Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Driver Licenses & IDs > Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board

Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board

Announcement: The Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board will meet to vote on the proposed order regarding Attorney's fees and on Respondent Ford's Rule 52(b) Motion at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, June 19, 2008, at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 1st floor.

The Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board was created in 2003 to hear cases under Maine 's Motor Vehicle Franchise Law, Title 10 M.R.S.A., Chapter 204, subchapter 1: REGULATION OF BUSINESS PRACTICES BETWEEN MOTOR VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS, DISTRIBUTORS AND DEALERS. The Board is empowered to adopt rules, review complaints, hold hearings, render decisions and impose penalties and costs on motor vehicle manufacturers and distributors under the Franchise Law.

The Board consists of seven regular members and four alternate members. The Board Chair is an attorney appointed by the Secretary of State.

Board Members:

John McCurry, Esq. was appointed Board Chair in December, 2003. The Governor appoints the other six members. Three must be past or present franchised Maine motor vehicle dealers. Those Board members are Jack Quirk, Sr., Quirk Auto Park , Bangor , Maine and Adam Lee , Lee Auto Malls. They were appointed June 7, 2004 . The third vehicle dealer member is Wally Camp, Sr., Rowe Ford Hyundai of Westbrook who was appointed August 4, 2004. One member is a past or present employee or representative of a franchiser. Nelson Carlson of Wells, Chrysler Corporation (1973-2002) was appointed August 5, 2004. Two members represent the general public. Those members are Carol Kontos of Windham , former state representative and Bill Dowling of Augusta, former Assistant Director of BMV. They were appointed June 7, 2004. Three alternate members were appointed on September 13, 2006, to serve until September 12, 2011. They are John Knight of Wilton, Ford Motor Company (1955-1987), Darwin “Bud” Morrison , Morrison Chevrolet of Ellsworth and William Sowles , Morong-Falmouth. One seat is vacant.

The Board has developed rules of procedures effective January 2005 to govern hearings held before it.


Motor Vehicle Franchise Board meeting minutes are available by clicking on the meeting dates below:


Mailing Address:
Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board
29 State House Station
Augusta , Maine 04333-0029

Office Location:
Department of Motor Vehicles
101 Hospital Street (Route 9)
On the east side of Augusta (across from Riverview Mental Health Facility)

Office Hours:
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Monday – Friday

(207) 624-9131
(207) 624-9339 (FAX)

Contact Information:
John McCurry, Esq. – 624-9131
e-mail –

Other web sites of interest:

Maine statutes:
Maine Rules of Civil Procedure:
National Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers:
National Automobile Dealers Association:
Federal Trade Commission: