
Holder Report Forms & Instructions

As State Treasurer, I am glad to have your
help in trying to find the owners of
unclaimed property in Maine. We want to
reunite our residents with their assets. The
first step is reporting property abandoned
per Maine law and giving my Office
specifics.  Instructions and forms here will
guide you.

Please check the contents on the left for quick reference to specific
types of unclaimed property.  We hope this information is user-
friendly, and we add more electronic resources to speed the process
each year.

The Office of the State Treasurer catalogs and lists these assets, then
publishes the list on the internet. People can readily identify items
with the wrong address or that were simply forgotten. Unclaimed
property can be claimed at any time by the rightful owner with
proper identification by Maine law.  

We are eager to do the best we can in returning assets to owners and
using any balance for the good of all people in the State according
to law. Don’t hesitate to contact us with your questions or
suggestions.   

Neria R. Douglass
Maine State Treasurer
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Identify

Identify the Unclaimed Property that you hold.  This
includes any type of outstanding check, savings and
checking accounts inactive for 3 years, unclaimed wages,
dividends, credit balances, gift certificates, stored value
cards and other property as described on pages 4-5.

Notify

Try to locate the owners of the Unclaimed
Property that you hold.  You can do this by
sending a letter to the owner at the owner’s last
known address during the legal notification
period (also called the Due Diligence Period) as
identified below, which is not more than 120
days or less than 60 days before the report is
filed.  For example, for reports due on
November 1, attempt to locate the owners
between July 1 and September 1.  An Owner
Notification sample letter is provided on page 6.

☛

Legal Notification Time Line
All Holders (Except as noted below)

July 1 - June 30 July 1 - September 1 November 1
(120 days before filing - 60 days before filing)

1) REPORTING PERIOD 2) LEGAL NOTIFICATION PERIOD 3) REPORT & REMITTANCE DUE
(HOLDERS TRY TO LOCATE OWNER)

Life Insurers & Issuers of Gift Certificates/Obligations and Stored Value Cards
January 1 - December 31 January 1 next year - March 1 next year May 1 next year

(120 days before filing - 60 days before filing)

▼ ▼ ▼

▼▼▼

Getting Started

1

2
See page 6 for sample letter.
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Remit By

Send report and funds to State Treasurer.
Life Insurers and Issuers of Gift Certificates/
Obligations and Stored Value Cards (selling
$250,000 or more in cards) must report by
May 1st.  Make checks payable to Treasurer,
State of Maine.

❒ NEGATIVE REPORT (CHECK IF NOTHING TO REPORT)

INFORMATION ABOUT HOLDER

1. Holder Name__________________________________________ Tax ID#__________________________

(YOUR COMPANY NAME)

(FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER)

d/b/a Name_____________________________________________________________________________

(IF ANY)

2. Mailing Address______________________________ City_________________ ST_____ Zip__________

(YOUR COMPANY ADDRESS)

3. Contact Person___________________________________ Title__________________________________

(NAME & TITLE OF PERSON WHO SUPPLIED INFORMATION)

4. Phone (_____) _______________Ext_______ Email____________________________________________

(TELEPHONE NUMBER & EMAIL ADDRESS FOR CONTACT PERSON)

5. State of Incorporation__________ Type of Business_________________________________________

6. Does this report include:
(A) All branches and divisions?  ❒ Yes ❒ No

(B) All subsidiaries? ❒ Yes ❒ No

INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY YOU ARE REPORTING
Period _________ to _________

(ENTER THE PERIOD COVERED BY THIS REPORT)

TANGIBLE PROPERTY (Stocks, Mutual Funds, and Safekeeping Contents)

Number of Shares of Stocks or Mutual Funds (Reported & Remitted)

________________

Number of Safe Deposit Box Contents/Safekeeping Items

________________

(THESE ITEMS MUST BE DELIVERED TO THE STATE ON JUNE 1 AFTER FILING THE REPORT)

INTANGIBLE PROPERTY (Bank Accounts, Outstanding Checks, Gift Obligations, etc.)

Total Number of Items Reported  _______________
Total Dollar Amount Reported $_______________

Amount of 40% Deduction $_______________

(FOR GIFT OBLIGATIONS & STORED VALUE CARDS ONLY)

Total Dollar Amount Remitted $_______________

(MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE)

DATA DELIVERY FORMAT ❒ Email______________________ ❒ CD-ROM    ❒

(DATE EMAIL WAS SENT)

VERIFICATION & NOTARIZATION

State of __________________________________ County of ________________________________________

I, ____________________________________, swear that I have prepared, or have caused to be prepared,

and have examined this report as to property presumed unclaimed under the Uniform Unclaimed Property

Act.  I am duly authorized to execute this verification by the holder and by law.  To the best of my

knowledge and belief said report is true, correct, and complete.

____________________________________________
___________________________________________

Signature

Title

Subscribed and sworn to before me this __________________ day of _______________________, 2_____

Notary Public___________________________________________ My commission expires_______________

(SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC)

{Seal}

DO YOU NEED MORE TIME?  (SEE PAGE 16)

STATE OF MAINE • OFFICE OF THE TREASURER • UNCLAIMED PROPERTY • 39 STATE HOUSE STATION • AUGUSTA, ME 04330-0039

PHONE (207) 624-7470 • FAX (207) 287-2367 • TOLL-FREE IN MAINE: 888-283-2808 • EMAIL: UP.HOLDERINQUIRY@MAINE.GOV

HOLDER REPORT FORM FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

HID ______________ RID______________

REPORT YR ________________________

AMT $ ___________ #SHS_____________

CK# ______________ _____/_____/_____

UP-1 6/09

☛3
See form on page 8.

Electronic Reporting 

Access electronic reporting options including
UPExchange, a web based unclaimed
property reporting program with free training
and support, and HRS Pro Reporting
Software at www.maine.gov/unclaimed.

Follow the instructions to transfer, import or
enter your owner information, as well as print
your owner notification letters.  Excel
spreadsheets may be imported into
UPExchange and HRS Pro.

All holders must file their reports electronically.

File your report electronically using any of the
following methods:

• Email: UPExchange and HRS Pro files are auto -
matically encrypted and can be safely emailed to
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov.

• Secure encrypted email :
For unencrypted files, send an email request to
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov.  You will receive an 
email response (ZixMail).  Reply to this secure email,
attach your holder report file and send.

• Mail CD to:
Office of the State Treasurer
Attn: Unclaimed Property
39 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0039

File Electronically...

Need Assistance?
Office of the State Treasurer

Attn: Unclaimed Property
39 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0039

Telephone: 207-624-7470  /  Toll Free (in Maine) 888-283-2808  / Fax: 207-287-2367
Email: up.holderinquiry@maine.gov

www.maine.gov/unclaimed
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Code Description Years

Account Balances
AC01 Checking Accounts 3
AC02 Savings Accounts 3
AC03 Matured CD or Savings Certificate ✫
AC04 Christmas Club Funds 3
AC05 Money on Deposit to Secure Funds 3
AC06 Security Deposits 3
AC07 Unidentified Deposits 3
AC08 Suspense Accounts 3
AC20 Prefunded Bank Cards 3*
AC21 Other Accounts 3
AC50 Other Account Balances Owing 3
AC80 Non Interest Bearing Savings 3
AC81 Non Interest Bearing Club Acct 3
AC99 Aggregate Account Balances Due 3

Official Checks
CK01 Cashier’s Checks 3
CK02 Certified Checks 3
CK03 Registered Checks & Bank MO’s 3
CK04 Treasurer’s Checks 3
CK05 Drafts 3
CK06 Warrants – Uncashed State Checks 1
CK07 Money Orders – Non Bank 7
CK08 Traveler’s Checks 15
CK09 Foreign Exchange Checks 3
CK10 Expense Checks 3
CK11 Pension Checks 3
CK12 Credit Checks or Memos 3
CK13 Vendor Checks 3
CK14 Checks Written Off to Income 3
CK15 Other Outstanding Official Checks 3
CK16 CD Interest Checks 3
CK17 Bills of Exchange 3
CK21 Other Checks 3
CK99 Aggregate Uncashed Checks 3

College Savings
CS01 Cash 3
CS02 Mutual Funds 3
CS03 Securities 3

Court Funds
CT01 Escrow Funds 1
CT02 Condemnation Awards 1
CT03 Missing Heirs’ Funds 1
CT04 Suspense Accounts 1
CT05 Other Court Deposits 1
CT06 Public Aid Child Support Checks 1
CT09 Court Ordered Refunds 1
CT10 Restitution 1
CT11 Bail Refund 1
CT21 Other Court/State/Municipal Gov 1
CT98 Intestate Succession to State 1
CT99 Aggregate Government Property 1

Health Savings Plan
HS01 Health Savings Account 3
HS02 Health Savings Account Investment 3

Code Description Years

Insurance
IN01 Individual Policy Benefits or Claims 3
IN02 Group Policy Benefits or Claim 3
IN03 Proceeds Due Beneficiaries 3
IN04 Proceeds from Matured Policies 3
IN05 Premium Refunds – Individual 3
IN06 Unidentified Remittances 3
IN07 Other Amounts Due Under Policy 3
IN08 Agent Credit Balances 3
IN09 Drafts Unpresented for Payment 3
IN21 Other Insurance Related Property 3
IN77 Limiting Age 3
IN99 Aggregate Insurance Property 3

Individual Retirement Accounts
IR01 Cash 3
IR02 Mutual Funds 3
IR03 Securities 3
IR05 Cash (Roth) 3
IR06 Mutual Funds (Roth) 3
IR07 Securities (Roth) 3

Mineral Proceeds
MI01 Net Revenue Interests 3
MI02 Royalties 3
MI03 Overriding Royalties 3
MI04 Production Payments 3
MI05 Working Interests 3
MI06 Bonuses 3
MI07 Delay Rentals 3
MI08 Shut-In Royalties 3
MI09 Minimum Royalties 3
MI21 Other Mineral/Royalty Property 3
MI99 Aggregate Mineral/Royalty Payments 3

Miscellaneous
MS01 Wages, Payroll, Salary 1
MS02 Commissions 1
MS03 Worker’s Compensation Benefits 3
MS04 Payment for Goods and Services 3
MS05 Customer Overpayments 3
MS06 Unidentified Remittances 3
MS07 Unrefunded Overcharges 3
MS08 Accounts Payable 3
MS09 Credit Balances/Accounts Receivable 3
MS10 Discounts Due 3
MS11 Refunds/Rebates Due 3
MS12* Unredeemed Gift Certificates/Gift Cards 2
MS13 Unclaimed Loan Collateral 3
MS14 Pension & Profit Sharing Plans 3
MS15 Dissolution or Liquidation 1
MS16 Miscellaneous Outstanding Checks 3
MS17 Miscellaneous Intangible Property 3
MS18 Suspense Liabilities 3
MS19 Deposit Rent/Lease/Unused Svcs 3
MS20* Stored Value Cards 2*
MS99 Aggregate Miscellaneous Property 3

Property Codes with Dormancy Periods
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Code Description Years

Securities
SC01 Dividends 3
SC02 Bond Interest Payments 3
SC03 Principal Payments 3
SC04 Equity Payments 3
SC05 Profits 3
SC06 Funds Paid to Purchase Shares 3
SC07 Funds for Stocks & Bonds 3
SC08 Stock Returned by Post Office 3
SC09 Cash for Fractional Shares 3
SC10 Unexchanged Stock of Successor 3
SC11 Other Certificates of Ownership 3
SC12 Underlying Shares 3
SC13 Funds for Liquidation of Stock 3
SC14 Debentures 3
SC15 US Government Securities 3
SC16 Mutual Funds 3
SC17 Warrants or Rights 3
SC18 Matured Bond Principal 3
SC19 Dividend Reinvestment Plans 3
SC20 Credit Balances 3
SC21 Distributions – Multi Fund A 3
SC22 Convertible Securities 3
SC23 Preferred Securities 3
SC24 Fixed Income Securities 3
SC25 Real Estate Based Securities 3
SC26 Direct Registration Securities 3
SC27 Book Entry Shares 3
SC30 Bond Principal & Interest 3
SC31 Cash for Unexchanged Shares 3
SC32 Stock Liquidation/Redemption 3
SC42 Municipal Bond Interest Pyt 1
SC43 Municipal Bond Principal Pyt 1
SC44 Muni Bond Prin & Int Pyts 1
SC97 Demutualization 2
SC98 Stock and Related Cash 3
SC99 Aggregate Securities Related 3

Code Description Years

Safe Deposit/Safekeeping
SD01 Safe Deposit Box Contents 3
SD02 Other Safekeeping Contents 3
SD03 Other Tangible Property 3
SD04 Unclaimed Loan Collateral 3
SD99 Other Safekeeping 3

Trust Property
TR01 Paying Agent Accounts 3
TR02 Undelivered/Uncashed Dividends 3
TR03 Funds Held in Fiduciary Capacity 3
TR04 Escrow Accounts 3
TR05 Trust Vouchers 3
TR06 Pre-Need Funeral Plans 3
TR12 Other Trust Funds 3
TR21 Other Trust Property 3
TR99 Aggregate Trust Property 3

Utilities
UT01 Utility Deposits 1
UT02 Membership Fees 3
UT03 Refunds or Rebates 1
UT04 Capital Credit Distributions 3
UT05 Utility Gift Certificates/Phone Cards 2
UT50 Other Utility Monies Owing 3
UT99 Aggregate Utility Property 3

All Other Property
ZZZZ Properties Not Listed Above 3
ZZ01 Resolution Trust Company 1
ZZ02 Housing and Urban Development 1

✫ AC03 Automatically renewable CDs whose term is longer
than 1 year are presumed abandoned at the date of
maturity following the 5th renewal.  All others are 3 years.
*AC20 Dormancy as of 12/31 for report due 11/1.
*MS12 and MS20 No expiration permitted.  See Title 33,
Chapter 41 §1956 G.

Need more information?
Assistance is just a mouse click away – www.maine.gov/unclaimed

Email: up.holderinquiry@maine.gov
Call or Fax

Toll Free (in Maine) 888-283-2808 • (outside Maine) 207-624-7470
Fax: 207-287-2367



Sample Letter – Owner Notification
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Notification letters must be sent for any property valued at $50 or more.  The letters must

be sent no more than 120 days or less than 60 days before the report is filed. (see page 2)



File Electronically

File your report electronically using any of the following
methods:

• Email: UPExchange and HRS Pro files are auto matically
encrypted and can be safely emailed to
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov.

• Secure encrypted email :
For unencrypted files, send an email request to
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov.  You will receive an 
email response (ZixMail).  Reply to this secure email,
attach your holder report file and send.

• Mail CD to:
Office of the State Treasurer
Attn: Unclaimed Property
39 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0039

Electronic Reporting 

Access electronic reporting options including
UPExchange, a web based unclaimed property reporting
program with free training and support, and HRS Pro
Reporting Software at www.maine.gov/unclaimed.

Follow the instructions to transfer, import or enter your
owner information, as well as print your owner
notification letters.  Excel spreadsheets may be
imported into UPExchange and HRS Pro.  Please
include your company name in your file name.

Late Reporting Penalties

A late report will be subject to interest at a rate of
18% or 10% above the annual rate of the most recent
issue of 52 week US Treasury bills.  See Title 33,
Chapter 41 §1975.

An extension may be requested before the date for
filing the report.  The administrator may grant the
extension for good cause.  See Title 33, Chapter 41
§1958 6.those with more than 20.  

Online Reporting 
The Office of the State Treasurer is pleased to offer
an online unclaimed property reporting service.  This
system allows all types of Holders to report
unclaimed property electronically to the State
Treasurer, regardless of operating system.

This free tool is intended for holders with up to 10
properties to report and is not recommended for
those with more than 20.  

Here’s what you will need to get started:
• A list of the unclaimed property to report.  This

includes, but is not limited to, information about the
holder and information about the property being
held.

• A printer.

7

You must send a signed holder verification page (see page 8) with your
remittance or via e-mail if you are remitting electronically.

Online Reporting uses SSL Security
http://www.maine.gov/treasurer/unclaimed_property/report_property/online_reporting.html

All holders must file their
reports electronically or
request an exemption.
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❒ NEGATIVE REPORT (CHECK IF NOTHING TO REPORT)

INFORMATION ABOUT HOLDER

1. Holder Name__________________________________________ Tax ID#__________________________
(YOUR COMPANY NAME) (FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER)

d/b/a Name_____________________________________________________________________________
(IF ANY)

2. Mailing Address______________________________ City_________________ ST_____ Zip__________
(YOUR COMPANY ADDRESS)

3. Contact Person___________________________________ Title__________________________________
(NAME & TITLE OF PERSON WHO SUPPLIED INFORMATION)

4. Phone (_____) _______________Ext_______ Email____________________________________________
(TELEPHONE NUMBER & EMAIL ADDRESS FOR CONTACT PERSON)

5. State of Incorporation__________ Type of Business_________________________________________

6. Does this report include: (A) All branches and divisions?  ❒ Yes ❒ No (B) All subsidiaries? ❒ Yes ❒ No

INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY YOU ARE REPORTING Period _________ to _________
(ENTER THE PERIOD COVERED BY THIS REPORT)

TANGIBLE PROPERTY (Stocks, Mutual Funds, and Safekeeping Contents)

Number of Shares of Stocks or Mutual Funds (Reported & Remitted) ________________

Number of Safe Deposit Box Contents/Safekeeping Items ________________
(THESE ITEMS MUST BE DELIVERED TO THE STATE ON JUNE 1 AFTER FILING THE REPORT)

INTANGIBLE PROPERTY (Bank Accounts, Outstanding Checks, Gift Obligations, etc.)

Total Number of Items Reported  _______________ Total Dollar Amount Reported $_______________

Amount of 40% Deduction $_______________
(FOR GIFT OBLIGATIONS & STORED VALUE CARDS ONLY)

Total Dollar Amount Remitted $_______________
(MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE)

DATA DELIVERY FORMAT ❒ Email______________________ ❒ CD-ROM    ❒
(DATE EMAIL WAS SENT)

VERIFICATION & NOTARIZATION

State of __________________________________ County of ________________________________________

I, ____________________________________, swear that I have prepared, or have caused to be prepared,

and have examined this report as to property presumed unclaimed under the Uniform Unclaimed Property

Act.  I am duly authorized to execute this verification by the holder and by law.  To the best of my

knowledge and belief said report is true, correct, and complete.

____________________________________________ ___________________________________________
Signature Title

HOLDER REPORT FORM
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

HID ______________ RID______________

REPORT YR ________________________

AMT $ ___________ #SHS_____________

CK# ______________ _____/_____/_____

UP-1 6/09

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

HID ___________ RID___________

REPORT YR _________________

AMT $__________ #SHS _______

CK# ___________ ____/____/____ 

State of ______________________________  County of  ___________________________________
I, ________________________________, swear that I have prepared or have caused to be prepared,
and have examined this report as to property presumed unclaimed under 33 M.R.S.A. Ch. 41.  I am duly
authorized to execute this verification by the holder and by law.  To the best of my knowledge and belief
said report is true, correct, and complete.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR
REPORTING

SECURITIES/STOCK

● All DTC eligible shares MUST be deposited
through DTC or DWAC (if not DTC
participant) as follows:
Nominee Name:
Katahdin & Co.
DTC Participant # 0954
Agent Bank # 26017
Account # AUZF0233702
FEIN# 16-1674447

● Register Book Entry Shares/ DRP/Direct
Registration Shares (DRS) as follows:
Nominee Name:
Katahdin & Co.
FEIN# 16-1674447 
c/o Xerox Business Services
100 Hancock St, 10th Floor
Quincy, MA 02171

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on
DRP accounts as cash – Do not reinvest.

● Register and deliver Physical Certificates ONLY
for non-DTC eligible shares as follows:
Nominee Name:
Katahdin & Co
FEIN# 16-1674447 
Attn: Mellon Security Trust Company
One Wall St. 3rd Floor Receive Window C
Attn. Mike Visone
New York, NY 10271

● Closed End Mutual Fund
Accounts held for the state of Maine: 
Katahdin & Co 
c/o Xerox Business Services, 
100 Hancock St, 10th Floor, 
Quincy MA 02171
When funds are registered to MAC & Co, please
make sure that interested party statements are
sent to Xerox Business Services, 100 Hancock St,
10th Floor, Quincy MA 02171.  Attn Mutual Fund
Operations 

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on
DRP accounts as cash – Do not reinvest.

● Open Ended Mutual Fund
Accounts held for the state of Maine: 
MAC & Co.
State of Maine-Account AUZF0233702
Mutual Fund Operation
PO Box 3198
Pittsburgh, PA  15230-3198
Account # AUZF0233702
FEIN 23-6019000

Xerox Business Services will provide account
numbers for all mutual funds that will be
transferred to the state’s account. Please contact
Michael Giurleo at 617-722-9674 to obtain
account numbers 48 hours prior to attempting
delivery.

If the fund chooses to establish new account
numbers and register mutual funds as indicated
below, please provide a detailed list 48 hours in
advance to upch.custody@acs-inc.com.  This list
should contain cusip number, name of the fund,
share amount and the account number at the fund.

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on
DRP accounts as cash – Do not reinvest.

A detailed list, including CUSIP numbers, number of shares, issue names, DTC participant numbers
and date of deposit/transfer MUST be faxed to Xerox Business Services at 617-722-9660,
Attn: Custody Department at least 2 days prior to deposit\transfer.  Remember to include

a copy of the detailed list with the holder report filed with the State Treasurer.
For more information, please call Xerox Business Services State Client Liaison at 617-722-9654.
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How to Report:

Safe deposit box contents must be reported to the state where the contents are held.  Contents of boxes located
in Maine must be reported by November 1.  Please include the content information with your electronic report.

When to Remit:

Send safe deposit box contents or safekeeping items on June 1st following filing of the November report.
Please attach an inventory of the contents to the outside of each package.

What to Report:

Owner Information
A) Be sure to include information that would aid in identification, such as Jr., Mrs., and Dr., etc., after the

middle name or initial.
B) Corporate titles and the like should be entered exactly as adopted, except that the word “The” should be

placed at the end of the name line.
C) If a safe deposit box has additional owners, the names of each must be shown with the relationship

(for example, “trustee for,” “and,” “or,” etc.).

Holder Information
Enter the amounts still owing to the holder.  These amounts might include unpaid safe deposit box rental
charges, drilling fees, safekeeping costs, certified mailing costs, etc.  DO NOT DEDUCT any of these
costs from any cash that may be in the box at this time.  Following the sale of this property by the State
Treasurer, the Holder may request reimbursement for eligible expenses up to the remaining balance on the
property item.

Property Information – ONE ITEM PER LINE OF DESCRIPTION
Enter an itemized description of the safe deposit box or safekeeping contents.  The safe deposit box
contents will be accepted or rejected based on the description provided.  Use the following examples and
guidelines in completing your descriptions:

a) one gold-colored ring with 2 clear stones
b) one pair clip-on earrings, each with one ruby-like stone
c) one coin wrapper containing 50 U.S. pennies dated 1918-1964 (if wrapper is empty, please indicate)
d) one pellet gun with black metal barrel and plastic grip

All packages containing weapons MUST be clearly marked.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REPORTING
SAFE DEPOSIT BOX CONTENTS
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Reporting for Other States
Holding less than $1000 or 10 items for another state?

Reciprocal Reporting

If you are a business located and
incorporated in the state of
Maine, you may be able to file
ONE Unclaimed Property Report
with Maine’s State Treasurer.
In each case, you must confirm
with the other state that they
allow such reporting as some
states, such as New York,
Delaware, and California, do
not.  In all cases, the dormancy
periods, due diligence
requirements and all other laws
of the owner’s state apply.
Maine will not accept stock or
safekeeping properties for out-
of-state owners.  Maine’s
Unclaimed Property
Administrator will report the
properties belonging to out-of-
state owners to the appropriate
state in June. 

The State of Maine sends reciprocal reports to ALL states, regardless of any existing agreement.

Here’s How

If you are holding less than $1000 or 10 items for owners in another state and wish to file these items with the
State of Maine follow these steps:

1. Verify with the state of address that it is permissible to report to Maine.
2. Group owners by state.
3. Check the dormancy period for the state of last known address.

*If the state of address does not allow reciprocal reporting you must report directly to that state. 
*Stock properties must be reported directly to the state of address. 
*Safe deposit boxes must be reported to the state where they are held.
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General FAQs
What is Unclaimed Property?

All property unclaimed by its owner for a specific period of time, called a dormancy period.  Unclaimed intangible property may
include: dormant savings and checking accounts, unclaimed wages, dividends, credit balances and any type of outstanding check.  
Tangible property may include contents of safe deposit boxes or other safekeeping depository (for a more detailed list, see pages 4 & 5).

When should bank accounts for the benefit of a minor be reported? 
In the case of a deposit for the benefit of a minor, the later of 3 years after either the last indication of interest by the owner or the
date on which the minor reaches 18 years of age. We interpret “for the benefit of” to mean an account in which the funds may be
used only for the benefit of the minor and that upon the 18th birthday of the minor the account passes to the sole possession of
the minor.  This does not include an account that simply includes the name of a person who is a minor and is regardless of dormancy fees.

What attempts are made by the State to find the rightful owner?
The Treasurer’s office publishes unclaimed properties in its searchable database located at www.maine.gov/unlcaimed.  This
website is promoted throughout the year and allows claimants to both search and file claims for property in their name.
Additionally, we target specific properties for research, and utilize direct mailing to owners of property received in the latest
reporting period.   The Treasurer’s office also receives support from State legislators who are an important part of our outreach
program as they utilize their extensive networks to locate owners of unclaimed property in their districts each year.

Do I need to file my report electronically?
Yes.  We appreciate all reports filed electronically.  

Who is a Holder?
All business entities that possess or have custody of unclaimed property.

What happens if a holder does NOT report unclaimed property?
A holder who fails to report, pay or deliver property within the time prescribed by law will be assessed interest from the date the
property should have been reported.   In addition the state my impose penalties of $200-$1000 per day.

Is there a minimum amount?
No.  Businesses must report all unclaimed property, no matter how small.  The State Treasurer safeguards the property forever.

Do I need to include the detail (names, addresses, social security numbers and amounts) for aggregate items?
If you have the detail, please report it electronically.

What if my business sold gift certificates or gift cards that have not been redeemed?
Gift certificates/obligations are reportable by May 1st of the third calendar year after, but not including, the year in which they
were sold.  The dormancy period for gift cards is 2 years as of December 31. The amount unclaimed is 60% of the face value.  No
dormancy fees or inactivity charges are allowed.  Effective for Gift Certificates sold on or after 12/31/2011, if a gift certificate was
sold by a single issuer who, in the past calendar year, sold no more than $250,000 in face value of gift certificates, the gift
certificates would not be reportable as unclaimed property.

What is the dormancy period for municipalities and government entities?
There is a one year dormancy period for all property types held by municipalities and government entities.

What is activity?
An owner-generated transaction on or communication about an account or the negotiation of a check or other instrument by the payee.

Are negative reports required?
If your company is incorporated or physically located in Maine a report is required unless you have filed 3 consecutive negative
reports and still have nothing to report.



Gift Obligation - An obligation of a business association arising
from a transaction between the business association and a
consumer to provide goods or services from a single issuer at a
future date.  This includes, but is not limited to, a gift certificate,
gift card, on-line gift account or other representation or evidence
of the obligation.

Holder - The entity or person who controls the unclaimed
property until it is transferred to the owner or the state on behalf
of the owner.

Indemnification - An agreement that protects a party from loss
by transferring the responsibilities to a third party. The state of
Maine indemnifies the holder, protecting the holder from
liability, and assumes the responsibility to return the property to
the owner.

Indemnity Bond - An insurance policy that protects the state
from future claims against property once paid to a claimant.

Intangible Property - Property that cannot be held in your hand,
something that is abstract, or represented by a symbol. For
example, an ownership interest in a company is represented by a
stock certificate; a bank balance is represented by a passbook or
a statement.

NAUPA - National Association of Unclaimed Property
Administrators, an organization of state representatives who
have responsibility for overseeing state unclaimed property
programs. {www.unclaimed.org}

Owner - A person having legal or equitable claim to the
unclaimed property.

Person - Any individual, business association, governmental
subdivision or agency, public corporation or authority, estate,
trust, two or more persons having a joint or common interest, or
any other legal or commercial entity.

Prefunded Bank Card - A device issued by a financial
organization that enables the cardholder to transfer the
underlying funds to multiple merchants at the merchants’ point of
sale terminals.  The term “multiple merchants” means all
merchants of goods or services, not just those associated with the
issuer or a particular business or group of businesses, that accept
electronic transactions.

Stored Value Card - A card that provides a way to make a
transaction for goods or services from a single issuer using
magnetic stripe technology to store information about funds that
have been prepaid on it.  This does not include prefunded bank
cards.

Tangible Property - Personal property that is physical in nature.
A diamond ring and a silver coin are examples.

Abandoned/Unclaimed Property - Tangible or intangible
property that is unclaimed by its rightful owner after a significant
period of time, (see pages 4-5 for details).  This does not include
real estate, animals and vehicles.

Abandonment Period - See Dormancy Period.

Activity - An action taken on property by the owner, which may
include making a deposit or withdrawal, writing a memorandum
to the holder, or taking any action that according to the law is
adequate to determine that the owner is aware of the property.

Affidavit - A written declaration made under oath before a notary
public or other authorized officer of the court.

Aggregate - A group of multiple individual owner accounts
reported in one lump sum total.

Demutualization - A reorganization, in which a mutual
insurance company becomes a stock company. This is
accomplished through the payment of stock or cash to
policyholders upon the discontinuation of the mutual company.
Demutalization has no impact on the actual insurance policy.
{claims-info.com}

Date of Last Activity - The most recent date that the owner and
the holder of the property made "active" contact with each other.
This is also known as the "date of last activity." Examples of
activity dates include the issue date of a check and a customer's
date of deposit into a checking account.

Dormancy Period - The period of time, also referred to as the
abandonment period, during which an owner of property does
not take action on his property. (See Activity.) The dormancy
period is determined by the type of property and may vary from
1 to 15 years.  (For a complete list, see pages 4-5.)

Due Diligence - The reasonable and meaningful degree of effort
required by law of an unclaimed property holder to find the
rightful owner before the property is sent to the state. Usually
this is in the form of an Owner Notification Letter.

Escheat - When the title to property is transferred to the state,
making the state the legal owner. The State of Maine acts as the
custodian of reported property and does not take title by escheat.

Gift Card - Please see Gift Obligation.

Gift Certificate - Please see Gift Obligation.

Glossary of Terms
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To request an extension

All requests for extensions must be in
writing and submitted to the Treasurer
BEFORE the reporting deadline.  Please
use the form provided on
www.maine.gov/unclaimed property.
See Title 33, Chapter 41 §1953 6.

Need assistance?

Contact:
Office of the State Treasurer
Attn: Unclaimed Property
39 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0039

Telephone: 207-624-7470

Toll Free (in Maine) 888-283-2808

Fax: 207-287-2367

Email: up.holderinquiry@maine.gov

www.maine.gov/unclaimed

Checklist

❑ Have you mailed an 
Owner Notification? Page 6.

❑ Have you signed the Holder
Verification Form? Page 8.

❑ Have you filed your report 
electronically?

❑ Have you included the remittance
for all items except safe deposit
box contents?  Checks are payable to:
Treasurer State of Maine. For account
information to wire funds call:
207-624-7470.

For stock and/or mutual funds:
❑ Have you faxed a summary of the

securities report to Maine’s account
representive at Xerox Business
Services? 

❑ Have you mailed the original
certificates/statements to Mellon Trust
in Maine’s nominee name,
Katahdin & Co? Page 9.


