01-670 Chapter 52     page 4

01

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION AND FORESTRY
670

BUREAU OF PARKS AND LANDS

Chapter 52:
"COASTAL ISLAND REGISTRY" REGULATIONS

SUMMARY: These rules explain who must register ownership of coastal islands, the proper completion of the Coastal Island Registration Form, the acceptance of late registrations, the procedure for the review of registered claims, consequences of fraudulent registrations and listing and notification of unregistered islands.

2.1
Presentation of Claims


A.
Who Shall Register


1.
Each true owner of a free hold estate in a coastal island must register that interest with the Coastal Island Registry. Freehold estates include fee simple estates, fee tail estates, and life estates.



2.
A common and undivided ownership may be registered by one true owner on behalf of all true owners of that estate. The name of each true owner must appear on the registration form and the source of title for each true owner must appear on the form.



3.
A true owner may designate an authorized representative to register on behalf of the true owner. An authorized representative includes an attorney at law, an attorney in fact, the administrator or executor of an estate, the guardian ad litem of a minor or an incompetent person, an agent having written authorization of the owner, and any individual who can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Registry his/her authority to act.



4.
A true owner of a coastal island which is also owned in part by the State of Maine or United States of America shall register that portion owned by said true owner.


B.
Registration Fee



1.
The registration fee of $10 may be paid in cash, check or money order. Multiple fees may be paid in a single check or money order.



2.
Registration forms received without the registration fee shall not be accepted for registration by the Registry.



3.
Fees received by check or money order must be honored by the institution upon which they are drawn before the registration will be accepted.


C.
Registration Forms



1.
Each registration must be filled out in triplicate upon forms provided by the Registry.



2.
A copy of the registration form will be returned to the sender by the Registry upon completion of registration. The Registry shall attach to said copy a statement indicating that the registration has been received and accepted by the Registry.



3.
Registration forms received by the Registry containing incomplete information shall not be accepted for registration.



4.
Incomplete information includes:




a)
No name of the true owner




b)
No description of the coastal island




c)
A description of the coastal island inadequate to locate said island on a map of the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey for Maine's coastal waters and for use in 1972




d)
No statement of the year the island was acquired by the registrant




e)
No statement of the person, if any, from whom the registrant acquired the claimed title




g)
No signature of the true owner or the authorized representative designated by the true owner.



5.
Registrants who have sent incomplete registration forms or have sent complete forms without the $10 registration fee shall be notified by mail within 10 days that their registrations have not been accepted.



6.
Registrants shall have thirty (30) days from receipt of said letter to provide the Registry with the lacking information or fee during which time the registration form and fee, if received, shall be held by the Registry.



7.
Incomplete registration forms for which the registrant has failed to respond to the notice of incompleteness within thirty (30) days shall be returned to the registrant. The $10 registration fee shall also be returned to the registrant.



8.
Registration forms which have been completed by the registrant within thirty (30) days shall be treated as received and accepted effective on the date of receipt by the Registry of the additional required information.

2.2
Late Registration


A.
Registrations received after December 31, 1975, shall be accepted if they contain the required information and $10 registration fee.


B.
A list of true owners and authorized representatives of true owners who registered after December 31, 1975, shall be compiled and referred to the Office of the Attorney General for collection of the $50 late penalty.


C.
The collection of non-payment of the late penalty shall not affect the validity of the registration.

2.3
Review of Registered Claims


A.
Review of title source for registered coastal islands shall be conducted by order of priority as determined by the Director of the Bureau of Parks and Lands or the Director's designate.


B.
The Director or the Director's designate shall send notice of the defect(s) in title claim by certified mail to registrants whose claims are initially determined to be not valid.


C.
The registrant shall have thirty (30) days from the receipt of the letter of notice of defect to present the Director or the Director's designate with a response. The response shall contain any further written evidence which the registrant wishes to produce including but not limited to unrecorded deeds, affidavits, letters, family papers or other authenticated writings to correct the defect in his title claim, or a statement of reasons why such evidence cannot be produced within the thirty (30) day period. The Director or the Director's designate may extend the period allowed for presenting further evidence upon the showing of just reason for delay.


D.
Written evidence produced by the registrant will be reviewed by the Director of the Bureau of Parks and Lands or the Director's designate to determine whether such evidence establishes valid legal title to the island property claimed in the registration form.


E.
The Director after consultation with the Attorney General shall rule as to the validity of the title claimed. Notice of the ruling shall be made by certified mail to the registrant within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the additional evidence by the Coastal Island Registry.


F.
Rulings adverse to the claim made by the registrant may be appealed in accordance with Rule 80B of the Maine Rules of Civil Procedure.

2.4
Fraudulent Registration


Registrations which are suspected to be products of fraud shall be referred by the Registry to the Office of the Attorney General for appropriate action.

2.5
Unregistered Coastal Islands


A.
A list of all unregistered islands by island name (if known) and by number (as given on the Maine Coastal Island Registry maps located in each coastal county Registry of Deeds and at the Bureau of Parks and Lands in Augusta) shall be posted in the Registry of Deeds in each county, and shall appear once a week for three (3) consecutive weeks in the State paper, in two newspapers of general circulation within the State, and in a newspaper in each coastal county as required by Title 12 M.R.S.A. §1206 (4).


B.
Notice of failure to register shall be sent to those true owners whose identity may reasonably be ascertained by the following means:



1.
The tax rolls of coastal municipalities



2.
Information given by other registrants for the same island on their registration form



3.
Reference to possible true owners in letters of correspondence to the Registry, including letters of request for registration forms or island information



4.
Other reasonable means by which a possible true owner might come to the attention of the Registry.
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