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Notice of Agency Rule-making Adoption
AGENCY: 29-255 - Secretary of State, Maine State Archives

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:

Chapter 10, Rules for Disposition of Local Government Records

ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: , 2014-221

CONCISE SUMMARY !

Item 1 - Currently the retention language in the description of Schedule E (E.11 Municipal Elections
Campaign Finance Reports Filed With Municipality (Population 15,000 or Less) is incorrect. The retention
language eurrently cites Title 21-A, §2502; the correct cite for this Schedule should read Title 30-A, §2502
and reference Title 21-A, Chapter 13, subchapter 4.

The description should read: Title 30-A, §2502 explains the campaign report of monies received and expended
for a munieipal election campaign in a city or town with a population of 15,000 or more, Any municipality
with a population of less than 15,000 may choose to be governed by Title 21-A, Chapter 13, subchapter 4.

Item 2 — Currenily Schedule A, (A.63 Union Agreements) is vague and does not include grievance/arbitration
material. This proposed rule should have two parts and read as follows;

Series A.63.a Union Records — Union Agreements (Signed). The description should include collective
bargaining agreements with unions representing employees of local government agency. Retention is 10 years,
Not Confidential.

Series A.63.b Union Records — Grievance and Arbitration Files. The description should include related
correspondence; union grievances and negotiation documentation; signature page of people attending
meeting: noies on meeting; written decision; demand for arbitration; arbitration award; exhibits; briefs;
notice of hearing; settlement agreement. Retention is S0 years, Not Confidential,

Item 3 — Currently Schedule G (G.30 Hunting) has a retention period of 7 years, License and registration
records are kept in MOSES now, and the need for longer retention of paper record copy is no longer necded.
To keep the hunting license consistent with fishing, ATV, Boats and Snowmobile licenses, IF&W is requesting
that the retention be changed to three years. '

Ttem 4 — Currently Schedule I (1.08 Tax Exemption Records) is vague and has a retention period of 6 years,
Not Confidential. Due to a recent law change some exemptions are now considered confidential. Schedule I,
‘Series L08 should now read as follows:

Series 1.08 Tax Exemption Records
This series is defined as any record that states the name of a person or business granted an exemption; the
amount of that exemption, and the reason for granting it. Tax Exemptions must be recorded in the Valuation

Book in order for records described in this item fo be destroyed.

1.08.a. Maine Resident Homestead Property Tax Exemption: Retention is 3 years (after exemptlon has
expired); Not Confidential Tifle 36, §681-689,



1.08.b. Denial of Homestead Exemption. If the assessor (or state tax bureau) defermines that a property is not
entitled to an exemption, and further determines that a property improperly received a homestead exemption
for any of the 10 years immediately preceding this defermination, the assessor shall supplementally assess the
property for which the exemption was improperly received, plus costs and interest. Retention is 10 years, Not
Confidential Title 36, §686. ' .

1.08.c. Estates of Veterans. Applications and attachments are considered confidential. Retention is 3 years
(after exemption has expired), Confidential Title 36, §653.

1.08.d. Taxpayers List. Only attached proprietary and confidential information is confidential and exempt
from the provistons of Title 1, Chapter 13, For purposes of this section, “proprietary information” means
information that is a frade secret or production, commercial or financial information the disclosure of which
would impair the competitive pasition of the person submitting the information and would make available
information not otherwise publicly available and information protected from disclosure by federal or state
law or regulations. Retention is 3 years (after exemption has expired), Confidential Title 36, §706.

1.08.e. Blind Exemptions. Retention is 3 years (after exemption has expired), Not Confidential Title 36, §654.
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