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29-250

DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE



BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Chapter 12:
RULES GOVERNING THE SALE OF RECORDS AND DATABASES RELATED TO DRIVER HISTORY, DRIVER LICENSES AND MOTOR VEHICLES.

Summary: These rules describe the process by which requests for motor vehicle records must be made and the fees associated with the sale of records and databases.

1.
Statement of Policy. It is the policy of the Secretary of State to comply fully with the public record provisions of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq.) and other relevant law, including the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (18 USC, Chapter 123), in the dissemination of information maintained by the Department of the Secretary of State.

2.
Information Required to Process A Request For A Record. To facilitate the retrieval of records and to ensure the accuracy of records:


A.
All requests for records must be in the form acceptable to the Bureau and addressed to the main or home office of the Bureau unless the individual requesting information appears at the office.


B.
All requests must be accompanied by the appropriate fee as authorized by statute or these rules. Commercial account holders may be billed for the records in accordance with Bureau procedures.

C.
All individual requests for motor vehicle records must contain at least the following identifying information: In the case of a request for driver history or license information, the name and date of birth or the name and Maine driver’s license number, or the name and address of the individual who is the subject of the request. In the case of registration information, the registration certificate/plate number or the name and date of birth of the individual who is the subject of the request.


D.
No request for an individual record may be processed without the minimum identifying information because such information is essential to the accurate retrieval of records.

3.
Fees. The fee for records, including a report of no record found, is as provided by statute (29-A MRSA §§ 251 and 252).  Source document records up to 10 pages cost $10.00 and an additional $5.00 for every subsequent 10 pages or any portion thereof.

A.
Electronic Transmittal. An additional fee of $2.00 per record is charged for records which are transmitted electronically, including by fax or by internet. Faxed records beyond 10 pages are charged an additional $2.00 for every subsequent 10 pages or any portion thereof.


B.
Database Records and Lists. Database records and lists are provided by Information Resources of Maine (InforME) and the fees for such information is as established in the Service Level Agreement between InforME and the Department of the Secretary of State. The fee for Database records and lists which are not available through InforME are the same established by the fee schedule to the Service Level Agreement between InforME and the Department of the Secretary of State.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 29-A MRSA §§ 251 AND 252
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