Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

January 8 , 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Chip Gavin
(207) 626-8400

Special Election For Biddeford House Seat
Set for February 3rd

AUGUSTA, MAINE -- Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky announced on Thursday that a special election in Maine House of Representatives District 18 will be held on Tuesday, February 3, 2004. The election is needed to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Marie Laverriere-Boucher last month.

In accordance with Maine’s election laws (Title 21-A), Governor John E. Baldacci issued a proclamation on Wednesday declaring the vacancy and ordering the appropriate political committees to meet.

The Democratic, Green Independent and Republican committees in Biddeford have until 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 15, 2004 to file a Certificate of Nomination with the Office of the Secretary of State to place the name of a candidate on the February 3rd ballot. Nomination petitions for candidates who are not enrolled in a party are available through the Elections Division and must be filed by the January 15th deadline.

Voters in House District 18 may now request an absentee ballot from the municipality. Blank (write-in) absentee ballots are being provided to Biddeford, and printed absentee ballots with the candidates’ names will be made available once those names are reported to the Secretary of State by the respective political parties, or once any non-party candidates file the required petitions.

The Department of the Secretary of State is responsible for accepting and reviewing the Certificates of Nomination, printing the ballots, providing information and assistance to municipal officials as needed, and confirming the election results.

“Voters in House District 18 are encouraged to participate in the upcoming special election. Maine has a long-standing tradition of strong voter turnout, and set a record last November for turnout in an off-year referendum election,” Secretary Gwadosky commented. “This election offers the voters of District 18 another opportunity to carry on that tradition by participating in our democratic process.”