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04. FORM W-3ME MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

05 RECONCILIATION OF MAINE 99

06 2017

07 INCOME TAX WITHHELD IN 2017 *1106600%

08 File by Fet)ruary 28, 2018 See instructions below. X Check this box if you are submitting Maine withholding data on Form

09 1099 electronically with the IRS through the Combined Fed/State Filing

1 Program.

1. Total Maine income tax withheld
%% Withholding Account Number: shown on payee statements....... $ 9999999 4 99
2. Total Maine income tax reported

13 99 999999999 on quarterly reports for the year. $ 9999999 4 99

14 Name:

15 3. Third-party payers of sick pay

6 (see instructions below). All
1 XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX others may skip this line............. $ 9999999 4 99
17 4. Employers (see instructions
below). All others may skip this

18 XXXXXXXXXXXXKXXXXXXXXX 1€ e $ 9999999 . 99

1

20, _

Third-party payer name Third-party payer ID Number:
21 Under i j i i i i i i
penalties of perjury, | certify that the information contained on this return, report and attachment(s) is true and correct.
22
23
Date Signature Title (Owner, President, Partner, Member, etc.) Telephone

24

25 INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM W-3ME - RECONCILIATION OF MAINE INCOME TAX WITHHELD IN 2017

2

27 Note: MRS Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) generally requires electronic filing of Maine income tax withholding

returns, including Form W-3ME. Employers/payers unable to meet the electronic filing requirement because of undue hardship
28

may request a waiver from the State Tax Assessor. The request must be in writing and must include the name, address and
29

withholding account number of the business, a detailed explanation of why filing electronically poses a significant hardship and

30 the length of time for which you are requesting a waiver. Mail requests to: Maine Revenue Services, Withholding Unit, P.O. Box

31 1060, Augusta, ME 04332-1060. To view Rule 104, see www.maine.gov/revenue (select “Laws & Rules”).

géMaine Revenue Services provides two electronic filing options: File online using the Maine Revenue Services I-File program or upload a text file (formatted

34to required specifications) containing Form W-3ME data using the Maine Revenue Services MEETRS system. For more information on these programs,

see www.maine.gov/revenue/netfile/gateway2.htm.

35 :

General Instructions
ggEmployers and other payers who withhold Maine income tax during the calendar year must file an annual reconciliation (Form W-3ME) on or before
February 28 of the following year. Generally, total income tax withheld as shown on Form W-3ME should equal the total withholding reported to Maine
38Revenue Services for the year on quarterly returns and should also equal the total amount of Maine income tax withheld as shown on all information returns
3Ofurnished to payees. If you are completing this form as a third-party payer of sick pay, lines 1 and 2 should differ only by the amount entered on line 3. If

4 (Qyou are completing this form as an employer issuing wage statements that includes withholding reported by a third-party payer of sick pay, lines 1 and 2

4:Lshould differ only by the amount entered on line 4. Otherwise, if lines 1 and 2 do not agree, correct any reporting errors by filing an amended quarterly|

42return for each period in which errors were made. See the instructions for Form 941ME for further details.
Specific Instructions

43

44 Entity Information. Enter the company’s withholding account number, name and address in the space provided.

Line 1. Enter total Maine withholding reported on payee statements issued under this withholding account number (e.g., box 17 of federal Form W-2).

45

46 Line 2. Enter total Maine withholding reported for this account for all quarters on Form 941ME. If you amended one or more quarterly returns, include

ly the corrected amount.

47 or

Line 3. If you are a third-party payer of sick pay, enter the amount of withholding, if any, included in your quarterly returns that is reported on Annual

48

Wage Statements (Forms W-2) issued directly by the employer to employees.

49

50 Line 4. Employers only: Complete this line if you issue Forms W-2 that include withholding remitted to Maine by a third party payer of sick pay. Enter|

51 the amount of withholding remitted by the third party payer. Enter the third party payer name and ID number in the spaces provided.

52 Payee Statements

53Maine Revenue Services does not accept paper copies of payee statements (Forms W-2 and 1099).

5 4Employers that file 250 or more W-2 forms with the Social Security Administration, non-wage payers that submit 250 or more of a single type of 1099 form

55With the Internal Revenue Service, and entities that have received an exception from the requirement to complete Schedule 2 on their quarterly return must

5 file copies of such forms electronically directly with Maine Revenue Services.

57A person who is licensed to conduct pari-mutuel wagering or to operate a slot machine in Maine must electronically file Form W-2G with Maine Revenue

588ervices for each payee for whom a statement is required to be provided under federal regulations.

59AII others may, at their option, file annual statements electronically with Maine Revenue Services or, for Forms 1099 only, through the Combined Federal

6 State Filing Program. For more information, see Maine Revenue Services electronic filing specifications for Form W-2 or Forms 1099 and W-2G, available

at www.maine.gov/revenue (select Electronic Services).

61

62 When to File: No later than February 28, 2018. Where to File: Mail by FIRST CLASS MAILto:  Maine Revenue Services

How to File: File Form W-3ME separately from your Form 941ME return. P.O. Box 1064
63. DO NOT include Form W-3ME in the same envelope with Form 941ME. Augusta, ME 04332-1064 .




