State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers

The State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers protects the safety and property of the public through the regulation of the practice of engineering in Maine. The Board is supported by license fees and receives no general fund tax dollars.


Announcements

  • ALL MAINE PE LICENSES EXPIRE DECEMBER 31, 2015. Once your license lapses, you cannot legally practice professional engineering -- any practice of professional engineering without a license is a violation of Maine law.
  • All applications for the October, 2015 PE exam must be received by the board office on or before June 1, 2015.
  • If you need to renew your license more than 90 days after it has expired, you must submit a new application to the board office along with: three current PE references; payment of USD $105; a signed, completed PDH Activity Log and supporting documentation; and a list of recent work projects with an explanation of your engineering tasks. Incomplete submissions may be returned. Online renewal is not available for late renewals.

Newsletter