STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION & FORESTRY ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM

28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0028

A criminal background check is required by law. Please include \$25.00 (per owner) in addition to the \$100.00 (license fee). Please make checks

ANIMAL SHELTER APPLICATION

payable to Treasurer, State of Maine. Facility Name:_____Non Profit ID:___ Mailing Address: Physical Location/directions:_____ Facility Phone: ______Alternate Phone: _____Opening Date: _____ Email: ______ Veterinarian of Reference: Hours of Operation (*Required for inspection purposes): *Owner Name: First MI Last Maiden Name Nickname Date of Birth:______Drivers License #:_____ *Co-Owner Name:____ First MI Last Maiden Name Nickname Date of Birth: ______Drivers License #:_____ *Director/Manager:__ Last Nickname Maiden Name Date of Birth:______Drivers License #:_____

*7 § 3935. License Prohibited

PHONE: (207) 287-3846

TOLL FREE 1-877-269-9200

The department may not issue a license to maintain a boarding kennel, a breeding kennel or pet shop to a person who, within the 10 years previous to the application for the license, has been convicted of murder, a Class A or B offense, a violation under a Title 17-A, chapter 9, 11, 12 or 13 or a criminal violation under Title 17, chapter 42 or under a criminal law involving cruelty to animal that is no longer in effect or within 10 years previous to the application for the license, has been adjudicated of a civil violation for cruelty to animals under chapter 739 or has been convicted or adjudicated in any other state provincial or federal court of a violation similar to those specified in this section.

EMAIL: Animal.Welfare@maine.gov

FAX: (207) 624-5028

Species of animals your facility will accept:				
Shelter Capacity (available year-round only):	Dog pens:	Cat Pens:		
Reptiles:	Birds:	Small mammals:		
Large Animal Shelter Capacity:				
Horse stalls:	Three-sided run-in:			
Cow stall/run-in:	Pig pen/shelter:			
Poultry:	Other:			
Quarantine Area for New Arrivals				
Please describe your plan for isolating all new arrivals/placements:				
Will you have an area for rabies quarantine?				
Will you accept owner surrender animals?				
Will you accept stray animals?				
From which municipalities will you contract if	so?			

Please attach a copy of the shelter's adoption policy.

Pursuant to 7 § 3913. Procedure for stray dogs

<u>2-B. Adoption policy. Beginning January 1, 2010, to be eligible for reimbursement under subsection 2-A, an animal shelter must have an adoption policy. An adoption policy must provide for a dog to be available for adoption for a minimum of 24 hours except as provided in subsection 6. [2009 NEW]</u>

All laws and rules are available for download at www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal_welfare/forms

WELFARE and I understand tha	at any violations of these rules or a	701: RULES GOVERNING ANIMAL inimal welfare laws will result in susprogram or denial of future license
SALE OF DOGS AND CATS ANT CATS AND TION and I understand that any	and the laws and rules in Chapter 2 ND IMPORTATION OF DOGS AND violations of these rules or animal mits issued by the Animal Welfare p	CATS FOR RESALE OR ADOP- I welfare laws will result in sus-
I certify the information given he	erein to be true and complete to the	e best of my knowledge.
Name (Signature)	Name (Printed)	Date

If Euthanasia is performed, you must be certified with the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry's Animal and Plant Health Division (207)287-3701

^{*} Inspections are performed Monday – Friday during normal business hours