
FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
January, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 02/02/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%

99999999

99999999999

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5

01

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66



FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
February, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 03/02/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%

99999999

99999999999

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5

01

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66



FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
March, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 03/312015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
April, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 04/30/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
May, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 06/01/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
June, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 06/30/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
July, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 07/31/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
August, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 08/31/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
September, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 09/30/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
October, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 11/02/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
November, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 11/30/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
December, 2015

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 12/31/2015 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2015 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2015 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2016.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

25 M.R.S. § 2399 requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re risk allocated to each line of insurance. The 
fi rst determination was made in  October 2013 and applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance companies and associations 
must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associations will no longer be able to 
calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates appear in Column E of Form INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%

99999999

99999999999

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5

01

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66


