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18 DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVI CES 
 
125 BUREAU OF REVENUE SERVICES 
 
Chapter 205: CERTIFICATION OF ASSESSORS 
 
 

SUMMARY:  Certification of property tax assessors in the State of Maine is the responsibility 
of the State Tax Assessor.  This rule establishes levels of assessor certification, 
governs the nature and timing of the certification examinations, and outlines the 
enforcement of the continuing education requirements imposed by statute. 
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 36 M.R.S. chapter 102, subchapter 2 provides the statutory guidance for the Bureau of 
Revenue Services (“Bureau”) to establish and maintain an ongoing program for certifying 
individuals’ knowledge of applicable property tax law and techniques of assessing.  The 
Bureau’s Property Tax Division administers this program.  The Chief of Training and 
Certification (“CTC”) will provide supervised administration of all assessor training and 
certification activities. 
 
For purposes of this rule, “professional assessor” means an individual who receives 
compensation to perform assessment administration duties, whether for a municipality, for the 
State of Maine, or for a professional assessment firm.  “Assessment administration duties” means 
duties related to property valuation, property tax administration, or property tax policy. 
 
.01 Levels of certification 

 
A. Certified Assessment Technician (“CAT”).  The CAT is a certification awarded to 

an individual who successfully completes the examination for this level showing that 
he or she has the basic knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing 
function in a Maine municipality. 

 
B. Certified Maine Assessor (“CMA”).  The CMA is a certification awarded to an 

individual who successfully completes the examination for this level showing that he 
or she has the basic knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing 
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function in a Maine municipality on a full-time basis as a professional assessor as 
defined under 36 M.R.S. § 306(5). 

 
C. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 2 (“CMA-2”).  The CMA-2 is a certification 

awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for this 
level showing that he or she has attained an intermediate level of knowledge and 
abilities required to perform the assessing function in a Maine municipality on a full-
time basis as a professional assessor as defined under 36 M.R.S. § 306(5).  To obtain 
a CMA-2 certification, an assessor must complete the requirements for a CMA 
certification, plus:  

 
1. Serve one year as a professional assessor; and 
 
2. Complete a total of 100 hours of advanced assessor training under section 

.04. 
 
D. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 3 (“CMA-3”).  The CMA-3 is a certification 

awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for this 
level showing that he or she has attained an advanced level of knowledge and abilities 
required to perform the assessing function in a Maine municipality on a full-time 
basis as a professional assessor as defined under 36 M.R.S. § 306(5).  To obtain a 
CMA-3 certification, an assessor must complete the requirements for a CMA 
certification, plus:  

 
1. Serve three years as a professional assessor; and  
 
2. Complete a total of 200 hours of advanced assessor training under section 

.04. 
 

E. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 4 (“CMA-4”).  The CMA-4 is a certification 
awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for this 
level showing that he or she has attained an advanced level of knowledge and abilities 
required to perform the assessing function in a Maine municipality on a full-time 
basis as a professional assessor as defined under 36 M.R.S. § 306(5).  To obtain a 
CMA-4 certification, an assessor must complete the requirements for a CMA 
certification, plus:  

 
1. Serve five years as a professional assessor; and  
 
2. Complete a total of 300 hours of advanced assessor training under section 

.04. 
 

F. Certified Maine Assessor, Inactive/ Retired (“CMA, I/R”).   This status is granted 
to an individual with a CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certification who provides 
the CTC with a written request for such classification.  While classified as a CMA, 
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I/R, an assessor must not be employed as a professional assessor in Maine, as defined 
under 36 M.R.S. § 306(5).   

 
 Also, while classified as a CMA, I/R, an assessor advertising or offering services 

based upon his or her qualification as a CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 must 
properly note his or her status as “inactive” or “retired.”  An individual certified as a 
CMA, I/R, may request recertification as a CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4.  
Recertification requires a written request and 32 hours of classroom training approved 
by the State Tax Assessor. 

 
 The provisions of this subsection shall also apply to an individual with a CAT 

certification.  Revocation provisions outlined in 36 M.R.S. § 311 shall also apply to 
an individual certified as a CMA, I/R, or CAT, I/R. 

 
.02 Certification examinations 

 
 Both the CMA and CAT certification examinations are composed of five parts.  A score of 
70% or higher is required on each part to pass the CMA certification examination.  An overall 
score of 70% or higher is required to pass the CAT certification examination.  Each examination 
has an eight-hour time limit.   

 
A. Examination procedure 
 

1. All necessary reference material will be provided in each examination packet.  
Reference materials other than those provided are not allowed.  If the 
examination monitor observes any impropriety, such as the use of unauthorized 
reference material or the exchange of information with examination participant, 
the monitor will report that activity to the CTC. 

 
 If the Bureau concludes, after reviewing the matter, that an examination 

participant engaged in improper behavior, that participant will be disqualified 
from the examination and his or her scores for that examination will be 
disregarded. 

 
2. The examination monitor may choose to assign seating for any or all candidates.  

Refusal to comply with seating assignments may be grounds for 
disqualification. 

 
3. A disqualified individual, within 30 days of disqualification, may request an 

oral hearing with the State Tax Assessor.  The State Tax Assessor will grant an 
oral hearing within 30 days of a request and provide a decision within 60 days 
of the hearing.  The State Tax Assessor’s decision is final.  Disqualified 
individuals may not retake the examination for a period of time no less than two 
years from the date of disqualification. 
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B. The CTC will report examination results to candidates by first class mail within 30 
days of the examination date.  The CTC may release information in a candidate's 
training and certification file only to the candidate or a Bureau employee conducting 
official business. 

 
C. Review of the examination by the CTC, other than for the purpose of grading, 

reporting and verifying test scores, is prohibited. 
 
D. A candidate who fails to pass a certification examination, but achieves a score of 80% 

or higher on one part, will be allowed to carry the score for that part to subsequent 
attempt(s) to pass the exam.  For the purposes of this provision, any score of 80% or 
higher for a single part will remain in effect for a period of 18 months from the date it 
was achieved.  Within the effective time period, a candidate need only complete the 
exam parts for which a score of at least 80% has not been achieved. 

 
.03 Certification renewal 
 

A. Individuals seeking certification renewal.  The State Tax Assessor annually renews 
the CAT, CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, and CMA-4 certifications pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 
311.  Certification renewal requires the completion of the applicable number of hours 
of approved classroom training during a calendar year.  The classroom training 
requirement begins in the calendar year after an individual passes the CMA, CAT, 
CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certification requirements.  An individual seeking 
certification renewal must submit proof of completion of the classroom training 
requirement to the CTC.  Individuals must attend and satisfactorily complete an 
approved classroom training event to receive credit for the training hours.  An 
individual certificate holder who has fulfilled the current year training requirement 
may apply additional hours of classroom training toward the following year's 
requirement.  Additional hours may be applied only to the ensuing calendar year and 
this option may be exercised only once in any five-year period. 

 
 An individual who fails to complete the required classroom training during a calendar 

year will be notified that the renewal of his or her certificate has been denied.  The 
CTC, no later than January 31 of the calendar year following the classroom training 
requirement, will notify a CAT, CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certificate holder 
that his or her  certificate is not renewed.  The CTC may renew certification for an 
individual denied certification renewal if that individual completes twice the normal 
yearly hours of classroom training during the calendar year denial is received.  If a 
CAT, CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certificate holder fails to attain certification 
renewal, the certificate is subject to revocation. 

 
B. Classroom training.  Events that may qualify for classroom training include courses, 

seminars, workshops, and teaching assignments.  A classroom training event must 
consist of an educational presentation related to property tax, assessment, appraisal, 
or other related topic. 
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 A person who wants to present a classroom training event must submit a written 
request for approval to the CTC at least 30 days before the event.  A request for 
approval must be in a format approved by the State Tax Assessor.  A classroom 
training event may include homework, classroom problems, and examinations.   

 
C. Chief of Training and Certification.  The CTC administers the certification renewal 

process on behalf of the State Tax Assessor.  In granting approval of a classroom 
training event, the CTC shall consider programs that further educate the assessor in 
areas of assessment theory, practice, administration, and ethics, as well as in related 
fields, such as real estate law, accounting, computer software, and public relations. 

 
D. Required certification renewal training hours. 
 

1. CAT certification renewal.  For renewal of a CAT certificate, an individual 
must complete 16 hours of classroom training during the calendar year.  An 
individual must complete at least 3.5 hours of ethics training every three years.  
Ethics training must be approved as such by the CTC and can be included in the 
annual classroom training requirement. 

 
2. CMA certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA, an individual 

must complete 16 hours of classroom training during the calendar year.  An 
individual must complete at least 3.5 hours of ethics training every three years.  
Ethics training must be approved as such by the CTC and can be included in the 
annual classroom training requirement. 

 
3. CMA-2 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-2, an 

individual must complete 21 hours of classroom training during the calendar 
year.  An individual must complete at least 3.5 hours of ethics training every 
three years and five hours of advanced assessor training each year.  Ethics 
training and advanced assessor training must be approved as such by the CTC 
and can be included in the annual classroom training requirement. 

 
4. CMA-3 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-3, an 

individual must complete 28 hours of classroom training during the calendar 
year.  An individual must complete at least 7 hours of ethics training every three 
years and 12 hours of advanced assessor training each year.  Ethics training and 
advanced assessor training must be approved as such by the CTC and can be 
included in the annual classroom training requirement. 

 
5.   CMA-4 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-4, an 

individual must complete 28 hours of classroom training during the calendar 
year.  An individual must complete at least 7 hours of ethics training every three 
years and 12 hours of advanced assessor training each year.  Ethics training and 
advanced assessor training must be approved as such by the CTC and can be 
included in the annual classroom training requirement. 
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.04 Advanced assessor training courses 
 

A. The following courses are approved for the advanced assessor training requirements 
under sections .01 and .03.   

 

1. CMA-2  
IAAO Course 101 – Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal  
IAAO Course 102 – Income Approach to Valuation  
IAAO Course 112 – Income Approach to Valuation II 

 
2. CMA-3 

IAAO Course 201 – Appraisal of Land 
IAAO Course 300 – Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal 
IAAO Course 500 – Assessment of Personal Property  

 
3. CMA-4    

IAAO Course 331 – Mass Appraisal Practices and Procedures  
IAAO Course 311 – Residential Modeling Concepts 
IAAO Course 312 – Commercial/Industrial Modeling Concepts 
IAAO Course 400 – Assessment Administration 
IAAO Course 402 – Property Tax Policy  
IAAO Course 600 – Principles and Techniques of Cadastral Mapping 
IAAO Course 601 – Cadastral Mapping - Methods & Applications 

 
B. The following courses are approved for the advanced assessor training requirements 

under section .03 
 

Forum 909 – The Appraisal of Commercial Properties in a Declining Market 
Forum 910 – Valuation of Convenience Stores 
Forum 911 – Valuation of Contaminated Properties 
Forum 917 – How to Critique An Appraisal 
Forum 931 – Reading and Understanding Leases 
Forum 932 – Restructuring Income/Expense Statements 
Forum 960 – Marshall & Swift Residential – Square Foot Method 
Forum 962 – Marshall & Swift Commercial – Square Foot Method 
Workshop 100 – Understanding Real Property Appraisal 
Workshop 150 – Mathematics for Assessors 
Workshop 151 – Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (National) 
Workshop 155 – Depreciation Analysis 
Workshop 157 – The Appraisal Uses of Excel Software   
Workshop 158 – Highest and Best Use 
Workshop 162 – Marshall & Swift Cost Approach (Residential) 
Workshop 163 – Marshall & Swift Cost Approach (Commercial) 
Workshop 171 – IAAO Standards of Professional Practice & Ethics 
Workshop 181 – 7-Hour National USPAP Update for Mass Appraisal 
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Workshop 191 – 7-Hour National USPAP Update 
Workshop 252 – Valuing Property Affected by Environmental Contamination 
Workshop 257 – Fundamentals of Industrial Valuation 
Workshop 260 – Valuation of Agricultural Land 
Workshop 354 – Multiple Regression Analysis for Real Property Valuation 
Workshop 403 – Property Tax Policy Alternatives and Modules 
Workshop 452 – Fundamentals of Assessment Ratio Studies 
Workshop 551 – Valuation of Machinery and Equipment   
Workshop 552 – Basic Personal Property Auditing 
Workshop 553 – Advanced Personal Property Auditing 
Workshop 650 – Cadastral Mapping 
Workshop 651 – Geographic Information Systems for Assessors 
 

C. Other courses may be approved for advanced assessor training purposes, at the 
discretion of the CTC.  The CTC may seek written recommendations from 
professional groups regarding other courses that may qualify for advanced assessor 
training. 

 
AUTHORITY:   36 M.R.S. §§ 310-314 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 November 20, 1983 
 
AMENDED: 
 August 18, 1986 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION): 
 May 1, 1996 
 
AMENDED: 
 August 26, 2015 
 November 12, 2016 


