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Compliance Training for Employers/Insurers

The next open training session will be held October 23 and 24, 2014 at the Maine
Department of Labor, at 45 Commerce Drive in Augusta.

This session will continue with two new added features: Brad Howard will be speaking
on the Board’s move toward a more automated claims handling model via Electronic
Data Interchange (EDI) and Kimberlee Barriere will be doing an hour long presentation
on the Board’s medical fee schedule. Please contact Anne Poulin to reserve a spot.

The Board continues to be busy doing customized on-site training for insurers, self-
insurers, 3"-party administrators as well as employers. If you would like information
about customized on-site training for your organization, please contact Gordon Davis at
207-287-6327, or by email at Gordon.Davis@Maine.Gov.

From the Claims Management Unit

Please note that the Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) and State Average Weekly
Wage (SAWW) notices effective July 1, 2014 originally had an incorrect rate. The
correct versions are available at:  www.maine.gov/wch/departments/Claims/index.htm.

COLA increases are applicable to claims with pre 1-1-1993 dates of injury only. The
correct COLA depends on the date of the injury. Refer to the Summer 2011 Newsletter
for more detailed information.

Claims with post 1-1-1993 dates of injury being paid at the maximum weekly benefit
level (maximum rate) are subject to an inflation adjustment or escalation each year.
Like COLAs, the correct maximum rate depends on the date of injury. Dates of injury
on or after 1/1/13 have a max rate of 100% of the SAWW ($742.35) while injuries
prior to 1/1/13 have a max rate of 90% of SAWW ($668.12). Refer to the Winter 2014
Newsletter for more detailed information.

If you have any questions regarding COLASs or max rates, please contact Debbie Morton
at (207) 287-7053 or Debbie.Morton@Maine.Gov.

From the Office of Medical/Rehabilitation Services
Certificate of Authorization

Title 39-A M.R.S.A. Section 208.1 states, “Authorization from the employee for release
of medical information by health care providers to the employer is not required if the
information pertains to treatment of an injury or disease that is claimed to be
compensable under this Act [emphasis added].”

Therefore, authorization is not required from the employee or the employee’s
representative for the release of medical information pertaining to a claimed injury or
disease regardless of whether the claimed injury or disease is denied.
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HIPAA Q&A

Question 1: | am a health care provider and my State law says | have to provide a
workers' compensation insurer, upon request, with an injured workers' records that relate
to treatment or hospitalization for which compensation is being sought. Am | permitted
to disclose the information required by my State law?

Answer 1: Yes. The HIPAA Privacy Rule permits a covered entity to disclose
protected health information as necessary to comply with State law. No minimum
necessary determination is required. See 45 CFR 164.512(a) and 164.502(b).

Question 2: Does the HIPAA Privacy Rule permit a health care provider to disclose an
injured or ill worker's protected health information without his or her authorization when
requested for purposes of determining the individual’s entitlement to payment under the
workers' compensation system or adjudicating the individual's workers' compensation
claim?

Answer 2: Yes. Covered entities are permitted to disclose protected health information
for such purposes as authorized by, and to the extent necessary to comply with, workers’
compensation law. See 45 CFR 164.512(l). In addition, the Privacy Rule generally
permits covered entities to disclose protected health information in the course of any
judicial or administrative proceeding in response to a court order, subpoena, or other
lawful process. See 45 CFR 164.512(e).

Question 3: State law says | may provide information regarding an injured workers'
previous condition, which is not directly related to the claim for compensation, to an
employer or insurer if | obtain the workers' written release. Am | permitted to make this
disclosure under the HIPAA Privacy Rule?

Answer 3: Yes. A covered entity may disclose protected health information where the
individual’s written authorization has been obtained, consistent with the Privacy Rule’s
requirements at 45 CFR 164.508. Thus, a covered entity would be permitted to make the
above disclosure if the individual signed such an authorization.

Question 4: Does an individual have a right under the HIPAA Privacy Rule to restrict
the protected health information his or her health care provider discloses for workers'
compensation purposes?

Answer 4: No. Individuals do not have a right under the Privacy Rule at 45 CFR
164.522(a) to request that a covered entity restrict a disclosure of protected health
information about them for workers’ compensation purposes when that disclosure is
required by law or authorized by, and necessary to comply with, a workers’
compensation or similar law. See 45 CFR 164.522(a) and 164.512(a) and (1).

These questions and answers along with additional information regarding HIPAA and
Workers’ Compensation may be found at:

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/understanding/coveredentities/workerscomp.html



mailto:Kimberlee.Barriere@Maine.Gov
http://www.maine.gov/wcb/
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HIPAAGenInfo/06_AreYouaCoveredEntity.asp
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa/guidelines/minimumnecessary.pdf
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HIPAAGenInfo/06_AreYouaCoveredEntity.asp
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HIPAAGenInfo/06_AreYouaCoveredEntity.asp
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa/guidelines/research.pdf
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/faq/workers_compensation/323.html
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/faq/workers_compensation/323.html
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/faq/workers_compensation/323.html
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HIPAAGenInfo/06_AreYouaCoveredEntity.asp
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/understanding/coveredentities/workerscomp.html

