
MAINE INITIATOR OF DEPOSIT RETURN 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR INITIAL RETURN ONLY 

 

 

 
Part I 

ROUND ALL AMOUNTS TO THE NEAREST FULL DOLLAR 

 

Line 1. Enter the total number of nonrefillable beverage containers sold in Maine during your 
first month of operation within the state.  

 

Line 2. Enter the total number of nonrefillable beverage containers redeemed in Maine during 
your first month of operation within the state.  
 

Deposit Transaction Fund Balance Amount Calculation 
 

Line 3. Beginning Deposit Transaction Fund balance. For this initial return, the beginning 
Deposit Transaction Fund balance would be entered as “zero.” 

 
Line 4. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned last month.  No entry is required on this 
line for the initial return.  

 
Line 5. Abandoned Deposits payable to the State last month. No entry is required on this 
line for the initial return. 

 
Line 6. Reimbursed amounts due from the State last month. No entry is required on this line 
for the initial return. 

 
Line 7.  Subtotal.  From the amount on Line 3, subtract the amounts on Lines 4 and 5; then add the 
amount on Line 6. 

 
Line 8. Refund values received this month. Enter the total dollar amount of refund values 
received during the first month of operation (ex., the amount on Line 1 multiplied by $.05) 

 
Line 9. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month. No entry is required on this 
line for the initial return.  

 
Line 10. Refund values paid this month. Enter the total dollar amount of refund values paid 
during the first month of operation (ex., the amount on Line 2 multiplied by $.05).   
Enter this amount as a positive number. 

These instructions only apply to your initial return.  They will not apply to subsequent returns.  New 
instructions will be sent with your next return. 

 
Make check or money order payable to:  State Treasurer 

Maine Revenue Services 
Sales, Fuel & Special Tax Division 
P.O. Box 1065 
Augusta, ME 04332-1065 

 
For assistance, call (207) 624-9609 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. or write to the address above. 



Line 11. Ending  Deposit  Transaction  Fund balance. Add the amounts on Lines 7, 8, and 
9 together, then subtract the amount on Line 10.  

 

Part II  
Abandoned Deposits 

 

This section is to be completed if the amount on Line 11 is a positive amount. If the amount on 
Line 11 is negative, skip to REIMBURSEMENTS. 

 
Line 12.  Deposit Transaction Fund ending balance.  Enter the amount from Line 11. 

 
Line 13. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month.  Enter the amount from Line 
9. 

 
Line 14. Refund values received in the current and two preceding months. Enter the amount 
from Line 8.  

 
Line 15. Abandoned Deposits due the State. From the amount on Line 12, subtract the 
amounts on Line 13 and Line 14.  If the result is a negative number, enter zero. 

 
Make payment  payable to the State Treasurer. Failure to file a return on or before the 
due date will result in interest and penalty charges. Billings will be issued shortly after the 
processing of your return. 

 
Reimbursements 

 
This section is only to be completed if the amount on Line 11 is a negative amount. 

 
Line 16. Enter the amount from Line 11 as a positive number. For example, a Deposit 
Transaction Fund ending balance of -$1,000 should be entered as $1,000. 

 
Line 17.  Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month. Enter the amount from Line 9. 

 
Line 18.  Subtotal.  Add the amounts on Line 16 and Line 17. 

 
Line 19. Abandoned deposits amounts payable to the State in the preceding 24 months. No 
entry is required on this line for the initial return. 

 
Line 20. Reimbursement amounts due from the State in the preceding 24 months. No entry 
is required on this line for the initial return. 

 
Line 21.  Subtotal.  No entry is required on this line for the initial return. 

 
Line 22.  Reimbursement.  Enter the smaller of Line 18 or Line 21. 

 
You are due a reimbursement only if your abandoned deposit amounts in the preceding 24 
months exceeds the total amount of any reimbursements in the preceding 24 months and if your 
ending balance amount on Line 11 is a negative number. For an initial return, there will be no 
reimbursements.  No abandoned deposit amounts or reimbursements have been paid. 


