MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE

353 Water Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333-0041 Phone 207-287-5261 - www. maine.gov/ifw

Application to Conduct a One Day Bass Tournament on Maine and New Hampshire Border Waters

Application Cost: \$52.00 for Weigh-in Tournament \$12.00 Catch, Measure, Release Tourn	nament		
Type of application: □ Weigh-in, choose one: □ Open © Catch, Measure, Release □ Notification of Youth Event (CM			
Bass Club Name:			
Bass Club Representative Name:			
Address (Street and Apt # or PO Box)			
City, State, Zip Code:	_	_	_
Telephone:Email Address:			
Date of Tournament:	Hours:	AM to	PM
Waterbody Name:	Town:		
Weigh-in Location:			
 All applicants must provide a notarized affidavit (listing of club officers and members (with contact members who have participated in an aquatic platendorsed by the Maine Department of Environme Each tournament requires at least two aquatic plateraining endorsed by MDEP within the last five ye The 3rd Saturday in July is loon count; no tournam 9:00 AM; See reverse side of application for definitions and 	information), w nt and livewell in ntal Protection (ant and livewell i ars; ents will be allow	thich indicates an expection trainity (MDEP) within the expectors, that wed to start ass	it least two ng program he last five years; have completed
Signature of Bass Club Representative	Date		
NOTE: It is a Class E crime to obtain a permit through fraud MRSA Section 10757)	, misstatement o	r misrepresenta	ation (Title 12

Please make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine. Mail completed application, along with check to: Fisheries Division, Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0041.

Phone: 207-287-5261

Definition of a Bass Club

Phone: 207-287-5261

For purposes of determining eligibility to apply for a permit to conduct a one-day bass tournament, a "bass club" is defined as any organized group of five or more bass anglers which is able to satisfy one of the following criteria.,

- 1. Provide current documentation of being a member club in Bass Anglers Sportsmen Society (BASS), Northeast Bass Association (NEBA) or other nationally recognized bass fishing organization; or
- 2. Provide a current listing of club officers and members along with a signed affidavit affirming that the group, although not affiliated with any nationally recognized bass fishing organization, is a bona-fide independent fishing club.

Rules Pertaining to Bass Tournaments on Maine and New Hampshire Border Waters

- 1. In Weigh-In tournaments, all bass caught shall be kept on a water-circulating live-well with the intent to keep the retained bass alive. All bass entered for the weigh-in at bass tournaments shall be released unharmed into the same water body where caught as follows: in lakes and ponds, not less than 300 feet away from the shoreline; in rivers at mid-channel not less than 300 feet away from the weigh-in site. Boats designated by the bass tournament sponsor may hold more than the daily limit of bass solely for the purpose of releasing bass after weigh-in.
- 2. The daily limit shall be 2 bass per participant from April 1 to May 14 with no minimum length or weight limit. The daily limit shall be 5 bass per participant from July 1 to November 30 with no minimum length or weight limit.
- 3. There will be no more than ten weigh-in tournaments on any water greater than 500 acres, only four of which may be open tournaments.
- 4. All other existing State laws and rules pertaining to CMR and weigh-in tournaments which are not modified herein continue to apply to Maine and New Hampshire Border water tournaments. (e.g. maximum number of boats, maximum prize values, etc.)