Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Weekly Rule-making Notices > November 27, 2013

November 27, 2013

WEEKLY NOTICES OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the internet at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules. There is also a list of rule-making liaisons, who are single points of contact for each agency.


PROPOSALS


AGENCY: 18-674 - Department of Administrative and Financial Services (DAFS), Maine Board of Tax Appeals
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 100, Maine Board of Tax Appeals Practice and Procedure
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P275
DETAILED BASIS STATEMENT / SUMMARY: The Board is amending Ch. 100 of its rules in order to comply with recent legislative changes contained in P.L. 2013, c. 45 and P.L. 2013 c. 331, which primarily concern when taxpayers may appeal to the Board and who may represent taxpayers before the Board. Additionally, based on the Board's experiences thus far and in response to suggestions from parties that have appeared before the Board, the proposed amendments to Ch. 100 will: (1) change the current process for submitting documents, which calls for simultaneous submissions from the parties, to one that uses a staggered set of submissions (with page limits), whereby taxpayers submit their arguments first and Maine Revenue Services submits an answer; (2) explain what information the Board will consider in an appeal; (3) create a detailed process for requesting a subpoena from an Appeals Officer; (4) increase both the amount of notice given to parties of Board meetings and the number of days prior to Board meetings by which parties must submit statements of position and requests to address the Board; and (5) formalize the procedure for parties to orally address the Board. Finally, the proposed amendments include a number of suggestions by the Appeals Office staff for clarifying the existing rules, correcting minor errors and making the rules more uniform in their format and terminology.
PUBLIC HEARING: None
COMMENT DEADLINE: January 7, 2014
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION / RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Robert A. Creamer, Chief Appeals Officer, Maine Board of Tax Appeals, 134 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0134. Telephone: (207) 287-2866. E-mail: Robert.A.Creamer@Maine.gov.
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 36 M.R.S. §151-D(10)
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: P.L. 2013, c. 45 and P.L. 2013 c.331, Part B.
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/boardoftaxappeals/.
DAFS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Jennifer.M.Smith@Maine.gov.


AGENCY: 94-457 - Finance Authority of Maine (FAME)
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P276 (Repeal)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 323, Dental Equipment Revolving Loan Program
BRIEF SUMMARY: The rule is being repealed since the Finance Authority of Maine and the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) have terminated the agreement to administer the program and the program funds have been returned to DHHS.
PUBLIC HEARING: None. One would be scheduled at the request of 5 or more persons.
COMMENT DEADLINE: December 27, 2013
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Katryn Gabrielson, Deputy General Counsel, PO Box 949, Augusta, ME 04332-0949. Telephone: (800) 228-3734 ext. 3515. Fax: (207) 623-0095. E-mail: kgabrielson@famemaine.com. Website: www.famemaine.com .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 10 MRSA §969 A(14)
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
FAME RULE-MAKING LIAISON: croney@maine.gov.


AGENCY: 18-553 – Department of Administrative and Financial Services (DAFS), Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations / Maine State Liquor and Lottery Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 20, Powerball Rules
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P277
DETAILED BASIS STATEMENT / SUMMARY: This amendment updates the existing rules governing the draw jackpot game Powerball for the Power Play option of the game. This amendment adds back the random multiplier for Power Play of 2, 3, 4 and 5 times the base prize amount for Power Play. In order to sell Powerball tickets in Maine, the Maine State Liquor and Lottery Commission must adopt uniform provisions of these rules for Powerball as required by Multi State Lottery Association and its selling agreement with Maine. The Multi-State Lottery Association is the governing body for the Powerball game.
Copies of the rule are available by contacting the Maine Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations, 8 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0008.
PUBLIC HEARING: No Public Hearing
COMMENT DEADLINE: December 30, 2013
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Timothy R. Poulin, Deputy Director, Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations, 8 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0008. Telephone: (207) 287-6750. Fax: (207) 287-6769. E-mail: Tim.Poulin@Maine.gov.
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None
IDENTIFICATION OF PRIMARY SOURCE OF INFORMATION: Multi-State Lottery Association and Professional Judgment
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 8 MRSA §374 and 8 MRSA §372 sub-§2 ¶I
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
DAFS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Jennifer.M.Smith@Maine.gov.


AGENCY: 05-071 - Department of Education (DOE)
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P278
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 115, Certification, Authorization and Approval of Education Personnel: Part I, Standards and Procedures for Certification, Authorization, and Approval; Part II, Requirements for Specific Certificates and Endorsements
BRIEF SUMMARY:
1. On September 15, 2012, Ch. 114 (“Purpose, Standards and Procedures for the Review and Approval of Educational Personnel Preparation Programs”) underwent changes. Among the approved amendments included the addition of a course in special education law to administrative certificates already requiring federal and Maine civil rights and education law. Accordingly, Ch. 115, Part II, must now be opened to revise the corresponding certification rules.
2. The summer and early fall of 2012 saw the State Board of Education react to a directive from Public Law 635: LD 1858 “An Act to Ensure Effective Teaching and School Leadership” and established an alternative pathways stakeholders group to review possible changes to Maine’s certification regulations. The group made recommendations to the certification examination process for Career and Technical Education (CTE) teachers. The content knowledge exam would be replaced by industry credentials or industry-related exams. The pedagogical skills and knowledge assessment would be replaced by a series of four pedagogical courses. Also recommended is the requirement of a CTE orientation program for new teachers within the first year of employment. Transition language is included to allow those continuously certified under conditional certificates to continue under current rules, but all new CTE teachers would fall under the new rules from September 1, 2015, forward.
PUBLIC HEARING: Thursday, December 19, 2013, 1:00-3:00 p.m., Room 500, Cross Office Building, Augusta
COMMENT DEADLINE: Tuesday, December 31, 2013, 5:00 p.m.
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Mark A. Cyr, Department of Education, Certification Office, 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0023. Telephone: (207) 624-6603. Fax: (207) 624-6604. TTY 1 (888) 577-6690. E-mail: Mark.Cyr@Maine.gov . Website: http://www.maine.gov/doe.
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: N/A
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 20-A MRSA §13011(1)
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: same
DOE RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Deborah.Friedman@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 884, Designation of Cadmium as a Priority Chemical and Regulation of Cadmium in Children's Products; Ch. 885, Designation of Formaldehyde as a Priority Chemical and Regulation of Formaldehyde in Children's Products; Ch. 886, Designation of Mercury as a Priority Chemical and Regulation of Mercury in Children's Products; and Ch. 887, Designation of Arsenic as a Priority Chemical and Regulation of Arsenic in Children's Products.
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P279 thru P282
BRIEF SUMMARY: As provided by Maine law 38 MRSA §1694, the Department has the authority to promote chemicals which are currently listed on Maine's chemicals of high concern list to priority status if it meets certain statutory criteria. A review of Maine's chemicals of high concern list has resulted in the identification of cadmium, formaldehyde, mercury, and arsenic as having the ability to cause significant known adverse health effects to the human body and may be used in children's products available for sale in the State of Maine. Each of these four chemicals meets one or more of the statutory criteria for listing as a priority chemical. Therefore, these four substances have been selected for designation as priority chemicals.
Whereas there is a lack of information available in the public domain regarding the current use of these four chemicals in children's products, the Department pursues this action in order to require reporting from manufacturers or distributors of children's products that contain these specific chemicals, which have been intentionally added to impart a specific functionality or characteristic. Reporting provides the Department with important information on how and where these chemicals are used in children's products. With this information the Department can make more informed decisions on the appropriateness of additional regulation of these chemicals when used in children's products.
Copies of these rules are available upon request by contacting the Agency contact person or on the DEP website at www.maine.gov/dep/rules/ .
Pursuant to Maine law, interested parties are publicly notified of the proposed rule-making and are provided an opportunity for comment. Written comments may be submitted by mail, e-mail or fax to the contact person before the end of the comment period. To ensure the comments are considered, they must include your name and the organization you represent, if any.
PUBLIC HEARING: December 17, 2013, 1 p.m., Department of Environmental Protection, Response Building, Blossom Lane, Augusta, Maine
COMMENT DEADLINE: January 10, 2014
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Kerri Malinowski, Maine Department of Environmental Protection, 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 215-1894. Fax: (207) 287-7641. E-mail: Kerri.Malinowski@Maine.gov .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES. None
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 38 MRSA §1694
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: None
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dep/ .
DEP RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mike.Karagiannes@Maine.gov .
---------------
*Important Notice* (received December 13, 2013)
Ch. 884, 885, 886, and 887 rule-makings are being withdrawn today to address a procedural issue. Therefore, the public hearing for Ch. 884, 885, 886, and 887, which were scheduled for Tuesday, December 17th, are cancelled. The Department will issue notifications when rule-makings for Ch. 884, 885, 886, and 887 are re-proposed.


AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission (MLC)
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #01-14
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P283
CONCISE SUMMARY: The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New England in accordance with 7 MRSA §2954.
SEE INFORMATION AT OUR WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/index.shtml .
PUBLIC HEARING: December 19, 2013, Thursday, starting at 10:30 a.m., Room 233, Department of Agriculture, Food & Rural Resources, Deering Building, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 19, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Tim Drake, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-7521. E-mail: Tim.Drake@Maine.gov .
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 5 MRSA §8054 and 7 MRSA §2954
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dacf/about/boards/milk_commission/index.shtml .
AGRICULTURE RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mari.Wells@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources (DMR)
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 25.75, Lobster Import/Export Requirements
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2013-P284
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department of Marine Resources (DMR) proposes changes to this regulation in Ch. 25.75, Lobster Import/Export Permit. The updated procedures for the lobster import/export permit were developed in consultation with permit holders. The changes are intended to improve the efficiency of tracking procedures of oversized lobsters that are legally transported through the State of Maine. The changes will result in improved enforcement along with easier compliance and reduced labor and material costs for the industry.
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled; one may be requested.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 30, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Meredith Mendelson, Deputy Commissioner (tel: 207-624-6553). Mail written comments to: Attn: Kevin Rousseau (DMR Rule-making Liaison), Department of Marine Resources, 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021. Telephone:(207) 624-6573. Fax: (207) 624-6024. TTY: (888) 577-6690 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). E-mail: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov .
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 M.R.S. §§ 6102, 6171, 6431, 6851
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/ .


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter III Section 45, Hospital Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-284
CONCISE SUMMARY:  This emergency rule increases the MaineCare hospital supplemental pool to $65.321 million, because the Legislature appropriated an additional $10.472 million.  P.L. 2013, Ch. 368, Part A, Sec. A-34. The Department is seeking approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, to amend its State plan related to hospital reimbursement, for this change.
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE:          November 15, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:     Rachel Thomas, Health Planner, Division of Policy, 242 State Street, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011, (207) 287-6124 FAX: (207) 287-9369, TTY: 711 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing),  E-Mail:  Rachel.Thomas@maine.gov
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family Independence (OFI)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 332,  MaineCare Eligibility Manual, Rule 263A, Appendix C, Pickle Amendment; Appendix F, Consent Decision Form; Appendix J, Computation of Utility Standard; Chart 3, SSI-Related Standards, Allocations and Disregards; Chart 4, Nursing Care Limits; Chart 6, Federal Poverty Levels.
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-285
CONCISE SUMMARY:  The State of Maine administers the MaineCare program pursuant to a State Plan which requires that the State rules reflect prevailing federal standards and arithmetical values.  Accordingly, the State rules are adjusted as necessary and appropriate to incorporate updated federal changes.  The proposed Rule is designed to capture such changes in the updated State rules.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 25, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Lea Kendall, MaineCare Program Manager, Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family Indepedence, 11 State House Station, 19 Union Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0111, Telephone (207) 624-4106, TTY: 711 Maine Relay,  E-Mail:  Lea.Kendall@maine.gov
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/ .
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .


AGENCY:  10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter II, Section 67, Nursing Facility Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-286
CONCISE SUMMARY:  This rulemaking permanently adopts changes made on an emergency basis to implement a provision in the 2014-15 budget law (P.L. 2013, Chap. 368), as amended by P.L. 2013, Chap. 423. Specifically, this rulemaking, retroactive to April 1, 2013, increases the number of days that MaineCare will reimburse a nursing facility for: (a) Therapeutic Leave of Absence from one (1) day to twenty (20) days per state fiscal year, and (b) Bed Hold Days from four (4) per year to seven (7) per inpatient hospitalization. The rulemaking also makes the following clerical changes: (1) inserts the word “Therapeutic” before “Leave Days for a MaineCare Member” on page 39, (2) changes that entry in the Table of Contents so that it conforms to the language on page 39.
The Department is seeking approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for a state plan amendment for this change.
See  http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 25, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Peter Kraut, Comprehensive Health Planner, Division of Policy and Performance, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011, TELEPHONE: (207)-287-6131 FAX: (207) 287-9369, TTY: 711 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing), E-Mail:  Peter.Kraut@maine.gov
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .


AGENCY:  10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter II, Section 45, Hospital Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-287
CONCISE SUMMARY:  This rulemaking permanently adopts changes made on an emergency basis to implement a provision in the 2014-15 budget law (P.L. 2013 Chap. 368), as amended by P.L. 2013 Chap. 423. Specifically, this rulemaking, retroactive to April 1, 2013, increases the number of days that MaineCare will reimburse a hospital for therapeutic Leave of Absence-During Days Awaiting Nursing Facility Placement from one (1) day to twenty (20) days per state fiscal year.  The rulemaking also makes clerical clarifications and corrections in several places: on pages 8 and 10 changing “days waiting” to “days awaiting” to be consistent with language elsewhere in the rule; and inserting the words “Therapeutic Leave of Absence During Days Awaiting Nursing Facility Placement” on page 7 and changing that entry in the Table of Contents so that it conforms to the language on page 7.
The Department is seeking approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for a state plan amendment for this change.
See  http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 25, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:     Peter Kraut, Comprehensive Health Planner, Division of Policy and Performance, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011, TELEPHONE:  (207)-287-6131 FAX: (207) 287-9369, TTY: 711 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing);
E-Mail:  Peter.Kraut@maine.gov
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .


AGENCY:  09-137 - Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 4.03, Deer Hunting – Open and Closed Season (Isleboro)
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-288
CONCISE SUMMARY:  In accordance with Title 12, MRSA, §11402, sub-§ 4, the Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife in conjunction with the Town of Islesboro in Waldo County has adopted a modification to the current special hunt on Islesboro located in Waldo County. The season will occur during a specified period from the first Monday following the end of the expanded archery season annually, for a period of three years (initial season began in 2012) with the goal of reducing the deer population in the Town of Islesboro. Only licensed hunters qualifying under the Town of Islesboro's Deer Reduction Plan may participate. Deer taken during this special hunt are in addition to the statewide bag limit. All other laws and rules relating to deer hunting shall apply. The permit from the Department to the Town of Islesboro will authorize restrictions to be placed on the length of the special hunt, types of weapons, bag limits and any other special conditions deemed necessary.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 26, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON / IFW RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 284 State Street, 41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/ifw/.


AGENCY:  90-590 - Maine Health Data Organization
CHAPTER NUMBER AND RULE TITLE:  Chapter 241, Uniform Reporting System for Hospital Inpatient Data Sets and Hospital Outpatient Data Sets
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2013-289
CONCISE SUMMARY:  This rule amendment will change the file specifications and mapping, as mandated by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, in order to accommodate the implementation of the International Classification of Diseases10th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM).
Copies of this rule can be reviewed and printed from the MHDO website at
http://mhdo.maine.gov/imhdo/recentlyadoptedrules.aspx or, to receive a paper copy call 287-6722.  This rule will not have a fiscal impact on municipalities, counties or small businesses.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 26, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON / MHDO RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Debra Dodge, Health Planner, Maine Health Data Organization, 151 Capitol Street, 102 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0102. Telephone: (207) 287-6724. E-mail: Debra.J.Dodge@Maine.gov.
WEBSITE: http://mhdo.maine.gov/imhdo/.


AGENCY:  06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Quality Control
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 156, CO2 Budget Trading Program; Ch. 158, CO2 Budget Trading Program Auction Provisions
ADOPTED RULE NUMBERS:  2013-290 thru 2013-291                     
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department adopted amendments to Chapter 156, which established a carbon dioxide cap-and-trade program in Maine to stabilize and reduce man-made emissions of CO2, a greenhouse gas, from large electric generators.  Chapter 158 established provisions for implementing and administering CO2 allowance auctions, requirements for participation and the process for bids and transfer of allowances.  The amendments reflect statutory changes passed by the Legislature requiring the Department to adopt changes to be consistent with the regional greenhouse gas initiative model rule.  This revises the annual carbon dioxide emissions budget through 2020.  The amendments also create a cost containment reserve (CCR) which provides flexibility and cost containment for the program.
Copies of these rules are available upon request by contacting the Agency contact person listed below or on the DEP website at www.maine.gov/dep/air/rules/index.html.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 26, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Eric Kennedy, Bureau of Air Quality Control, 17 State House Station, Augusta, Me 04333, TELEPHONE: 207-287-2437
E-mail: Eric.Kennedy@maine.gov
DEP WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dep/ .
DEP RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mike.Kariagannes@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Quality Control
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 163, Residential Wood Stove Replacement and Rebate Program
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2013-292
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department adopted a new rule that establishes a wood stove rebate program to remove and replace uncertified, high emitting wood stoves that were manufactured prior to 1988 and replace them with approved replacement heating appliances. To receive compensation, the owner of the old, uncertified wood stove must replace the heating unit with a lower emitting home heating device such as an EPA certified woodstove or pellet stove, or vented gas stove.
Copies of this rule are available upon request by contacting the Agency contact person or on the DEP website at www.maine.gov/dep/rules/.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 26, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:  Carolyn Wheeler, Department of Environmental Protection, 17 State House Station, Augusta, Me 04333; Telephone: 207-287-8159
E-mail: Carolyn.Wheeler@maine.gov
DEP WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dep/ .
DEP RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mike.Kariagannes@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 65-407 - Public Utilities Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:  Ch. 920, Maine Model Building Energy Code
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER:  2013-293
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Commission repeals Chapter 920, which sets forth the standards which made up the Maine Model Building Energy Code (MMBEC).  This is pursuant to Public Law 2013, ch. 120, section 14.
EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 26, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON / RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Paula J. Cyr, Public Utilities Commission, 18 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0018. Telephone: (207) 287-3831. E-mail: Paula.Cyr@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/mpuc/ .


AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission (MMC)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #12-13
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2013-294 (Emergency)
Minimum December 2013 Class I price is $23.62/cwt. plus $1.48/cwt. for Producer Margins, an over-order premium of $1.53/cwt as being prevailing in Southern New England and $0.47/cwt. handling fee for a total of $27.30/cwt. that includes a $0.20/cwt Federal promotion fee. 
Minimum prices can be found at: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/prihis.htm
EFFECTIVE DATE:  December 1, 2013
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION / RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Tim Drake, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-7521. E-mail: Tim.Drake@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/index.shtml .
AGRICULTURE RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mari.Wells@Maine.gov .