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August 4, 2023

SENT VIA E-MAIL AND HAND DELIVERY
Timothy Schott, Acting Superintendent
Maine Bureau of Insurance
#34 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333
Karma.Y.Lombard@maine.gov

RE: American Pet Insurance Company (SERFF Tracking #APII-
133646841)
Request for Hearing on Disapproval of Pet Insurance Policy
Submission

Superintendent Schott,

American Pet Insurance Company (“APIC”) hereby appeals and requests a
hearing of your order disapproving its above-referenced form filing. This appeal and
request for a hearing is made pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§ 2412(5) & 229.

I. Background.

APIC is an insurance company domiciled in New York that is wholly owned by
Trupanion, Inc. Trupanion is a company that provides pet insurance throughout the
U.S. and Canada, including in Maine. It is the leading member of the North American
Pet Health Insurance Association and was intimately involved in the drafting of the Pet
Insurance Model Act, including the provision at issue in this appeal. Trupanion
products are underwritten by APIC and sold and administered by Trupanion Managers
USA, Inc., an affiliated general agent.

On April 26, 2023 APIC submitted a new pet insurance policy form to you for
approval as required by 24-A M.R.S. § 2412 (SERFF Tracking #APII-133646841). The
final version! of the form submitted for approval is attached as Exhibit A (with the policy
as A-1, the Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions as A-2, and the
Declarations Page as A-3). You disapproved APIC’s submission on July 7, 2023 for two
reasons:

(@)  The form filing violates the prohibition under 24-A M.R.S. §
3156(2) by requiring 12 days to transpire before coverage in the
policy begins for illnesses or orthopedic conditions resulting from

1 The form policy contained slightly different terms when initially submitted for approval but
was amended and resubmitted by Trupanion in response to comments received from the Bureau
in June.
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an accident. Disapproval is warranted under 24-A M.R.S. §
2413(1)(A).

(b)  The form filing (e.g. the Declarations Page) uses three terms —
Inception Date, Enrollment Date, and effective Date — which are
blank on the Declarations Page until completed by the insurer on
the date of enrollment. Use of these terms in the policy is
inconsistent, ambiguous, or misleading to consumers. Disapproval
is warranted under 24-A M.R.S. § 2413(1)(B).

See Disapproval (attached as Exhibit B.) APIC appeals this disapproval and, as
explained further below, challenges both of the reasons given for the disapproval.

This appeal and request for a hearing is made under 24-A M.R.S. § 2412(5),
which provides that “[a]ppeals from orders of the superintendent disapproving any such
form . . . may be taken as provided in sections 229 to 236.” Section 229 provides that
“[t]he superintendent shall hold a hearing . . . [u]pon written application for a hearing
by a person aggrieved by any act or impending act, or by any report or order of the
superintendent . . ..” Id. § 229(2). The application “must be filed with the
superintendent within 30 days after such person knew or reasonably should have known
of such act, impending act, failure, report or order,” and “shall briefly state the respects
in which the applicant is so aggrieved, together with the ground to be relied upon for the
relief to be demanded at the hearing.” Id. § 229(3).

“If the superintendent finds that the application is timely and made in good faith,
that the applicant would be so aggrieved if the applicant’s grounds are established and
that such grounds otherwise justify the hearing, the superintendent shall hold the
hearing within 30 days after filing of the application . ...” Id. § 229(4). Because APIC’s
application meets this standard, a hearing must be held.

II. Grounds for appeal.

The superintendent can only disapprove a form filed under Section 2412 for one
of the reasons enumerated by the Legislature in Section 2413. See 24-A, § 2413(1)
(allowing disapproval “only on one or more of the following grounds”) (emphasis
added). Trupanion’s submission was disapproved under 24-A M.R.S. § 2413(1)(A) and
(B), but neither provides a valid basis for disapproval.

First, you disapproved the submission under Section 2413(1)(A) (allowing
disapproval “[i]f it is in any respect in violation of or does not comply with this Title”)
based on the erroneous conclusion that “[t]he form filing violates the prohibition under
24-A M.R.S. § 3156(2) by requiring 12 days to transpire before coverage in the policy
begins for illnesses or orthopedic conditions resulting from an accident.” Trupanion’s
proposed form does not violate Section 3156(2) or contain an illegal waiting period.
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The cited provision, Section 3156(2), provides:

An insurer may issue a pet insurance policy that imposes a waiting period
upon effectuation of the policy as long as that waiting period does not
exceed 30 days for illnesses or orthopedic conditions not resulting from an
accident. A waiting period for illnesses or orthopedic conditions resulting
from an accident is prohibited.

24-A M.R.S. § 3156(2). “Waiting period” means “the period of time specified in a pet
insurance policy that is required to transpire before some or all of the coverage in the
policy begins.” 24-A M.R.S. § 3153(10).

APIC’s proposed insurance product does not contain a “waiting period” and does
not violate Section 3156 or any other law. The product is designed such that APIC does
not “issue” (24-A M.R.S. § 3156(2)), and the consumer does not pay for, the policy until
12 days after the consumer fills out the forms to enroll in the plan. The policy explains:

When you request Trupanion Membership for your Pet, the first date upon
which Your monthly payment is collected for Your Pet and the date on
which your coverage becomes active is referred to as the Effective Date.
Your Effective Date is 12 days following your Enrollment Date, and will be
noted in Your Declaration Page for Your Pet.

Exhibit A-1 at 22. The Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions likewise states that
“[t]his policy does not have any waiting periods. The policy becomes effective 12 days
after you enroll, and your monthly payment will be collected on your effective date.”
Exhibit A-2 at 1. Cf. 24-A ML.R.S. § 3156(2) (waiting period for accident-related claims is
not allowed “upon effectuation of the policy”).

By not issuing the policy for 12 days after the consumer signs up and then, upon
issuance, making the policy immediately effective for all types of claims, this product is
designed to deter claims related to pets with pre-existing known injuries, claims that
ultimately cause the cost of insurance to unduly increase for everyone. Without a delay
in the policy becoming effective, the only actuarially sound way to avoid a
disproportionate share of claims with pre-existing conditions is to require a check-up by
a veterinarian immediately prior to enrollment. And while this requirement is effective
at preventing anti-selection, it is also a significant deterrent to pet owners obtaining
insurance at all. By waiting a short period of time to collect payment, issue the policy,
and make it effective, the APIC form filing will also significantly increase the number of
insured pet owners in Maine. Finally, because this policy is designed to cover accidents
and illnesses on the same timeline—immediately after the policy is issued and becomes
effective—it eliminates the often-difficult task of determining whether a claim is
accident- or illness-related. This results in lower insurance costs and more efficient
administration of claims for pet owners in Maine.
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Despite the many benefits of this 12-day delay in the policy becoming effective
and even though this delay is not prohibited by the plain language of statute, the Bureau
nevertheless found it contrary to the prohibition on certain waiting periods in Section
3156. The Bureau’s interpretation of Section 3156 is overly expansive. See Rich v. Dep’t
of Marine Res., 2010 ME 41, 17, 994 A.2d 815 (a statute should not be construed
“beyond its express language and in contravention of the plain meaning of statutory
terms”). The plain language of Section 3156 prohibits a waiting period for an accident-
related illness or condition only after the insurer issues that policy and the policy
becomes effective. See 24-A M.R.S. § 3156(2) (discussing waiting periods “upon
effectuation of the policy” and once an insurer “issue[s] a pet insurance policy”). If the
policy is not yet issued, or has not become effective, then Section 3156 has no relevance.
It does not, for example, require an insurer to issue a policy or make a policy effective as
soon as a consumer signs up, nor does it require an insured to immediately collect
payment from a consumer. It simply says that once the policy is issued and becomes
effective (both presumably occurring after the insured pays the first monthly premium),
a waiting period for accident-related claims is not allowed.

As you know, Section 3156 was originally drafted by the National Association of
Insurance Commissioners as part of the Pet Insurance Model Act. The provision dealing
with waiting periods was discussed at great length over the multi-year process of
drafting the model act. Trupanion, along with other pet insurers, was an active
participant in these discussions. It was a reasoned decision by the NAIC when drafting
the language in Section 3156 to prohibit accident-related waiting periods only after the
policy is issued and becomes effective. NAIC understood that, for all the reasons
outlined above, it will sometimes be better for consumers and insurers to have a short
delay between the time the consumer signs up and the time the policy is issued and
becomes effective. The Maine Legislature shared this understanding when it adopted
Section 3156, which is why the statute only prohibits accident-related waiting periods
after a policy is issued and becomes effective. Because the APIC form filing does not
violate Section 3156, the first reason given for the disapproval should be reversed.

It was also reversible error to find that the APIC form filing violates Section
2413(1)(B), the provision in the Insurance Code allowing disapproval if a form “contains
or incorporates by reference, where such incorporation is otherwise permissible, any
inconsistent, ambiguous or misleading clauses, or exceptions and conditions which
deceptively affect the risk purported to be assumed in the general coverage of the
contract.” Id. This finding was based on your conclusion that the Declarations Page of
the form filing “uses three terms — Inception Date, Enrollment Date, and Effective Date
— which are blank on the Declarations Page until completed by the insurer on the date of
enrollment,” and “[u]se of these terms in the policy is inconsistent, ambiguous, or
misleading to customers.” This makes little sense, as the terms are either self-
explanatory or specifically defined in the form filing.

Enrollment Date is self-explanatory. So much so, in fact, that the Bureau itself
referred to the “date of enrollment” in its disapproval without bothering to further
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define the phrase. See Ex. B (“The form filing . . . uses three terms . . . which are blank
on the Declarations Page until completed by the insurer on the date of enrollment”).
Moreover, the form filing specifically defines Effective Date as being “12 days following
your Enrollment Date.” (Ex. A-1 at 22.) Because the consumer will know that the
Enrollment Date is the date on which they enrolled, there is nothing ambiguous or
misleading about setting the Effective Date 12 days later. This is especially true because
the Declaration Page will identify the specific month, day and year that is the Effective
Date for each policy, saving the consumer the trouble of doing even the simple addition
of counting 12 days past the enrollment date. (See Ex. A-3.) Finally, the term “Inception
Date” appearing on the declaration page is followed for each consumer with the precise
date on which their coverage begins. 2 Id. See also Inception, Merriam Webster (2022)
(“an act, process, or instance of beginning”). Far from being misleading, the terms
“Enrollment Date”, “Effective Date” and “Inception Date” in the APIC form filing will
give clarity to consumers, allowing them to understand precisely when premiums are
due and coverage begins.

III. Conclusion.
This request for a hearing is timely and made in good faith. As outlined above,
APIC is aggrieved by the July 7, 2023 disapproval and requests a hearing on issues
related to the pet insurance policy it submitted. APIC also requests the opportunity to
brief the legal issues inherent in this appeal in further detail in advance of the hearing.

Sincerely,

%f—
Matt Warner

cc: Thomas C. Sturtevant, Jr., AAG
Lara Wilson, AAG

2 The “Plan Inception Date” on the Declaration Page is synonymous with the “Effective Date.”
While this is not misleading, especially considering that the specific date will be listed next to
each term on the form, Trupanion would nevertheless be willing to amend the form to use one
or the other instead of both if this would cure the Bureau’s concerns.
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