Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

February 20 , 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Chip Gavin
(207) 626-8400

Special Election Results in Biddeford Certified by Secretary of State;
Stephen Raymond Beaudette Elected in House District 18

AUGUSTA, MAINE -- Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky has certified results from a special election held on February 3, 2004 to fill a vacancy in the Maine House of Representatives. Stephen Raymond Beaudette of Biddeford was elected in House District 18. The vacancy resulted from State Representative Marie Laverriere-Boucher ‘s resignation.

Secretary Gwadosky certified the following vote totals:

Stephen Raymond Beaudette (Democrat-Biddeford)
Dorothy LaFortune (Green Independent-Biddeford) 226
Brian C. Pooler (Republican-Biddeford) 33

“Election officials in Biddeford and at the state level worked quickly and carefully to conduct this special election. They should be commended, along with the voters of Biddeford who participated,” Gwadosky commented.