Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages & Lottery Operations

	DIVISION USE ONLY

	License No:

	Class:                                    By:

	Deposit Date:

	Amt. Deposited:

	Cash  Ck  Mo:


Liquor Licensing & Enforcement Division

[image: image1.png]


8 State House Station,

Augusta, ME 04333-0008

Phone:  (207) 624-7220

Fax:  (207) 287-3434

Email inquiries: MaineLiquor@Maine.gov

Hotel Mini-bar Application
PRESENT LICENSE EXPIRES:  __________________________

 Fee Schedule

Hotels with a current Liquor License………………………………………………………………………….$100.00

Number of Mini-bars requested__________ X $5.00 @ Mini-bar =_________________  

Hotels without a Liquor License……………………………………………………………………………….$200.00

Number of Mini-bars requested__________ X $10.00 @ Mini-bar =_____________

Filing Fee…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..$10.00

	Corporation Name:
	Business Name (D/B/A)

	 APPLICANT(S) –(Sole Proprietor)                          DOB:                                                                                                                                                      
	Physical Location:

	                                                                                            DOB:
	City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code

	Address
	Mailing Address

	City/Town                                               State                Zip Code
	City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code

	Telephone Number                                 Fax Number
	Business Telephone Number                           Fax Number

	Federal I.D. #
	Seller Certificate #:

or Sales Tax #:

	Email Address:

Please Print
	Website:


ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED IN FULL
1.  Is applicant a corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership?        YES   ☐    NO  ☐
If Yes, please complete Corporate Information Required for Business Entities who are licensees. 
2.  If manager is to be employed, give name:  _____________________________________________________________

3.  If business is NEW or under new ownership, indicate starting date:  ____________________________________

     Requested inspection date:  _______________________________     Business hours:  _________________________

4. Business records are located at: _______________________________________________________________________

5. Is/are applicants(s) citizens of the United States?               YES   ☐   NO  ☐
6. Is/are applicant(s) residents of the State of Maine?             YES   ☐   NO  ☐




Rev 1-2017
7. List name, date of birth, and place of birth for all applicants, managers, and bar managers.  Give maiden name, if married:  

      Use a separate sheet of paper if necessary.

	Name in Full   (Print Clearly)
	DOB
	Place of Birth

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years (Limit answer to city & state)

	

	


8. Has/have applicant(s) or manager ever been convicted of any violation of the law, other then minor traffic violations, 

      of any State of the United States?     YES ☐    NO  ☐
     Name:  ______________________________________________     Date of Conviction:  _______________________

     Offense:  ____________________________________________     Location:  ________________________________

     Disposition:  _________________________________________

9. Will any law enforcement official benefit financially either directly or indirectly in your license, if issued?  

       Yes  ☐    No    ☐     If  Yes, give name:  _____________________________________________________________

10. Has/have applicant(s) formerly held a Maine liquor license?     YES   ☐    NO  ☐
11. Does/do applicant(s) own the premises?  Yes  ☐     No ☐      If No give name and address of owner:  ______________

  ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

12. Does/do applicant(s) have all the necessary permits required by the State Department of Human Services?  

      YES ☐    NO  ☐     Applied for:  ______________________

13. What is the distance from the premises to the NEAREST school, school dormitory, church, chapel or parish house, 

      measured from the main entrance of the premises to the main entrance of the school, school dormitory, church, chapel

      or parish house by the ordinary course of travel?  __________  Which of the above is nearest?  __________________

14. Have you received any assistance financially or otherwise (including any mortgages) from any source other than your-

      self in the establishment of your business?     YES  ☐     NO  ☐
      If YES, give details:  _____________________________________________________________________________

 The Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement is hereby authorized to obtain and examine all books, records and tax 

 returns pertaining to the business, for which this liquor license is requested, and also such books, records and returns

 during the year in which any liquor license is in effect.

 NOTE:  “I understand that false statements made on this form are punishable by law.  Knowingly supplying false information

 on this form is a Class D offense under the Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year or by monetary 

 fine of up to $2,000 or both.”

Dated at:  _______________________________________  on  _________________________, 20 _____
                                                            Town/City, State                                                                                     Date

                                                                    Please sign in blue ink

_____________________________________________________                                                     ____________________________________________________       

 Signature of Applicant or Corporate Officer(s)                                          Signature of Applicant or Corporate Officer(s)

______________________________________                                         _____________________________________ 

                        Print Name                                                                                                       Print Name

STATE OF MAINE

Dated at:  _____________________________________, Maine _________________________________ 
                                                        City/Town                                                                                                          (County)
On:  _________________________________________
                                                   Date

The undersigned being:           ☐          Municipal Officers       ☐    County Commissioners                         of the 

☐  City     ☐  Town    ☐   Plantation  ☐     Unincorporated Place of:  ___________________________________, Maine

Hereby certify that we have given public notice on this application and held public hearing thereon as required by Section 653 Title 28A, Maine Revised Statutes and herby approve said application.

______________________________________________         _______________________________________________

________________________________________________________           __________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________           __________________________________________________________

THIS APPROVAL EXPIRERS IN 60 DAYS

§653. Hearings; bureau review; appeal 

1. Hearings.  The municipal officers or, in the case of unincorporated places, the county commissioners of the county in which the unincorporated place is located, may hold a public hearing for the consideration of applications for new on-premises licenses and applications for transfer of location of existing on-premises licenses. The municipal officers or county commissioners may hold a public hearing for the consideration of requests for renewal of licenses, except that when an applicant has held a license for the prior 5 years and a complaint has not been filed against the applicant within that time, the applicant may request a waiver of the hearing. 

A. The bureau shall prepare and supply application forms. [1993, c. 730, §27 (AMD).]

B. The municipal officers or the county commissioners, as the case may be, shall provide public notice of any hearing held under this section by causing a notice, at the applicant's prepaid expense, stating the name and place of hearing, to appear on at least 3 consecutive days before the date of hearing in a daily newspaper having general circulation in the municipality where the premises are located or one week before the date of the hearing in a weekly newspaper having general circulation in the municipality where the premises are located. [1995, c. 140, §4 (AMD).]

C. If the municipal officers or the county commissioners, as the case may be, fail to take final action on an application for a new on-premises license or transfer of the location of an existing on-premises license within 60 days of the filing of an application, the application is deemed approved and ready for action by the bureau. For purposes of this paragraph, the date of filing of the application is the date the application is received by the municipal officers or county commissioners. This paragraph applies to all applications pending before municipal officers or county commissioners as of the effective date of this paragraph as well as all applications filed on or after the effective date of this paragraph. This paragraph applies to an existing on-premises license that has been extended pending renewal. The municipal officers or the county commissioners shall take final action on an on-premises license that has been extended pending renewal within 120 days of the filing of the application. [2003, c. 213, §1 (AMD).]

D. If an application is approved by the municipal officers or the county commissioners but the bureau finds, after inspection of the premises and the records of the applicant, that the applicant does not qualify for the class of license applied for, the bureau shall notify the applicant of that fact in writing. The bureau shall give the applicant 30 days to file an amended application for the appropriate class of license, accompanied by any additional license fee, with the municipal officers or county commissioners, as the case may be. If the applicant fails to file an amended application within 30 days, the original application must be denied by the bureau. The bureau shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision to deny the application including the reasons for the denial and the rights of appeal of the applicant. [1995, c. 140, §5 (NEW).]   [ 2003, c. 213, §1 (AMD) .] 

2. Findings.  In granting or denying an application, the municipal officers or the county commissioners shall indicate the reasons for their decision and provide a copy to the applicant. A license may be denied on one or more of the following grounds: 
A. Conviction of the applicant of any Class A, Class B or Class C crime; [1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]

B. Noncompliance of the licensed premises or its use with any local zoning ordinance or other land use ordinance not directly related to liquor control; [1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]

C. Conditions of record such as waste disposal violations, health or safety violations or repeated parking or traffic violations on or in the vicinity of the licensed premises and caused by persons patronizing or employed by the licensed premises or other such conditions caused by persons patronizing or employed by the licensed premises that unreasonably disturb, interfere with or affect the ability of persons or businesses residing or located in the vicinity of the licensed premises to use their property in a reasonable manner; [1993, c. 730, §27 (AMD).]

D. Repeated incidents of record of breaches of the peace, disorderly conduct, vandalism or other violations of law on or in the vicinity of the licensed premises and caused by persons patronizing or employed by the licensed premises; [1989, c. 592, §3 (AMD).]

E. A violation of any provision of this Title; [2009, c. 81, §1 (AMD).]

F. A determination by the municipal officers or county commissioners that the purpose of the application is to circumvent the provisions of section 601; and [2009, c. 81, §2 (AMD).]

G. After September 1, 2010, server training, in a program certified by the bureau and required by local ordinance, has not been completed by individuals who serve alcoholic beverages. [2009, c. 81, §3 (NEW).] 
[ 2009, c. 81, §§1-3 (AMD) .] 

3. Appeal to bureau.  Any applicant aggrieved by the decision of the municipal officers or county commissioners under this section may appeal to the bureau within 15 days of the receipt of the written decision of the municipal officers or county commissioners. The bureau shall hold a public hearing in the city, town or unincorporated place where the premises are situated. In acting on such an appeal, the bureau may consider all licensure requirements and findings referred to in subsection 2. 

A. [1993, c. 730, §27 (RP).]

B. If the decision appealed from is an application denial, the bureau may issue the license only if it finds by clear and convincing evidence that the decision was without justifiable cause. [1993, c. 730, §27 (AMD).] [ 1995, c. 140, §6 (AMD) .] 
4. No license to person who moved to obtain a license.  [ 1987, c. 342, §32 (RP) .] 

5. Appeal to District Court.  Any person or governmental entity aggrieved by a bureau decision under this section may appeal the decision to the District Court within 30 days of receipt of the written decision of the bureau. 

An applicant who files an appeal or who has an appeal pending shall pay the annual license fee the applicant would otherwise pay. Upon resolution of the appeal, if an applicant's license renewal is denied, the bureau shall refund the applicant the prorated amount of the unused license fee. [ 1995, c. 140, §7 (AMD); 1999, c. 547, Pt. B, §78 (AMD); 1999, c. 547, Pt. B, §80 (AFF) .] 

All fees must accompany application, made payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine

Payments by check subject to penalty provided by Sec. 3-B, Title 28A, MRS
Please mail to: 

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages & Lottery Operations

Liquor Licensing & Enforcement 

8 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0008  (Regular address)
10 Water Street, Hallowell, ME 04347   (Overnight mail)

Email inquiries: MaineLiquor@Maine.gov 
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