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Following is a brief summary of the recently enacted tax reform changes that relate to individual 
income tax.  A more comprehensive summary and guidance will be developed in the following 
months. Unless otherwise indicated, all changes cited in this document apply to tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 
 

The enacted language of LD 1495 can be viewed at: 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_124th/chapters/PUBLIC382.asp  

 
Tax Reform did not make any changes to the corporate income tax or the financial institution 
franchise tax. 
 
Individual Income Tax - for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 
 
The three existing tax rate schedules (single, married joint [MJ] & head of household [HH]) are 
replaced with a flat tax rate of 6.5% of Maine taxable income for all taxpayers.  Taxpayers with 
taxable income greater than $250,000 must also pay an income tax surcharge equal to .35% of 
Maine taxable income in excess of $250,000.  The 6.5% tax rate, but not the surcharge, will also 
apply to the Maine fiduciary income tax on taxable trusts and estates under the Maine income tax 
law. 
 
The Maine standard and itemized deductions are repealed; however, an adjusted federal 
itemized deduction amount will be used to calculate the alternative household credit explained 
below. 
 
The Maine alternative minimum tax (AMT) and alternative minimum tax credit for 
individuals are repealed.  The corporate AMT and corporate AMT credit are retained. 
 
The additional Maine tax on lump-sum retirement plan distributions is repealed.  See the 2008 
Maine Form 1040ME, Schedule A, line 1 and related instructions for more information on this tax 
addition. 
 
The additional tax on early distributions from qualified retirement plans is repealed.  See the 
2008 Maine Form 1040ME, Schedule A, line 2 and related instructions for more information on 
this tax addition. 
 
A new refundable household credit is enacted containing the following elements: 
 
  - only resident individuals qualify; nonresidents and part-year residents do not qualify; 
  - the base credit amount is $700/single; $1,050/HH; $1,200/MJ; $600/MS (married separate); 
  - the base credit is increased by $250 for each exemption claimed on the return; 

- the credit is phased out by $1.50 for every $100 that Maine taxable income exceeds:  
$27,500/single/MS; $41,250/HH; $55,000/MJ; 

  - the credit is refundable up to $70 for MJ returns and $50 for all other returns. 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_124th/chapters/PUBLIC382.asp


An alternative refundable household credit is also enacted.  A taxpayer who has itemized 
deductions may elect to use this credit instead of the regular household credit described above.  
The alternative credit contains the following elements: 
 
  - only resident individuals qualify; nonresidents and part-year residents do not qualify; 

- the base credit amount for the alternative household credit is 5.5% of adjusted federal 
itemized deductions plus: $400/single/MS; $600/HH; $800/MJ.  (The adjusted federal itemized 
deductions amount is calculated using Maine Form 1040ME, Schedule 2 adjustments); 

  - the maximum base credit amount allowed is: $1,150/single/MS; $1,750/HH; $2,300/MJ; 
  - the base credit is increased by $250 for each exemption claimed; 

- the credit is phased out by $1.50 for every $100 that Maine taxable income exceeds:  
$27,500/single/MS; $41,250/HH; $55,000/MJ; 

  - the credit is refundable up to $70 for MJ returns and $50 for all other returns. 
 
For tax years beginning after 2009, the Maine withholding tables will be adjusted to reflect the 
impact of the regular household credit on the Maine income tax. 
 
 A Maine charitable contributions credit is enacted.  The credit is equal to 5% of charitable 
contributions claimed on the federal return exceeding $250,000, but must exclude contribution 
deductions carried over from prior tax years. 
 
A Maine elderly credit is enacted.  The credit is $60 for each taxpayer who is 65 years of age or 
older.  The credit is phased out by $2 for every $100 of Maine adjusted gross income that 
exceeds:  $32,000/single; $52,000/MJ; $48,000/HH; $26,000/MS. 
 
The retirement and disability credit is repealed.  See the 2008 Maine Form 1040ME, Schedule 
A, line 5 and related instructions for more information on this tax credit. 
 
The low-income tax credit is repealed.  See 2008 Maine Form 1040ME, line 22 and Form 
1040S-ME, line 21 and related instructions for more information on this tax credit. 
 
The Maine earned income tax credit (EITC) is made refundable for tax years beginning after 
2009.  The credit must be claimed on the Maine return after all other tax credits except for the 
child care credit.  The maximum refundable amount for both the household credit and the EITC 
together is limited to $150 for MJ returns and $125 for all other returns. 
 
 


