
MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE 
284 State Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333 
Phone 207-287-8000 / Fax 207-287-8094 

January 2020 

 
APPLICATION FOR WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION  

In accordance with the provisions of the Revised Statutes, Title 12, section 13056(2) 
 
New Registration: _____ Renewal: _____ Duplicate: _____ Info Change: _____ Transfer: _____ (Reg # transferred from) __________ 
 
Temporary (Expires 90 Days of Issue Date): _____ Milfoil Upgrade: _____  
 
Name: _______________________________________________________________________ Date of Birth: ___________________  
   First   Last   MI 
Gender: ______ Eyes: ________ Height: ________ Hair: __________ Weight: _________  Moses ID Number: ___________________ 
 
Physical Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
      Street or Road                        City or Town   Zip Code 
 
Driver’s License State: __________________________________________ Driver’s License Number: __________________________  
 
Legal Residence: _________________________________________________________________ Phone: ______________________ 
    City or Town    State  

 
Boat Horse Power: 0-10HP: _____ Over 10 to 50HP: _____ 50 to 115HP: _____ 116HP and Over: _____ PWC _____ 
 
Make: ____________________________________Year: ____________ Horsepower: ____________ Color: ____________________ 
 
Hull Identification Number: _____________________________________________  
 
WATERCRAFT TYPE: Open: _____ Cabin: _____ Aux Sail: _____ Paddle Craft: _____ Houseboat: _____ Pontoon: _____ PWC: _____ 
Air Boat: _____ Inflatable: _____ Other: _____ 
HULL TYPE: Wood: _____ Fiberglass: _____ Aluminum: _____ Rubber/Vinyl/Canvas: _____ Plastic: _____ Steel: _____ Other: _____ 
FUEL TYPE: Gas: _____ Diesel: _____ Electric: _____ Other: _____ WATER: Fresh: _____ Salt: _____ Both: _____ 
ENGINE DRIVE: Outboard: _____ Inboard: _____ Stern: _____ Pod: _____ Other: _____ 
PIMARY OPERATION: Pleasure: _____ Commercial Fish: _____ Charter Fish: _____ Commercial Passenger: _____ Rental: _____  
Dealer: ____ Manufacturing: _____Other: _____ Propulsion: Air: _____ Propeller: _____ Water Jet: _____ Other: _____ 

 
Resident Applicants: Boat excise tax must be paid by a resident to the appropriate town office prior to registration.  
Non-Resident: A non-resident prior to registering a motor boat, which is located in Maine more than 75 days during a calendar year, 
must pay excise tax at the appropriate town office where the boat is principally moored, docked or located. If the boat is exempt 
from tax, a tax exemption form must be completed by the owner and submitted with the registration application and registration 
fee. This form is available on the Department’s website under the forms page.  
Registration Fees as of January 1, 2020: 
0-10HP Motor-$31.00 with lake & river protection stickers    ($16 without lake & river protection stickers) 
11-50HP Motor-$36.00 with lake & river protection stickers    ($21 without lake & river protection stickers) 
51-115HP Motor-$42.00 with lake & river protection stickers   ($27 without lake & river protection stickers) 
116HSP or Higher-$50.00 with lake & river protection stickers    ($35 without lake & river protection stickers) 
Personal Watercraft-$50.00 with lake & river protection stickers   ($35 without lake & river protection stickers) 
Make check or money order payable treasurer state of Maine. Application, documents and payment can be mailed to Inland 
Fisheries and Wildlife, Boat Registration, 284 State Street, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 

The Department Accepts All Major Credit Cards 

Name on Card: __________________________________________ Card Number: __ __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

Expiration Date: __ __ / __ __ Code: __ __ __ 


