Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

June 16, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dan Gwadosky
(207) 626-8400

Secretary of State Gwadosky Announces
Primary Election Recount Schedule

AUGUSTA, MAINE -- Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky outlined the initial schedule of June 8th Primary Election recounts on Wednesday. He explained that candidates had until 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 15, 2004 to formally request a recount. Six legislative primary elections will be recounted—three House and three Senate races. All recounts will be held at the Maine State Police Crime Lab in Augusta.

A complete list of recounts, with currently available scheduling information, is printed below. The first recount will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, June 18, 2004. It will involve Senate District 23 Democratic primary candidates Peter P. Misluk, Jr. and Wesley J. Rothermel. Unofficial election totals indicated that Mr. Misluk received 987 votes and Mr. Rothermel received 953 votes.

As required by Maine law, the ballots were sealed in special security containers in each community on election night. The State Police are collecting all ballot boxes from each community involved in the six upcoming recounts. They will be kept in a secure State Police facility until the recounts.  Recounts are a public proceeding, but the number of observers is limited by the size of the recount site.

During a recount, representatives for each candidate and staff members of the state’s Elections Division manually review each ballot to determine if the initial tabulation in the election is correct. The candidates may revise the election results based on the recount and by their mutual agreement.

A candidate who requests and receives a recount may withdraw from the recount, thus ending the process, at any time while the recount shows that candidate did not win the election. If, however, the candidate requesting the recount overtakes and passes the candidate who initially appeared to win the election, the candidate requesting the recount may not withdraw the request.

If a recount produces enough disputed ballots to affect the outcome of the election, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court shall review the disputed ballots and will determine the outcome of the election.


June 8, 2004 Primary Election Recount Schedule
Maine State Police Crime Lab

Augusta , Maine


Friday, June 18, 2004
9:00 a.m.

Senate District #23
Democratic Primary

Peter P. Misluk, Jr.
Wesley J. Rothermel


Monday, June 21, 2004
9:00 a.m.

Senate District #20
Republican Primary

Dana L. Dow
Leslie T. Fossel


Tuesday, June 22, 2004
9:00 a.m.

House District #81
Democratic Primary

Rodney C. Jennings
John D. Wakefield


Tuesday, June 22, 2004
1:30 p.m.

House District #137
Democratic Primary

Richard E. Rhames
Alan M. Casavant


Not Yet Scheduled

House District #53
Republican Primary

Billie G. Willard
Heather B. Beasley


Not Yet Scheduled

Senate District #29
Democratic Primary

Kim M. Bagley

  (Uncontested Write-In Race; 200 votes required for placement on General Election ballot.)