable for use tax in Maine. If the
resdent can show proof that the local tax was paid when the goods are purchased, then there is not a use tax
obligation when the goods are used in Maine. In Canada, for instance, both Quebec and New Brunswick charge a
provincial tax in addition to the national goods and services tax (the GST). Refunds of provincial tax may be
available to non-residents who apply for the refund. New Brunswick does not provide refunds to out of province
residents.

Purchases made for use in Maine are also exempt from Maine use tax if the circumstances of the sale would be
classed asa " casual sale" under Maine law.

Some examples of the types of goods which become subject to M aine use tax when purchased outside of the United
States and brought into Maine for usein Maine arethe following:

- boat motors

- furniture and kitchen cabinets
- lumber

- lawnmowers

Farm equipment is taxable in Maine unless it falls under the exemption granted for agricultural equipment.
Prefabricated and modular homes ar e taxed on 50% of the value of the purchase.

It may bethat some Maine residents do not have to worry about use tax liability, as the burden of collecting the tax
may fall upon the sdller. Foreign businesses, whether out of state or out of country, delivering personal property
into Maine, should beregistered for salestax in Maine and should be collecting M aine sales tax at point of sale.

Currently, the Maine Bureau of Taxation is contacting many Maine resdents who have purchased goods and
brought them back to Maine for use here. Thefirst letter merely seeks information on the purchase, asthere are
many circumstance which would show that the resident did not have a Maine use tax aobligation resulting from the
purchase and importation of the goods. Subsequent letters assess use tax based upon the information the Bureau
has on file. At that point, the taxpayer isunder a dim time limit to pay the tax or show why the assessment is not
applicable.

1996 TAX PRACTITIONER INSTITUTES

Maine tax professonals will soon be receiving an invitation from SCORE to attend the 1996 Tax Practitioner
Ingtitutes. This year, the Internal Revenue Service and the Maine Bureau of Taxation will speak during the
morning sesson. The afternoon part of the course will include four sessons. The Ingtitutes will be in Caribou on
October 29, Augusta on November 5, Bangor on November 19 and Portland on November 26. The Augusta
SCORE officeisorganizing these I nsitutes again this year.



OCTOBER TAX MEETINGS

The Thomas College Tax and Accounting Seminar will be held on October 18, 1996 at Thomas College in
Waterville. The Maine Merchants Association will hold their Annual Members meeting on October 23, 1996 with
an afternoon session with speakers from the Bureau of Taxation and other state regulating agencies. The Bureau
of Taxation is also participating in the regulatory panes for the Governor's Regional Conferences on Small
Business. The Conferences scheduled for October are October 28 for the Bangor Region and October 30 for the
Androscoggin County. You can contact the local Chambers of Commerce for more information. You can call (207)
947-0307 in Bangor and (207) 783-2249in L ewiston.
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