Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Weekly Rule-making Notices > October 3, 2012

October 3, 2012

WEEKLY NOTICES OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the internet at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules. There is also a list of rule-making liaisons, who are single points of contact for each agency.


PROPOSALS


AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 29, Dealer Margins
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P220
CONCISE SUMMARY: The principal reason for this rule-making is to update dealer margins.
PUBLIC HEARING: October 25, 2012, Thursday, starting at 9:30 a.m., Room 233, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Deering Building, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: November 5, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Tim Drake, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-7521. E-mail: Tim.Drake@Maine.gov .
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 MRSA §2954
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/index.shtml .
DEPARTMENTAL RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mari.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 16-226 - Department of Public Safety, Liquor Licensing and Inspections Unit
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:
Ch. 1, Operation and Control of All Licensed Premises
Ch. 4, Premises Licensed as Wholesalers, Manufacturers and Certificate of Approval
Ch. 5, Labeling
Ch. 7, Advertising and Signs Applicable to All License Holders
Ch. 11, Agency Stores
Ch. 12, Licensing Procedure
Ch. 15, Signs and Advertising
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P221 thru P227
BRIEF SUMMARY:
Ch. 1, Rule 1.B: This amendment streamlines the licensing process for the applicant and the Bureau by requiring only a supplementary questionnaire for applicants that have two or more licensed facilities when there is no material change in the original information.
Ch. 1, Rule 7.A: This amendment provides consistency with the rules set forth by the Department of Health and Human Services regarding access by the public to toilet facilities on licensed premises.
Ch. 4, Rule 4.16: This amendment allows breweries or small breweries to charge a fee if a tour or samples are offered to the public, which is consistent with the statute.
Ch. 5, Rule 5.1: This amendment eliminates the requirement for a label change when only the vintage changes. This amendment would also be consistent with Federal Regulations.
Ch. 7, Rule 7.8: The current rule is redundant and this amendment eliminates duplication and possible conflict in interpreting signage used by licensees for malt and vinous products.
Ch. 7, Rule 7.10: This amendment increases the total value of advertising matter for use inside a retail premise furnished by a manufacturer or wholesaler from $1,000.00 to $1,500.00. This new increased total amount is not to include the value of a vinous inside electric sign.
Ch. 7, Rule 7.13 & 7.14: This amendment eliminates duplicate wording by deleting rule 7.13 and corrects grammar and punctuation and numbering in rule 7.14. It identifies additional other consumer specialties in 7.14 A which may be given or sold to retail licensees such as ash trays, corkscrews and other merchandise bearing advertising as long as the licensee is not paid to distribute such materials.
Ch. 11, Rule 11.1, 11.2 and 11.4: This amendment provides consistency with the statute and defines the meaning of Bureau.
Ch. 12, Rule 12.2 and 12.5: This amendment provides the correct name and address of the Bureau by eliminating out of date language. Bureau of Liquor Enforcement, Station 87, Augusta, Maine 04333 is deleted. In addition, reference to the term Director is eliminated and replaced by the updated term Bureau.
Ch. 15, Rule 15.1: This amendment increases the number of outside signs which read: “Agency Liquor Store” from one to five and increases the size of the letters from 18” to 24”.
PUBLIC HEARING: No public hearing
COMMENT DEADLINE: Monday, November 5, 2012 at 5 p.m.
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Sergeant Michael H. Zabarsky, 164 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04330-0164. Telephone: (207) 624-7212. E-mail: Michael.H.Zabarsky@Maine.gov .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 28-A MRSA §82(2)
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dps/liqr/index.html



AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #11-12
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P228
CONCISE SUMMARY: The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New England in accordance with 7 MRSA §2954.
SEE INFORMATION AT OUR WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/index.shtml .
PUBLIC HEARING: October 18, 2012, Thursday, starting at 10:30 a.m., Room 233, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Deering Building, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 18, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Tim Drake, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-7521. E-mail: Tim.Drake@Maine.gov .
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 5 MRSA §8054 and 7 MRSA §2954
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
DEPARTMENTAL RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mari.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 09-137 – Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 4, Hunting and Trapping: 4.02 B.5., Crow Hunting
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P229
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife is proposing to establish the dates for the open season for the hunting of crows in 2013 and 2014 as follows: 2013 – Wildlife Management Districts 1 – 6: February 6, 2013 to April 15, 2013 and from August 1, 2013 to September 21, 2013. Wildlife Management Districts 7 – 29: January 21, 2013 to March 31, 2013 and from August 1, 2013 to September 21, 2013. 2014 – Wildlife Management Districts 1 – 6: February 3, 2014 to April 15, 2014 and from August 1, 2014 to September 20, 2014. Wildlife Management Districts 7 – 29: January 18, 2014 to March 31, 2014 and from August 1, 2014 to September 20, 2014. No daily bag or possession limit. The proposed dates are in compliance with Federal law.
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled – one may be requested
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 2, 2012
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION / IFW RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, 284 State Street, #41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None anticipated
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 MRSA §§ 10104 and 11855
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/ifw/ .



AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 127, New Motor Vehicle Emission Standards
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P230
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department of Environmental Protection is proposing amendments to its Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) rule, which incorporates by reference California's new motor vehicle emission standard regulations. Maine first adopted California's vehicle emission standards in 1993 (starting model year 2001), and the Department periodically amends its LEV rules to remain consistent with California's emission standards in compliance with the Clean Air Act. The proposed amendments to Maine's LEV rule would adopt the next generation of motor vehicle emission standards for criteria pollutants for 2015-2025 model years and greenhouse gases for 2017-2025 model years; revised Zero Emission Vehicle requirements; improved vehicle labeling requirements; and amendments to the existing greenhouse gas standards for passenger vehicles. These amendments will be submitted to EPA as a revision to Maine’s State Implementation Plan. Copies of this rule are available upon request by contacting the Agency contact person or on the DEP website at http://www.maine.gov/dep/rules/ .
Pursuant to Maine law, interested parties are publicly notified of the proposed rule-making and are provided an opportunity for comment. Written comments may be submitted by mail, e-mail or fax to the contact person before the end of the comment period. To ensure the comments are considered, they must include your name and the organization you represent, if any.
PUBLIC HEARING: October 23, 2012 - 2:00 p.m., DEP Response Building, 4 Blossom Lane, Augusta, Maine
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 2, 2012 - 5:00 p.m.
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION: Lynne Cayting, Maine Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Quality Control, 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-2437. Fax: (207) 287-7641. E-mail: Lynne.A.Cayting@Maine.gov .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 38 MRSA §§ 585-A, 585-D, 341-H
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dep/air/ .
DEP RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mike.Karagiannes@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 09-137 – Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Open Water and Ice Fishing Regulations; and Ch. 2.04, Rules Pertaining to Fishing Derbies
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P231 and P232
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife is proposing regulation changes for the upcoming ice fishing and open water fishing seasons and modifications to the rule pertaining to fishing derbies. These regulations are needed to provide for the effective conservation of Maine’s inland fisheries, and enhance fishing opportunities throughout the State. All of the proposals may be discussed at any of the 3 public hearings listed above. The list of proposals may be obtained from the Agency Contact Person or online at: http://www.maine.gov/ifw/laws_rules/rule-making_proposals.htm . Anyone unable to attend a public hearing may submit written comments on any of the proposals.
PUBLIC HEARINGS:
Presque Isle: October 22, 2012 @ 6:30 p.m. – Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center, 116 Main Street
Millinocket: October 23, 2012 @ 6:30 p.m. – Northern Timber Cruisers Snowmobile Clubhouse, Millinocket Lake Road
Ellsworth: October 24, 2012 @ 6:30 p.m. – City of Ellsworth, Council Chambers, 1 City Hall Plaza
Brunswick: October 25, 2012 @ 6:30 p.m. - Brunswick High School, Multi-Purpose Room, 116 Maquoit Road
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 15, 2012
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION / IFW RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, 284 State Street, #41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None anticipated
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 12 MRSA §§ 10104 & 12504
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/ifw/ .



AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources (DMR)
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 2.90, Limited-Purpose Aquaculture License Streamlining
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2012-P233
CONCISE SUMMARY: This proposed rule-making increases opportunities to use LPA licenses and streamlines the license renewal process. It implements 2009 legislation allowing LPAs to be sited in the intertidal zone and for Maine non-residents to hold LPA licenses. It further facilitates the use of marina slips, lobster pounds, and similar sites for small-scale aquaculture. Also, this rule-making proposal simplifies the license renewal process; clarifies the meaning of the size limit on license sites; clarifies the procedure for raising seed shellfish on LPA sites in prohibited areas; and adds razor clams, green sea urchins, and bay scallops to the list of species that can be cultivated with an LPA license. Finally, it corrects and clarifies wording in the existing rule.
PUBLIC HEARING: October 22, 2012 - 2 p.m. - Natural Resources Service Center Room 106, 6 Beech Street, Hallowell, Maine. Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Amanda Beckwith, at (207) 287-7578.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: November 1, 2012. To ensure consideration, comments must include your name and the organization you represent, if any. Please be aware that any risk of non-delivery associated with submissions by fax or e-mail is on the sender.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Diantha Robinson - (207) 624-6577 .
Mail written comments to: Kevin Rousseau, Regulations Officer, Department of Marine Resources, 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-6573. Fax: (207) 624-6024. TTY: (888) 577-6690 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). E-mail: Kevin.Rousseau@maine.gov .
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 M.R.S. §6072-C
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rule-making/ .


ADOPTIONS


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office for Family Independence (OFI)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 323, OFI Maine General Assistance Program Rules, Rule #10A: Section IV pages 6a, 8; Section XIII pages 36-39
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-276
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule implements provisions from the Act To Make Additional Supplemental Appropriations and Allocations for the Fiscal Year 2012 and 2013 Biennial Budget, P.L. 2011, Ch. 655, Part R, §§ R-1, R-3, R-7 and R8, which:
A. Reduces the maximum level of assistance to 90% of the maximum level of assistance in effect on April 1, 2012 for the period of July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.
B. Implements a 9-month time limit to housing assistance provided in this Chapter for the period of July 1,2012 to June 30, 2013.
C. Reduces the reimbursement rate for qualifying municipalities from 90% to 85% for the period of July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.
The Department does not anticipate that implementation and compliance with this rule will impose any cost on municipalities and counties, although a limited number of municipalities will experience a reduction in the amount of reimbursement received from the State of Maine.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 29, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Dave Maclean, Program Manager, General Assistance, Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family Independence, 11 State House Station, 19 Union Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011. Telephone: (207) 624-4138. TTY: (800) 606-0215. E-mail: Dave.Maclean@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/ .
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office for Family Independence (OFI)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 331, OFI Maine Public Assistance Manual, Rule #95A: Ch. XI, Post Employment Assistance to Working Families (pages 1-3)
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-277
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule will implement provisions from P.L. 2011, ch. 655, part S, which repeal the former transitional food benefits program, and allow the Department to provide limited transitional food benefits to meet the needs of food supplement benefit recipients living with one or more dependent children under 18 years of age who are working at least 30 hours per week or who are working at least 20 hours per week if one or more dependent child is under 6 years of age. These provisions were previously implemented through emergency rule-making on July 1, 2012.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 29, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Dawn Mulcahey, TANF Program Manager, Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family Independence, 11 State House Station, 19 Union Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011. Telephone: (207) 624-4109. TTY: (800) 606-0215. E-mail: Dawn.Mulcahey@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/ .
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #10-12
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-278 (Emergency)
CONCISE SUMMARY: Minimum October 2012 Class I price is $22.13/cwt. plus $1.48/cwt. for Producer Margins, an over-order premium of $1.53/cwt. as being prevailing in Southern New England and $0.47/cwt. handling fee for a total of $25.81/cwt. that includes a $0.20/cwt. Federal promotion fee.
Minimum prices can be found at: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/prihis.htm .
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 30, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Tim Drake, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-7521. E-mail: Tim.Drake@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/index.shtml .
AGRICULTURE RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Mari.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office of MaineCare Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II Section 80, Pharmacy Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-279
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule will adopt a variety of changes, many of which were initially implemented on an emergency basis throughout the course of three separate emergency rule-makings.
The Department is adopting this rule in part to comply with P.L. 2011, Ch. 377, Section BB-1, requiring that MaineCare Services impose a mandatory substitution for a brand-name drug of a generic and therapeutically equivalent drug as required by the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 32, section 13781, with certain exceptions. This provision was previously implemented by emergency rule. The Department had also promulgated a related emergency rule, effective 4/1/12, that further limited the number of brand-name drugs members may receive per month without Prior Authorization. However, after further legal analysis, the Department concluded that the budgetary requirement to substitute generic drugs appears to preclude a specified limit on brand-name medications.
This adopted rule also changes language that was included in an emergency rule previously adopted, effective 4/1/12 that listed medical food as a non-covered service. This exclusion was originally included to comply with an administrative initiative in the 2012 Supplemental Budget. However, after implementation, the Department discovered that members were having difficulties accessing nutritional products through a Durable Medical Equipment dealer, and promulgated an emergency rule on 6/27/12 to restore reimbursement. This rule will more permanently restore reimbursement, permitting members to continue to obtain nutritional products through a pharmacy.
This rule also finally adopts a change that was an initiative included in the Department’s Administrative Savings proposal which reduced reimbursement for brand-name drugs to Average Wholesale Price minus (-) sixteen percent. This change was included in all previous emergency rules and proposed rule-making.
This rule also implements changes that were not included in any of the three emergency rules previously adopted. There include:
* Revisions clarifying the role of the Department’s representation in the Drug Utilization Review (DUR).
* Revisions clarifying the criteria regarding prescription medications utilized for managing weight or enhancing nutrient intake.
* Additional language clarifying the documentation that may be requested by the Department when processing Prior Authorization requests for opioids or narcotic prescription medications.
* Added criteria for early refills for mail order prescriptions in excess of a ninety percent (90%) threshold, which is expected to reduce waste of prescription medications.
* The addition of Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) as a reimbursement methodology for generic, brand-name and specialty prescription medications.
* Added language indicating that a provider may bill based on the Federal Upper Limit (FUL) if it is the lowest form of reimbursement of those methodologies listed in the rule, unless the Department meets FUL in the aggregate, which is automatically calculated at the point of service. This change is necessary to comply with 42 CFR §§ 447.512 – 447.516.
* Added language governing the coverage of 340B prescription medications, the process for reimbursement of 340B medications and the enrollment instructions for those providers eligible to enroll in the 340B drug program.
* Elimination of the fee for compound medications that are stock supply and those that are solutions or lotions involving no weighing, in order to provide clarity for providers.
* Added language to request that, for compounded drugs the NDC for each active and inactive ingredient and the corresponding quantity used for each ingredient be included on the claim form.
* Removal of section 80.09-2, Returned Reusable Drugs for Retail, Pharmacy Providers. This program was previously tied to a budget initiative. However, since the implementation of the Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit (Medicare Part D), there is no longer any savings associated with this program. Removal of the reimbursement methodology of the Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for brand name drugs. After discussion with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), it was determined that FUL is not an allowable reimbursement methodology for brand-name drugs.
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/rules/index.shtml for rules and related rule-making documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Amy Dix, Policy Writer/Comprehensive Health Planner II, Division of Policy, 242 State Street, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011. Telephone: (207) 287-9342. Fax: (207) 287-9369. TTY: 711 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). E-mail: Amy.Dix@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oms/ .
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office for Family Independence (OFI)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 301, OFI Food Supplement Certification Manual, Rule #177A: Annual Standard Utility and Phone Allowance Adjustments, FS-555-5 pages 6 and 7
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-280
CONCISE SUMMARY: This Rule decreases the Full Standard Utility Allowance from $644 to $634 and the Non-Heat Utility-only Allowance from $214 to $211, and increases the Telephone Only Utility Allowance from $40 to $41. This rule will become effective October 1, 2012. Implementation and compliance with this rule change are not anticipated to impose any costs on municipalities or counties or to have any adverse impact on small businesses.
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Karen Curtis, Food Supplement Program Manager, Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Family Independence, 11 State House Station, 19 Union Street, Augusta ME 04333-0011. Telephone: (207) 624-4108. TTY: (800) 606-0215. E-mail: Karen.L.Curtis@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/ .
DHHS RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .



AGENCY: 09-137 – Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 4.03(1.8), Deer Hunting - Open and Closed Season (Islesboro)
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2012-281
CONCISE SUMMARY: In accordance with Title 12, MRSA, §11402, sub-§ 4, the Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife in conjunction with the Town of Islesboro in Waldo County has adopted rules to conduct a special deer hunt during a specified period from the first Monday following the end of the expanded archery season until December 31 annually, for a period of three years. Only licensed hunters qualifying under the Town of Islesboro's Deer Reduction Plan may participate. Deer taken during this special hunt are in addition to the statewide bag limit. All other laws and rules relating to deer hunting shall apply. The permit from the Department to the Town of Islesboro will authorize restrictions to be placed on types of weapons, bag limits and any other special conditions deemed necessary.
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2012
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON / IFW RULE-MAKING LIAISON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 284 State Street, 41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/ifw/ .