Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help
For Immediate Release      
May 3, 2001
Contact: Dan A. Gwadosky

Secretary Gwadosky Presents Lorraine M. Fleury Award to Sally Bryant
Outstanding Contribution to Election Process Honored at Annual Elections Conference

Rockport--During the Eighth Annual Elections Conference sponsored by his Department, Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky presented the Lorriane M. Fleury Award to Sally Bryant of Brunswick.  

The Lorraine M. Fleury Award is presented to an individual for their outstanding contributions to the election process.  The Award seeks to honor the person who has made a significant contribution to the election process and exemplifies the qualities of fairness, experience, knowledge and service.  The Award is named after Lorraine M. Fleury who was the long time Elections Director for the State of Maine and who exemplifies the qualities that are the criteria for this Award.

“Through her work with the League of Women Voters, Sally Bryant has spent a number of years promoting voter education and voter registration throughout the State of Maine,” said Secretary Gwadosky.  “Both she and the League of Women Voters have had a long standing relationship with the Secretary of State and our shared vision that promoting voter registration and providing information to voters were essential for keeping our democracy strong.”

Sally Bryant served as president of the League of Women Voters of Maine from 1995 to 1999.  She worked with former Secretary of State Bill Diamond, on the Democracy Improvement Project in 1995 that reviewed the state’s election processes and developed a number of election reforms that improved Maine’s election practices and ballot access.

During her time as president of the state league, Sally served on a number of election advisory groups at the request of Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky, including the Maine Student/Parent Mock Election Steering Committee, Promote the Vote Committee, Ballot Clarity Board and the Committee to Improve Voter Participation.

Through Sally’s foresight and persistence, the League of Women Voters established an Education Fund in 1997 that has provided funding for a variety of voter service and education projects.  This fund has allowed the League of Women Voters to provide 5 different instructional brochures on voting and government to Girls’ State attendees, various organizations and the general public.  This Fund also assisted in the production and distribution of the “It’s Time to Vote” video developed in conjunction with the Secretary of State’s Office.  Sally continues to serve as the chairperson of the Education Fund activities.

In 1999, Sally turned her energy to the Brunswick Area League of Women Voters, as president.  Through her efforts and those of its members, the Brunswick Area League has become very active in providing voter registration and voter service to the residents of the greater Brunswick Area.  In particular, Sally has organized local candidate forums and has worked with Brunswick, Morse and Mt. Ararat High Schools on voter registration drives.  She has also worked with the Bowdoin College Women’s Studies and Government classes and this past fall, the Brunswick Area League held a forum on youth voting.

Individuals who have been honored in the past are Gerald P. Berube of Lewiston, Linda C. Cohen of South Portland, D. Brenda Caldwell of Gorham, Ethelyn Marthia of Kennebunk, Deborah S. Cabana of Brunswick, Debra Lane of Cape Elizabeth and Kathleen Montejo of Lewiston.