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New Appeals Process for State Tax
Assessor Determinations

The process for appealing a tax
assessment or other determination
made by Maine Revenue Services (MRS)
has changed, effective July 1, 2012



New Appeals Process for State Tax Assessor
Determinations

To appeal a Maine tax assessment or
MRS determination, the taxpayer must,
within 60 days of receiving the
assessment or determination, submit a
written request for reconsideration
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MRS has provided a Petition for Reconsideration Form to
assist taxpayers in making a request for reconsideration

Please call 207-624-9595 to have a form mailed to you
or visit the MRS website:

www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/general/generalforms.htm

Mail Reconsideration Requests to:
Division Reconsideration

Maine Revenue Services

PO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332-1060
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The request for reconsideration should include all
information necessary to support the taxpayer’s

request (e.g. providing documentation to support

a serious illness, which caused an unfiled/unpaid
tax liability)

Include in your petition the amount of tax, interest
and penalty you want MRS to reconsider
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Can a taxpayer ask to have interest waived?

Yes. The State Tax Assessor may waive interest in certain unusual
circumstances. However, these cases are very rare. 36 MRSA § 186
indicates, if the failure to pay a tax when required is explained to the
satisfaction of the assessor, the assessor may abate or waive the
payment of all or any part of that interest.

Can a taxpayer ask to have penalties waived?

Yes. The State Tax Assessor must waive penalties on a showing of
reasonable cause as provided by 36 MRSA § 187-B (7). Reasonable
cause includes death or serious illness of the taxpayer or member of
the taxpayer’s immediate family, a natural disaster and other specific
items outlined in Maine tax law.
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Under the law, the MRS Division has 90
days from receipt of a request for
reconsideration to issue a decision
approving or denying the relief
requested by the taxpayer.
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This 90-day period may be extended by
mutual agreement of the taxpayer and
the Division. During this period, the
Division may attempt to resolve the
matter with the taxpayer.
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If the Division does not issue a decision
within the 90-day period absent
extension, the taxpayer may deem the
request for reconsideration denied to
exercise further appeal rights.
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Who makes the decision on a petition for reconsideration?

With the creation of BOTA, effective July 1, 2012,
MRS no longer issues an “Appellate Division”
reconsideration decision. Rather, the Division that
made the assessment will now review the Petition
for Reconsideration and will examine any additional
evidence presented by the taxpayer; then, the MRS
Division will approve or deny the request, based on
the information provided.
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How will a taxpayer be notified of our decision?

MRS will mail the taxpayer (or the authorized
representative) a letter setting forth the issues
considered and the Division decision.
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If the reconsideration decision says that an amount
is still due, a taxpayer may contact MRS to make
arrangements to pay the amount due.
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Any taxpayer, not satisfied with a decision or if the request for
reconsideration has been deemed denied, has additional rights of
appeal, which must be exercised within 60 days of receiving the
decision.

A “small claim request” under 36 MRSA § 151 may only be
appealed to Superior Court. A small claim request means a
petition for reconsideration, which indicates the amount in
controversy, is less than $5,000.

e A taxpayer with a reconsideration request, which indicates the
amount in controversy is $5,000 or greater, may first appeal the
matter to the Maine Board of Tax Appeals (BOTA). Decisions of
the Board of Tax Appeals may be appealed by the taxpayer or MRS
to Superior Court.
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Reconsideration decisions issued by MRS on or
after July 1, 2012 are subject to public
disclosure in redacted form, so as not to reveal
the identity of the taxpayer or other interested
party, and to comply with federal
confidentiality statutes.



