
FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
January, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 1/31/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
February, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 2/28/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%

99999999

99999999999

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5

01

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66



FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
March, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 3/312014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
April, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 4/30/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
May, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 6/2/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
June, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 6/30/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
July, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 7/31/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
August, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 9/2/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
September, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 9/30/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%

99999999

99999999999

0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5

01

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66



FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
October, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 10/31/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
November, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 12/1/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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FIRE  INVESTIGATION  AND  PREVENTION  TAX
December, 2014

MAINE ESTIMATED MONTHLY RETURN FORFORM INS-2
99

Due 12/31/2014 *1231000*

MRS Fire Tax Account Number

Estimated Payment
(see instructions below)         

PAYMENT MUST ACCOMPANY RETURN

.00
Name/Title

Address

*Signature

Telephone

Company

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.               Make check payable to:

              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

INSTRUCTIONS

Estimated Payment.  Every fi re insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute 
to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fi re risks written in Maine, less the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders 
on direct fi re premiums.  The tax must be paid on an estimated basis at the end of each month, with each installment equal to at least 1/12 of the estimated 
total tax to be paid for the current calendar year.

 

     
                   

         

           

       
          Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically.
                            See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

Interest & Penalty. For calendar year 2014, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater 
of $25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case 
the failure-to-fi le penalty becomes the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to 
a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

FORM INS-5
Estimated payments for the 2014 fi re investigation and prevention tax must be reconciled on the 2014 Maine Form INS-5 due March 16, 2015.  Any fi nal 
amount due must be paid with the return.

Statutory References.  This return is made in compliance with 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399 and 36 M.R.S.A. § 2521-A.

New for 2014.  PL 2013, Chapter 95, enacted May 13, 2013, requires the Bureau of Insurance to determine every 5 years the basis percentage of fi re 
risk allocated to each line of insurance. The fi rst determination,  in October 2013, applies to tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  Insurance 
companies and associations must calculate their estimated tax payment on the basis of the updated allocation rates.  Companies and associa-
tions will no longer be able to calculate the tax on the basis of alternate ratios.  The new allocation rates will appear in Column E of the 2014 Form 
INS-5 as follows:

  Line 1a.   Fire      100%
  Line 1b.   Inland Marine   21.24%
  Line 1c. Aircraft Physical Damage  Actual
  Line 1d. Auto – Private   1.91%
  Line 1e. Auto – Commercial  6.93%
  Line 1f. Farmowners Multiple Peril  47.56%
  Line 1g. Homeowners Multiple Peril  39.99%
  Line 1h. Commercial Multiple Peril  44.59%
  Line 1i. All Other Fire Related  100%
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