Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Weekly Rulemaking Notices Contact Us Find It

August 24, 2005
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING

Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/.


PROPOSALS

AGENCY: 99-346 - Maine State Housing Authority
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 16, Allocation of State Ceiling for Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Rule
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P143
CONCISE SUMMARY OF THE MODIFICATION TO THE PROPOSED RULE: A Notice of Agency Rule-Making Proposal concerning adoption of the Allocation of State Ceiling for Low Income Housing Tax Credit Rule was published in the State’s major newspapers on June 29, 2005. A public hearing was held on July 19, 2005 and the public comment period was held open until July 29, 2005. In response to comments that Maine State Housing Authority (MSHA) received on the Contractor Standards for MSHA-financed Multifamily Housing incorporated by reference in the rulemaking, MSHA may modify the Healthcare Coverage requirement contained in the Contractor Standards. MSHA is considering the following three options.
Option 1 (Selection Criterion):
Selection Criterion 7.E.5 Contractor-sponsored Group Health Insurance Coverage
An Applicant (or the owner of a Project if different from the Applicant) that employs contractors (including general contractors, construction managers and subcontractors) that provide a qualified group health insurance plan to their employees in accordance with the requirements of this criterion will be awarded up to 4 points, based on the percentage of contractors or the percentage of the total construction costs paid to contractors who have a qualified group health insurance plan, as follows.
If at least 70% but less than 80% of the contractors have a qualified group health insurance plan or at least 70% but less than 80% of the total construction costs are to be paid to contractors who have a qualified group health insurance plan, the Applicant will receive 1 point.
If at least 80% but less than 90% of the contractors have a qualified group health insurance plan or at least 80% but less than 90% of the total construction costs are to be paid to contractors who have a qualified group health insurance plan, the Applicant will receive 2 points.
If at least 90% but less than 100% of the contractors have a qualified group health insurance plan or at least 90% but less than 100% of the total construction costs are to be paid to contractors who have a qualified group health insurance plan, the Applicant will receive 3 points.
If 100% of the contractors have a qualified group health insurance plan or 100% of the total construction costs is to be paid to contractors who have a qualified group health insurance plan, the Applicant will receive 4 points.
A qualified group health insurance plan is a plan that either (a) provides coverage for employees and the contractor pays at least 60% of the premium for employee coverage or, in the alternative, (b) provides family coverage for employees and the contractor pays at least 50% of the premium for employee coverage plus some portion of the premium for the family coverage. The qualified group health insurance plan must be in place at the time the contractors bid on the Project and must be maintained during the construction of the Project.
Option 2 (Threshold Requirement): At least 70% of all contractors (including general contractors, construction managers and subcontractors) shall provide a qualified group health insurance plan to their employees or at least 70% of the total construction costs are to be paid to contractors (including construction managers, construction managers and subcontractors) that provide a qualified group health insurance plan to their employees in accordance with the requirements of this paragraph. A qualified group health insurance plan is a plan that either (a) provides coverage for employees and the contractor pays at least 60% of the premium for employee coverage or, in the alternative, (b) provides family coverage for employees and the contractor pays at least 50% of the premium for employee coverage plus some portion of the premium for the family coverage. The qualified group health insurance plan must be in place at the time the contractors bid on the construction of a MSHA-financed multi-family housing project and must be maintained during the construction of the project.
Option 3 (Threshold Requirement): All contractors (including general contractors, construction managers and subcontractors) shall have a group health insurance plan in place at the time they bid on the construction of a MSHA-financed multifamily housing project and shall maintain the plan during the construction of the project. Contractors shall at a minimum (a) provide coverage for their employees and pay at least 60% of the premium for employee coverage or, in the alternative, (b) provide family coverage for their employees and pay at least 50% of the premium for employee coverage plus some portion of the premium for the family coverage.
Option 3 is the Healthcare Coverage requirement in the Contractor Standards proposed in the original rulemaking.
Option 1 is a selection criterion pursuant to which applicants can compete for an allocation of low income housing tax credits. Option 2 and Option 3 are threshold requirements that applicants would be required to satisfy in order to be eligible for low-income housing tax credits.
MSHA has determined that at least one of the options is substantially different from Option 3, the original proposal, and accordingly, is requesting additional public comment on all of the options.
Upon the close of the public comment period, MSHA will consider the comments received and adopt one of the three options.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 30-A MRSA §§ 4741(1) and 4741(14), Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended
PUBLIC HEARING: None
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, September 26, 2005, 5:00 p.m.
Please submit comments at the following address: Attn: Jodie Stevens, Maine State Housing Authority, 353 Water Street, Augusta, Maine 04330-4633. Comments may be submitted electronically to jstevens@mainehousing.org by the comment deadline, provided that an original signed hard copy of the comments is promptly mailed to the above address. MSHA will provide this document in alternative formats to persons with disabilities and persons with limited English proficiency upon request.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jodie Stevens, Counsel
AGENCY NAME: Maine State Housing Authority
ADDRESS: 353 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04330-4633
TELEPHONE: (207) 626-4600 (voice)
TTY: (800) 452-4603


AGENCY: 19-100 - Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD)
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 100, Pine Tree Development Zones Program Rule
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P182
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Pine Tree Development Zones Program was established by the Legislature in PL 2003 Ch. 688, Part D, and amended by PL 2005 Ch. 351. The amendment to the rule clarifies the changes made to the law; including administration of the program by the Department of Economic and Community development of the eight Pine Tree Development Zones, each containing no more than 5,000 acres. This rule defines what regions are eligible to apply and the application process. It also defines what a business must do to qualify for the benefits provided by a zone.
The rules governing the Pine Tree Development Zones program establish the minimum requirements for the designation of zones, the determination and certification of eligibility, the selection of zones for designation, and the periodic evaluation of zone performance. The rules prescribe application requirements, procedures for designation and amendment of zones, reporting requirements and the general administration of the program. Additionally, the rules establish the requirements and procedures for the certification of Qualified Pine Tree Development Zone Businesses.
The Maine Pine Tree Development Zone Program offers manufacturers, financial service businesses and targeted technology companies the chance to greatly reduce or, in some cases, virtually eliminate state taxes for a period of time that may be up to ten years. Depending on the level of certified economic activity conducted in the Pine Tree Development Zones, the tax burden of qualified businesses may be reduced through specific exemptions, reimbursements, and credits explained in detail in the amended rule.
It is the intent of the Department of Economic and Community Development to ensure that all eligible and interested units of local government have the opportunity to participate in the Pine Tree Development Zones program.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 30-A §§ 5250-J and 5250-M
PUBLIC HEARING: September 12, 2005 at 9:00 a.m., Department of Economic and Community Development, West Wing Conference Room, Cross State Office Building, 3rd Floor, Augusta ME 04333-0059
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: September 22, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jim Nimon
AGENCY NAME: DECD
ADDRESS: 59 State House Station
Augusta ME 04333-0059
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9822


AGENCY: 19-498 - Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD), Office of Community Development (OCD)
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 34, Proposed Statement for Administering the 2006 Maine Community Development Block Grant Program
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P183
CONCISE SUMMARY: This proposed rule will allow DECD to allocate the federal funds in accordance with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development regulations. It describes the design and method of distribution of funds of the Maine Community Development Block Grant Program.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 5 MRSA §13058, Subsection 3
PUBLIC HEARINGS:
September 12, 2005, 10:00 a.m., EMDC Conference Room, One Cumberland Place, Suite 300, Bangor, Maine 04402
September 14, 2005, 10:00 a.m., DECD West Conference Room, Burton Cross Building, 3rd Floor, 111 Sewall Street, Augusta, Maine 04333
September 16, 2005, 10:00 a.m., Council Chamber, City Hall, 12 Second Street, Presque Isle, Maine 04769
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: September 27, 2005 at 4:00 p.m.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Michael D. Baran, Technical Assistance Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Economic and Community Development, Office of Community Development
ADDRESS: 111 Sewall Street, 59 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0059
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9816


AGENCY:10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services (formerly Bureau of Medical Services), Division of Policy and Provider Services
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II Section 50, ICF-MR Services
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P184
CONCISE SUMMARY: The rule proposes to cover maintenance level physical, occupational and speech therapies for ICF-MR eligible members, since these services are required to be available as medically necessary under the Community Consent Decree, and are only available when the therapy is rehabilitative in nature under other sections of Maine Care policy, The Department has also proposed numerous other updates and clarifications, including classification of members, utilization review, and independent professional review procedures,
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rules/gen_mcare_benefit.htm for rules and related rulemaking documents.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMP ACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 MRSA §42, §3173
Any interested party requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing must contact the agency person listed below on or before September 9, 2005.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Comments must be received by 11:59 p.m. September 24, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Office of Maine Care Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
PUBLIC HEARING DATE: September 12, 2005 10:30 a.m.. Location: Conference Room, Department of Health and Human Services, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine
TELEPHONE: (207) 287 -9362
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. VII Section 5, Estate Recovery
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P185
CONCISE SUMMARY: The proposed rule delineates the requirements for obtaining hardship waivers and claim reductions relative to estate recovery. It adds an exemption and criteria for family members who can demonstrate that they have provided medically necessary health care maintenance and/or personal care services to a member. The proposed rule updates wording and makes technical corrections. Members' families should experience an easier-to-understand estate recovery process. They will gain more flexibility by exempting care given to members.
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/bms/rules/gen_rules_policies.htm for rules and related rulemaking documents.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 MRSA §42, §3173
PUBLIC HEARING:
Date: September 12, 1 00 p.m.
Location: Conference Room, Department of Health and Human Services, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, ME. Any interested party requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing must contact the agency person listed below before September 9, 2005.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Comments must be received by 11:59 p.m. September 25, 2005.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Medical Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9361
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 29-250 - Department of Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. (New), Pilot Project to Allow Commercial Vehicles at the Canadian Weight Limits to Travel From the Canadian Border at Calais to Baileyville
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P186
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule implements the pilot project created by Ch. 421, PL 2005. Ch. 421 authorizes the operation of two truck configurations at certain Canadian weight limits between the Canadian border at Calais, and the Domtar mill in Baileyville.
Ch. 421 is repealed on December 31, 2010.
The purpose of this rule is to establish the permit fees required pursuant to Ch. 421; and to establish administrative and safety requirements.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 29-A MRSA §2354-B
PUBLIC HEARING: September 15, 2005, 9:00 a.m., Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 101 Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: September 25, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Garry Hinkley, Chief, Motor Carrier Services
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Motor Vehicles
ADDRESS: 101 Hospital St, Augusta, ME 04333-0029
TELEPHONE: Phone: (207) 624-9055
Fax: (207) 622-5332
E-MAIL: garry.hinkley@maine.gov


AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 25.07(B)(4), ASMFC Lobster Management Areas and Limitations, Lobster Fishing Limitations
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P187
CONCISE SUMMARY: In accordance with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) Interstate Fishery Management Plan (FMP) for American lobster and recent legislative changes the Department proposes to delete the exception for minimum gauge size in order to comply with the requirements of the FMP and for consistency with Maine law as amended. A clarification would also be made regarding the requirement that all fisheries management zones fished be declared on a license application for consistency within the regulations. This proposed rule is being reposted due to a request for a public hearing made in accordance with 12 M.R.S.A. §6191(2)(A).
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 MRSA §6171 and §6431(1-A)
PUBLIC HEARING: Wednesday, September 14, 2005, 6:00 p.m., Department of Marine Resources Conference Room, 194 McKown Point Road, West Boothbay Harbor
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, September 26, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSONS: Deirdre Gilbert, TEL: (207) 624-6576 or Laurice Churchill, TEL: (207) 633-9584
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 25.95(1)(B)(2)(a), Monhegan Island Lobster Conservation Area, Open Season
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P188
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Monhegan Island Lobster Conservation Area, 180 day 2005 - 2006 open lobster fishing season, will begin December 1, 2005 and end May 29, 2006. This regulation conforms to 12 M.R.S.A. §6472.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 MRSA §6472 and §6171
PUBLIC HEARING: None
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Friday, September 23, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Laurice Churchill, TEL: (207) 633-9584
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 65 (New), Burnt Island, Living Lighthouse and Facilities
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2005-P189
CONCISE SUMMARY: Regulations are proposed for restrictions on public access to the Burnt Island and the Burnt Island Living Lighthouse facilities. These restrictions are intended to protect and preserve Burnt Island and its intended uses, which is part of the Maine Lights Program and Department of Marine Resources sponsored educational programs conducted on Burnt Island, Southport.
If you are unable to attend the public hearing please mail written comments to be received by the close of the business day Thursday, September 22, 2005, see contact information.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 MRSA §6030-A and §6030
PUBLIC HEARING: Monday, September 12, 2005, 6:00 P.M., Department of Marine Resources Conference Room, 194 McKown Point Road, West Boothbay Harbor
Electronic copies with the entire proposed text may be obtained from the web site listed in this notice or to request hard copies to be mailed please use the contact information provided in this notice.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Thursday, September 22, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Laurice Churchill, TEL: (207) 633-9584
THESE RULES WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
MAIL WRITTEN COMMENTS TO:
AGENCY NAME: Department of Marine Resources
ADDRESS: Attn: L Churchill, PO Box 8, West Boothbay Harbor, Maine 04575-0008
WEB SITE: www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking
TEL: (207) 633-9584
FAX: (207) 633-9579
TTY: (207) 633-9500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)
Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Kim Pierce, at (207) 624-6567.


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 02-318 - Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Licensing and Registration, Electricians' Examining Board
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 120, Electrical Installation Standards
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-328
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Board adopted the 2005 edition of the National Electrical Code for electrical installations with the following exceptions:
* The Board adopts Article 21 0.12(B) with an amendment to exclude all circuits in dwelling unit bedrooms from the protection of arc-fault circuit interrupters, except those supplying receptacle outlets, which will safeguard cords and equipment that are plugged into the receptacle outlets;
* The Board adopts Article 334.10(3) with an amendment to delete the requirement of a thermal barrier for romex cable that is concealed in walls, floors or ceilings so that romex cable can be installed in a manner considered acceptable by the Board; and
* The Board does not adopt Article 334.12(A)(1), Uses Not Permitted.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 20, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:
NAME: Cheryl Hersom, Board Administrator, Office of Licensing and Registration
ADDRESS: 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
PHONE NUMBER: (207) 624-8605


AGEN CY: 03-201 - Maine Department of Corrections
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 10, Policy and Procedures Manual - Adult:Subsection 20.1, Prisoner Discipline
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-329
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine Department of Corrections is adopting a revision to the existing policy, procedures and rules governing prisoner discipline pursuant to Title 34-A MRSA, Section 3032. These revisions include minor changes in terminology, the addition of new disciplinary violations, modification of the class of several disciplinary violations, clarification of and minor revisions to the disciplinary process, addition of a sanction of the removal of all previously grandfathered property from the facility upon a prisoner's conviction of a Class A or B disciplinary violation and a sanction of non-contact visitation for drug or tobacco violations, equalizing the consequences for programming for a prisoner convicted of a drug or alcohol violation and revision to the standard of proof for a disciplinary violation involving "possession".
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 22, 2005
AGENCY NAME: Maine Department of Corrections
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Esther Riley
ADDRESS: State House Station 111, Augusta, Maine 04333-0111
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-4681


AGENCY: 04-061 – Department of Conservation, Land Use Regulation Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, General Provisions, Fee Schedule
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-330
CONCISE SUMMARY: Ch. 1 of the Commission's rules establishes a fee schedule for the Commission. Certain fee provisions mirror fee requirements stated in Maine statute, specifically 12 MRSA §685-B(2)(B). LD 117 of the 122nd Legislature amended this section of law eliminating a fee exemption for petitions to rezone land from management district to development district. The Commission amended its fee schedule to mirror this change in law.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 22, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Catherine M. Carroll, Director
AGENCY NAME: Land Use Regulation Commission, Department of Conservation
ADDRESS: 22 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0022
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-4930
E-MAIL: catherine.m.carroll(@.maine.gov


AGENCY: 02-373, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Board of Licensure in Medicine
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Rules for Regulating Physician Licensing – replaces former Ch. 1 and also Ch. 4, Licensure Statute Clarification
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-331 and 332
CONCISE SUMMARY: The rules in this chapter clarify the statute for licensure and describe the requirements established by the Board for licensing and renewing licenses of medical doctors. This rule combines replaces the former chapters 1 and 4.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 2, Physician Assistants
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-333
CONCISE SUMMARY: Chapter 2 constitutes rules governing physician assistants who are supervised by physicians licensed by the Board of Licensure in Medicine. Chapter 2 also establishes a Physician Assistant Advisory Committee.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Physician Supervision of Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Under Medical Delegation
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-334
CONCISE SUMMARY: A certified nurse midwife or certified nurse practitioner who is approved by the Maine State Board of Nursing as an advanced practice registered nurse may choose to perform medical diagnosis or prescribe therapeutic or corrective measures when these services are delegated by a licensed physician, as authorized by 32 M.R.S.A. §2205-B.3. When working under the delegation of a physician the APRN/physician relationship must be registered with the Board of Licensure in Medicine. This Chapter constitutes rules governing registration and biennial re-registration of these advanced nursing classifications when performing under the delegation/supervision of a physician, and the physicians who supervise them. A change to this rule would allow the primary supervising physician (PSP) to apply for authorization to delegate schedule II prescribing authority to the APRN under delegation. The rule also sets forth identification documentation which must be available for inspection at the primary place of business and requirements for APRNs to wear a name tag identifying him/herself as an APRN.
Chapter 3 is being repealed and replaced to make the changes and to correct syntax or adjust the language to properly assign reporting requirements to the PSP.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 22, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Randal C. Manning, Executive Director
AGENCY NAME: Board of Licensure in Medicine
ADDRESS: 137 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333-0137
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3601


AGENCY: 05-071 - State Board of Education
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 115, Certification, Authorization, and Approval of Educational Personnel, Part II: Requirements for Specific Certificates and Endorsements
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2005-335
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule will permit the Department of Education to certify persons who are teaching theater arts or dance in the State as of October 1, 2005, and who hold a valid certificate to teach in the State and have completed a minimum of two years or the equivalent of two school years of teaching theater arts or dance in an accredited public or private school in the State. The rule is an emergency major substantive rule.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 17, 2005
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Judith Malcolm, Education Policy Director
AGENCY NAME: Department of Education
ADDRESS: 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0023
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6616