Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

For Immediate Release
August 1, 2002
Contact: Dan A. Gwadosky

Secretary Gwadosky Invites Local Officials
to Demonstration of Rapid Renewal

Friday, August 2, 2002 at 2:00 p.m.
Caribou Inn and Convention Center
19 Main Street, Caribou

Renewing your vehicle registration is an annual event that generally requires getting in line at the town office to pay the municipal excise tax, and then for some getting in line again at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to pay the registration fee. Have you ever wondered if there is an easier way?

Now, there is--with Rapid Renewal, a online service introduced by Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky in December 2000 and currently available in 30 municipalities around the state. Instead of getting in line, you can get online to renew your vehicle registration. Just point and click, and in a few easy steps you can pay your municipal excise tax and registration fee from your home, office or any other convenient location with Internet access.

Secretary Gwadosky has invited Aroostook County Legislative and Municipal Officials to a presentation on e-government and a demonstration of Rapid Renewal on August 2, 2002 at 2:00 p.m. at the Caribou Inn and Convention Center.

"Rapid Renewal is a groundbreaking Internet service that moves Maine closer to the concept of
e-government. Rapid Renewal allows citizens to conduct business online with municipal and state government in one seamless transaction," stated Secretary Gwadosky. "This is one of the first municipal and state government partnerships in the country to provide integrated e-commerce services online," Secretary Gwadosky continued. "We are anxious to expand this convenient online service to more municipalities and their citizens."

The Rapid Renewal program is sponsored by Secretary of State Dan A. Gwadosky and was developed cooperatively by his department, ten pilot municipalities, and InforME, the Information Resource of Maine. Municipal participation in the program is voluntary.

Rapid Renewal may be accessed through a participating municipality's web site, or, the Department of the Secretary of State's site for online services. Rapid Renewal is currently available in Arundel, Bangor, Bowdoinham, Brewer, Brunswick, Cape Elizabeth, Chelsea, China, Corinna, Dover-Foxcroft, Fairfield, Falmouth, Fort Kent, Gorham, Hermon, Holden, Jay, Lewiston, Norway, Phippsburg, Portland, Richmond, Saco, South Portland, Standish, Vassalboro, Waterville, Westbrook, Wiscasset and Yarmouth.