
 

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 

SALES, FUEL & SPECIAL TAX DIVISION 
INSTRUCTIONAL BULLETIN NO. 32  

 
RENTAL OF LIVING QUARTERS 

 
 This bulletin is intended solely as advice to assist persons in determining, exercising or 
complying with their legal rights, duties or privileges.  It contains general and specific 
information of interest as well as interpretations and determinations by Maine Revenue Services 
regarding issues commonly faced by your business.  Portions of the Sales and Use Tax Law 
referred to in this bulletin can be found at the end of the bulletin in Attachment #1.  Also 
attached are applicable Sales and Use Tax Rules. 
 
 
1.   TAXABLE RENTALS 
 
 The Maine Sales and Use Tax Law imposes a tax on "rental of living quarters in any hotel, 
rooming house, tourist or trailer camp" including casual rentals.  These terms are defined broadly 
enough to include any kind of living quarters provided for human use.  Every person who 
manages or operates, in the regular course of business or on a casual basis, a hotel, rooming 
house, cottage, camp, condominium unit, vacation home, tourist camp or trailer camp, or who 
collects or receives rental payments on behalf of the owner, must register for and collect Maine 
sales tax on the rentals. 
 
 
2. EXEMPTIONS 
 
 A. Casual Rentals for less than 15 days.   A person who has only one room or a single 

camp for rent is not considered a "retailer" and is not required to collect sales tax on those 
rentals, when that person rents for fewer than 15 days each calendar year.  If the property has 
been placed in the hands of a real estate agent or other person engaged in the business of 
renting or managing rentals of living quarters, that agent must collect and report sales tax on 
the rental, regardless of the length of time the property is rented. 

 
B.  Occupancy for 28 days or more.  Rental charged to any person who rents continuously 
for 28 days or more in the same hotel, rooming house, tourist camp or trailer camp is 
nontaxable if the living quarters are a person's primary residence, or if the rental is in 
connection with education or employment.  If tax has been paid by the person during the 
initial 28-day period, that tax should be refunded by the retailer (lessor).  If the retailer 
(lessor) has reported and paid the tax to the State, the retailer should take a corresponding 
credit on the Sales and Use Tax Return filed for the period in which the refund or credit 
occurred by adjusting the 'Taxable Rentals' figure shown on the return.   

 



(1)  “Continuous residence” is determined by continuous rental of the quarters, rather 
than by actual occupancy of the quarters.  Continuous residence is not interrupted merely 
by changing rooms within the same hotel, rooming house, tourist camp or trailer camp 
nor by the fact that the rental unit may be occupied at various times by different 
individual persons, such as when an airline or construction company rents a room or 
block of rooms for employees that may come and go for work purposes provided that the 
rental of the unit is rented and paid for by one single entity for the qualifying 28 days and 
all of the other criteria are met. 

   
(2)  "Primary residence" means the residence maintained at the location in which the 
person is domiciled.  "Domicile" is the place where a person has his or her true, fixed and 
permanent home, which is commonly the location where an individual has the most legal 
ties, ie. driver's license, voting registration, vehicle registration, ownership of real 
property, enrollment of children in school systems, etc.   
 
 Examples of situations where the tenant's primary residence is not the facility being 
rented are an out-of-state resident vacationing in Maine or a Maine resident with a home 
in Bangor who is vacationing on the coast.   
 
 Examples of situations where the tenant's primary residence is the facility being rented 
are a person renting a house, condominium or apartment (provided a primary residence is 
not maintained elsewhere) or an out-of-state resident who has moved to Maine and rents 
a room in a  motel while searching for a new home.  
   
(3)  "In connection with education" means in connection with education from an 
accredited secondary school or college at which the person is enrolled in a diploma or 
degree program.  If a person claims that the rental is in connection with education, that 
person must provide the facility with a statement from the school that the tenant is 
enrolled in such a program. 
 
(4)  "In connection with employment" means that the tenant is residing away from the 
tenant's primary residence due to job requirements.  For example, an electrical contractor 
in northern Maine has a job in southern Maine, a professor is temporarily reassigned to 
another college, a representative of a company is temporarily assigned to Maine to 
oversee the installation and operation of their product.  Seeking employment does not 
meet this requirement nor would making occasional business contacts while vacationing 
in Maine.   If a person claims that the rental is in connection with employment, that 
person must provide the facility with a statement from the employer that the travel is 
necessitated by the person's employment and the purpose of the employment. 
 

  C.  Living Quarters Furnished to Employees.  Tax does not apply to rentals of living 
quarters that are furnished by an employer to an employee, at premises controlled by the 
employer, and solely for the convenience of the employer.  It does not matter whether there 
is any adjustment of the employee's wages for the value of the living quarters.  This applies 
only to living quarters furnished to employees, not to meals sold to employees.  (Tax does 
not apply to the value of meals furnished by the employer to employees at the place of 
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employment if the value of the meals is allowed as a credit toward the wages of the 
employees.) 

  
D.  Specific Exemptions.  The following rentals are exempt from tax: 

 
  (1) Rentals of living quarters at camps that are entitled to exemption from property tax as 

literary and scientific or benevolent and charitable institutions, or by children's camps 
that have been determined to be 'schools' within the meaning of 36 M.R.S.A. 1760(6-A). 

 
  (2) Rentals of living quarters at an institution licensed by the State for hospitalization or 

nursing care of human beings. 
 
  (3) Rentals of living quarters to a student necessitated by the student's attendance at a 

primary or secondary school or college. 
 
  (4) Rentals of living quarters to any Maine sales tax exempt organization.  These include 

governmental agencies (that are not required to have a permanent exemption certificate) 
and other exempt agencies holding a Maine permanent exemption certificate.  Payment 
for services in connection with these rentals must be made directly by the organization 
itself either by direct bill or by check or credit card in the name of the institution.  If an 
employee of an exempt organization, including a federal or state employee, pays for the 
rental with cash or personal credit card, the rental is subject to tax even though the 
employee may be reimbursed for their expense. 

 
 
2. OTHER CHARGES IN CONNECTION WITH RENTALS OF LIVING QUARTERS 
 
 A. Incidental Charges at Hotels and Motels.  When a hotel or motel offers separate 

facilities or services (such as a golf course, tennis courts, telephones and pay-per-view 
movies) that are not a part of the rental of living quarters, and where any charges for those 
facilities or services are in fact extra and are paid only by persons who make use of them and 
are shown as a separate item on the bill, those charges are not subject to tax. 

 
  Tax does apply to the amount billed for extra services that are a part of the rental of a 

room in a hotel, motel or boarding house, whether or not separately stated.  Some examples 
of services that are considered a part of the rental of living quarters include extra charges for 
use of a cot or crib or for use of cooking facilities. 

 
 B.  Rentals of Public Rooms.  Rental by a hotel or motel of a dining room, assembly room 

or other area not intended for use as living quarters is not taxable.  When a hotel or motel 
rents a room designed as living quarters, the rental will be considered taxable regardless of 
the use actually made of the room by the person renting it. 

 
 C.  Rentals of Video Media and Video Equipment.  The Maine service provider tax 
applies to rentals of video media, video games and video equipment for noncommercial 
playback.  A hotel or motel that rents any of these items must  calculate and pay to the State 
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the service provider tax on the charge for these rentals.  Such taxable rentals include not only 
rentals of movie and game video media and video equipment, but also rentals of video 
equipment for use at business conferences, seminars and the like.   
 

  Businesses engaged in both the rental of video media and video equipment and the rental 
of living quarters would be required to obtain a Maine Service Provider account as well as a 
Maine Sales Tax account.  Rentals of video products would be subject to the service provider 
tax (not the sales tax imposed on lodging) and would be reported on a service provider tax 
return rather than on the sales tax return.  Purchases of video media and video equipment for 
rental by a hotel or motel are not taxable. 

 
 D. Tent and Trailer Space.  The rental of space for the pitching of tents or the parking of 

motor homes, travel trailers and camper trailers is taxable.  The rental price includes all 
service charges paid to the lessor, whether or not those charges are separately collected or 
stated.  If the tents or trailers themselves are rented, that rental is also taxable. 

 
 
3. PURCHASES 
 
 On purchases by a hotel or motel of tangible personal property used in the business, 
including items such as soap, towels and paper products intended for use by hotel or motel 
occupants as well as office supplies, cleaning and maintenance supplies and similar items, tax 
should be paid to the supplier on the purchase.  If these items are purchased outside the state and 
the tax is not collected by the supplier, use tax on these items must be reported on the sales and 
use tax return. 
 
 
4.   ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.   
 
 The information in this bulletin addresses some of the more common questions regarding 
the Sales and Use Tax Law faced by your business.  It is not intended to be all inclusive.  
Requests for information on specific situations should be in writing, should contain full 
information as to the transaction in question and should be directed to: 

 
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 

SALES, FUEL & SPECIAL TAX DIVISION 
P.O. BOX 1065 

AUGUSTA,  ME 04332-1065 
TEL:  (207) 624-9693 
TTY: (207) 287-4477 

 

The Department of Administrative and Financial Services does not discriminate on the basis of 
disability in admission to, access to, or operation of its programs, services or activities.   

 
Issued:  January 1, 1960 
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Last Amended:  July 1, 2005 
(Published under Appropriation 010-18F-0002-07) 
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ATTACHMENT #1 
Excerpts taken from 36 M.R.S.A. 

 
SALES TAX 
 
36 M.R.S.A §1752 - Definitions 
 
 4.  Hotel. "Hotel" means every building or other structure kept, used, maintained, 
advertised as or held out to the public to be a place where living quarters are supplied for pay to 
transient or permanent guests and tenants. 
 
 6.  Living quarters. "Living quarters" means sleeping rooms, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations, and tent or trailer space. 
 
 12.  Rooming house. "Rooming house" means every house, cottage, condominium unit, 
vacation home, boat, vehicle, motor court, trailer court or other structure or any place or location 
kept, used,maintained, advertised or held out to the public to be a place where living quarters are 
supplied for pay to transient or permanent guests or tenants, whether in one or adjoining 
buildings. 
  

 17-B. Taxable service. "Taxable service" means the rental of living quarters in a hotel, 
rooming house, tourist or trailer camp; the transmission and distribution of electricity; the rental 
or lease of an automobile; and the sale of prepaid calling service.  
 
 19.  Tourist camp. "Tourist camp" means a place where tents or tent houses, or camp 
cottages or other structures are located and offered to the public or any segment thereof for 
human habitation. 
 
 20.  Trailer camp. "Trailer camp" means a place where space is offered with or without 
service facilities to the public for tenting or for the parking and accommodation of automobile 
trailers which are used for living quarters and the rental price shall include all service charges 
paid to the lessor. 
 
36 MRSA §1754-B.  Registration of sellers 
 

1.  Persons required to register.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, the 
following persons, other than casual sellers, shall register with the assessor and collect and 
remit taxes in accordance with the provisions of this Part:  . . . 

 
F.  Every person that manages or operates in the regular course of business or on a 
casual basis a hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer camp in this State or that 
collects or receives rents from a hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer camp in this 
State; and . .  
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36 M.R.S.A. §1760 - Exemptions 
 
 17.  Camps. Rental charged for living quarters, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations at camps entitled to exemption from property tax under section 652, subsection 
1. 
 
 18.  Certain institutions. Rental charged for living or sleeping quarters in an institution 
licensed by the State for the hospitalization or nursing care of human beings. 
 
 19.  Schools. Rental charged for living quarters, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations to any student necessitated by attendance at a school as defined in subsection 
16. 
 
 20.  Continuous residence; refunds and credits.  Rental charged to any person who 
resides continuously for 28 days at any one hotel, rooming house, tourist or trailer camp if: 
 
 A.  The person does not maintain a primary residence at some other location; or   
 
 B.  The person is residing away from that person's primary residence in connection with 

employment or education.   
 
 Tax paid by such person to the retailer under section 1812 during the initial 28-day 
period must be refunded by the retailer. Such tax reported and paid to the State by the retailer 
may be taken as a credit by the retailer on the report filed by the retailer covering the month in 
which refund was made to such tenant. 
 
 This subsection applies to all rentals of any hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer 
camp for occupancy on or after July 1, 1991 regardless of the date on which payment for the 
rental is made. 
 
 75.  Certain meals and lodging.  Meals or lodging provided to employees at their place 
of employment when the value of those meals or that lodging is allowed as a credit toward the 
wages of those employees. 
 
36 M.R.S.A. §1811 -  Sales tax 
 
(TEXT EFFECTIVE 7/1/00)  A tax is imposed on the value of all tangible personal property and 
taxable services sold at retail in this State.  The rate of tax is 7% on the value of liquor sold in 
licensed establishments as defined in Title 28-A, section 2, subsection 15, in accordance with 
Title 28-A, chapter 43; 7% on the value of rental of living quarters in any hotel, rooming house, 
tourist or trailer camp; 10% on the value of rental for a period of less than one year of an 
automobile; 7% on the value of prepared food sold in establishments that are licensed for on-
premises consumption of liquor pursuant to Title 28-A, chapter 43; and  5% on the value of all 
other tangible personal property and taxable services.  Value is measured by the sale price, 
except as otherwise provided.  
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The tax imposed upon the sale and distribution of gas, water or electricity, or 
telecommunications services, by any public utility, the rates for which sale and distribution are 
established by the Public Utilities Commission, must be added to the rates so established. No tax 
may be imposed upon the sale or use of electrical energy, or water stored for the purpose of 
generating electricity, when the sale is to or by a wholly owned subsidiary by or to its parent 
corporation, except for electrical energy or water purchased for resale to or by such wholly 
owned subsidiary. 

 

SERVICE PROVIDER TAX 
 
36 M.R.S.A §2551 – Definitions 
 
 21. Video media; video equipment. "Video media" means prerecorded magnetic tapes 
used for noncommercial playback of images and sound on video equipment, and other electronic 
audio and video media that provide for noncommercial interactive utilization by a person or 
persons, including digital video discs. "Video equipment" means equipment used to play video 
media, equipment used for recording images and sound for subsequent noncommercial playback 
and equipment used for noncommercial interactive utilization of electronic audio and video 
media. 
 
36 M.R.S.A. §2552 – Tax Imposed  

1. Rate. A tax at the rate of 5% is imposed on the value of the following services sold in this 
State: 

A. Extended cable television services;  
B. Fabrication services; 
C. Rental of video media and video equipment;  
D. Rental of furniture, audio media and audio equipment pursuant to a rental-purchase 

agreement as defined in Title 9-A, section 11-105; 
E. Telecommunications services;  
F. The installation, maintenance or repair of telecommunications equipment; and  
G. Private nonmedical institution services; and 
H. Community support services  
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