Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Title Fees

Title Fees

$40.00

Application for warranty title for antique auto, horseless carriage or classic vehicle

$33.00

First Application for title listing two liens

$33.00

(1) First application for title - no lien

 

(2) First application for title - one lien

 

(3) Application to perfect a first lien after an original lien-free title has been printed

 

(4) Adding a name after original title has been printed

 

(5) Application to perfect a second lien after an original title has been printed

 

(6) Application to change a lienholder or lien date - no change in ownership
(a) A lender pays off the first lienholder named on the title
(b) Lienholder named on the title releases lien and rewrites the security agreement

 

(7) Change of name or address on one title (no change in ownership)

 

(8) Application for certificate of salvage

 

(9) Application for title under Maine's abandoned vehicle law: filed pursuant to Chapter 15, subchapter III

 

(10) Application for duplicate title

 

(11) Application for corrected title

 

(12) Application for a duplicate certificate of lien

 

(13) Assignment of a Vehicle Identification Number (Form MVT-6)

$5.00

Routine search of the records - no official certificate (fee for each VIN searched)
An additional $1.00 for "true copy" certificate.

$10.00

There is an additional fee of $10.00 for an expedited title

$33.00

Search of the Title Records - Certified (fee for each name or VIN searched)

$50.00

If an application, certificate of title or other document required to be delivered to the Secretary of State is not delivered to the Secretary of State within 30 days, the Secretary of State shall collect $50.00 as a penalty (Title 29-A §603)

NO FEE

(1) Any owner of a vehicle who is exempt from registration fees is also exempt from the title fee

 

(2) Application for a surviving spouse upon transfer of ownership to the surviving spouse

 

(3) Applications for Federal, State, or Municipal vehicles

For additional information on motor vehicle titles, please contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles Title Examination and Information Unit at (207) 624-9000, extension 52138 or by email at titles.bmv@maine.gov