12-179 Chapter 7     page 2

12-179

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



BUREAU OF LABOR STANDARDS



BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH

Chapter 7:
MINIMUM DRIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRE APPARATUS

Summary: This standard identifies the minimum job performance requirements for career and volunteer fire fighters who drive fire apparatus in order to reduce accidents, injuries and loss of fire equipment.

SECTION I. APPARATUS DRIVER OPERATING PROCEDURES AND POLICIES


All Maine Fire Departments must establish Standard Operating Procedures or Policies (SOPs) for all fire apparatus drivers that, at a minimum, include the following:


A.
All apparatus drivers must possess a valid driver’s license.

B.
The Fire Department shall have written SOPs/Policy for:


1.
Apparatus driver selection.


2.
Annual review of each apparatus driver’s motor vehicle driving history by the Chief.


3.
Emergency vehicle response.


4.
Use of seatbelts.


5.
Backing the apparatus.


6.
Apparatus maintenance.

C.
Each emergency fire apparatus must have a proper State of Maine motor vehicle inspection.
SECTION II. APPARATUS DRIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

All Maine Fire Departments must establish training programs for all fire apparatus drivers that, at a minimum, include the following:


A.
A review of all applicable Maine Title 29-A motor vehicle laws.

B.
Apparatus drivers must complete an Emergency Vehicle Operations Course (EVOC), or attend Commercial Driver License (CDL) training or other training that meets National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1002 training for drivers.

C.
Apparatus drivers must have a general knowledge of the specific vehicle(s), equipment and their proper operation.

D.
Apparatus drivers’ skills must be evaluated on each vehicle they will drive using a skills evaluation form such as: Bureau of Labor Standards (BLS), Volunteer Fireman Insurances Services (VFIS), Maine Municipal Association (MMA) or other.


E.
Apparatus drivers’ skills must be assessed every 3 years.

SECTION III. APPARATUS DRIVER APPROVAL

Apparatus drivers must be approved by the Chief.
SECTION IV. APPARATUS DRIVER TRAINING RECORDS

Individual apparatus driver training records must be maintained for duration of the individual’s employment plus 6 years.
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