Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

June 4, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Dan Gwadosky
(207) 626-8400

Secretary of State Issues June Election Reminders
Secretary Gwadosky to Visit Polling Locations on Tuesday

AUGUSTA, MAINE -- Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky has issued reminders in preparation for the June 8th Primary and Referendum Election, and announced that he will visit polling locations in more than a dozen Maine communities on Tuesday to thank election workers and greet voters.

“Maine voters have an opportunity to have their voices heard through the election process on Tuesday. My hope is people will register and participate, and carry on Maine 's long history and tradition of strong civic participation,” Secretary Gwadosky commented.

Gwadosky highlighted Maine election law that permits voter registration until and including Election Day. He encouraged those not currently registered to visit their municipality's Registrar of Voters, typically at the town office or city hall. A listing of Municipal Registrars is available online at or by calling Maine 's Elections Division at 624-7650.

The Secretary also reminded voters that they do not need to have a specific reason, or be unable to visit the polls on Election Day, to cast an absentee ballot. Voters can request an absentee ballot by calling or visiting their Municipal Clerk. A listing of Clerks is found on the Secretary of State's website at or by calling Maine 's Elections Division.

Gwadosky noted that all voters may cast a ballot in Tuesday's referendum election, while those enrolled in a political party may vote for candidates on their party's primary election ballot. A listing of primary election candidates is found at .

The Secretary of State will visit the following locations on Election Day, June 8th . He will thank election workers and greet voters. He will also be available to answer questions from the press and public.

Augusta 7:30 – 7:50 a.m. City Hall
Randolph 8:15 – 8:40 a.m. Town Hall
Dresden 9:00 – 9:20 a.m. Old Town Hall
Newcastle 9:50 – 10:10 a.m. Fire Station
Waldoboro 10:30 – 10:50 a.m. Fire Station/Town Office
Thomaston 11:15 – 11:40 a.m. Watts Hall (Upstairs from Town Office)
Rockland 12:00 – 12:30 p.m. Recreation Center (44 Limerock Street)
Camden 1:30 – 1:50 p.m. Fire Station
Belfast 2:30 – 3:00 p.m. City Hall
Searsport 3:20 – 3:40 p.m. Public Safety Building
Winterport 4:10 – 4:30 p.m. Samuel L. Wagner Middle School
Hampden 4:50 – 5:10 p.m. Municipal Building
Bangor 5:45 – 6:30 p.m. Fourteenth Street School