
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BULLETIN 373 


Public Adjusters 

An adjuster representing an insured is commonly referred to as a “public adjuster.” Public 
adjusters are required to be licensed in Maine as adjusters, and are required to comply with 
certain specific standards under the Maine Insurance Code. Failure to do so can result in 
enforcement action. This Bulletin summarizes the most significant requirements. 

36-Hour Rule 

A public adjuster may not solicit or offer an adjustment services contract for at least 36 hours 
after an accident or occurrence that might result in an insurance claim. Earlier contact violates 
24-A M.R.S.A. § 1476(1). 

Right to Rescind 

The contract with the client must contain a provision prominently printed on the first page of the 
contract, stating that the client has the option to rescind the contract within 2 business days after 
the contract is signed. Failure to include this provision violates section 1476(2). An adjuster who 
attempts to discourage a consumer from exercising this right to rescind will be subject to 
enforcement action under 24-A M.R.S.A. §§ 1417 and 1420(K)(1)(H) for using coercive 
practices. 

Fees and Services Rendered 

Although the Insurance Code does not contain a specific limitation as to the fee amount, 
adjusters are required to act in the best interests of their clients, and they are required to be 
“competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good personal and business reputation” 
under section 1472. Any fee arrangement must be reasonable under the circumstances. 

Adjusters should take special care when dealing with total losses in circumstances indicating that 
there will likely be little controversy concerning the insurer’s need to pay the policy limits. 
While the client may still decide to use a public adjuster in such a case to represent his or her 
interests, the adjuster’s fee effectively reduces the insured’s settlement, and the adjuster should 
be mindful that there must be a reasonable correlation between the fee and the value of the 
adjuster’s services to the client. 

Records 

Under 24-A M.R.S.A. § 1474, every adjuster must keep a record of all transactions under the 
license, at the adjuster's business address. The record must include a copy of all investigations or 



 

 

 

 

adjustments undertaken or consummated, and a statement of any fee, commission or other 
compensation received or requested. Records must be available for examination by the Bureau of 
Insurance at all times, and the adjuster must retain the records for at least three years. 

March 5, 2010 ______________________________________ 
Mila Kofman 
Superintendent of Insurance 

NOTE: This bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not intended to set forth 
legal rights, duties or privileges nor is it intended to provide legal advice. Readers should consult 
applicable statutes and rules and contact the Bureau of Insurance if additional information is 
needed. 


