
PPA Administrators: Initial Registration, Annual 
Renewal and Reporting and Material Change or 
Addition 
In order to offer a Preferred Provider Arrangement in Maine, an entity meeting 
the definition of an “administrator” for purposes of the Preferred Provider 
Arrangement Act must obtain a registration as a Preferred Provider 
Arrangement Administrator by filing certain information about the proposed 
arrangement for approval.  The definition is available at 24-A M.R.S. § 2671. 
 
Once a Preferred Provider Arrangement is approved, the administrator must also 
perform the following when due:  
 
Annual Renewal Registration and Fee: Pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §2674-A (1), 
administrators of a preferred Provider Arrangement must annually register and 
pay their annual fee of $100 by March 1st each year.   
 
Maine's Preferred Provider Arrangement Administrator registrations are 
continuous, meaning the registration renews annually every March 1st. New 
registration certificates are not issued again at renewal as there is no expiration 
date.  Please refer to our ALMSOnline to confirm/view the entities issue and 
expiration dates. 

Renewal notices go out prior to March 1st asking if the Preferred Provider 
Arrangement Administrator wishes to renew its registration in Maine for the 
coming year. The Preferred Provider Arrangement Administrators must submit 
their renewal electronically with their annual fee to continue its registration for 
another year.  

If the Preferred Provider Arrangement Administrator wishes to terminate their 
Maine license, please respond to the notice, and request termination. 

Annual Experience Reporting:  Pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §2678, administrators must 
also file an Annual Experience Report of their activities for the preceding year on 
or by April 1st each year. 
 
Material Changes or Additions:  Bureau of Insurance Rule Chapter 360 § 4(F) 
requires administrators and carriers to keep current the information required to 
be disclosed in this initial registration by reporting any material change or 
addition within 30 days after the end of the month during which the material 
event occurs.  Please refer to the initial registration application to determine what 
information requires supporting documentation.   



If material changes or additions are made to information disclosed in the initial 
registration form that required supporting documentation, please go online to 
ALMSOnline to make the necessary  material change(s) and/or addition(s) to the 
information required to be disclosed in the Preferred Provider Arrangement’s 
initial registration.   

Please label all attachments with the section and item number to which they 
correspond.  Please include the effective date(s) of the material change(s) and/or 
addition(s). 

 


